Dosing Advice for early and low nadirs

Status
Not open for further replies.

lepick

Member Since 2010
Hi y'all-
Would any experienced PZIers offer me some dosing advice? Xalli is getting compounded u40 PZI and only started on 10/22/10. Her spreadsheet link is in my signature, please look at the numbers and see what you think. She seems to be having really early nadirs that are dropping fast then leveling into 100's for the duration of the dose. The obvious thing seems to be to reduce the dose so she doesn't rebound or go hypo, but it seems like the dosing is going down really fast now, and I don't know if that is harmful to progress or not. Is it too soon to drop her down again after only a day or two at this dose?

Long story short: any advice on where to go next? .2u? .3? I'm new to the numbers game and would love some feedback!

Lea

p.s. As an aside, Xalli is gaining weight and has been SOOO happy. I know I could not have done it without these boards. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
 
I should add that you can probably tell from the spreadsheet that I have the ability to be home and monitor very closely, if that makes any difference for dosing advice.
 
I'm new, so I can't really give any good advice, but from what I understand pzi has early nadirs when you first start using it, then they tend to drop back. I've heard and experienced that with prozinc, but I'm not sure if it's also true for compounded pzi. There's mire activity around here later in the day, so be patient- others will come around!
 
Wow!!! You are an amazing tester! What a wealth of data! I do not feel qualified to give dosing advice, but in general, people are very flexible with changing the dosage without sticking to any set number of cycles. Everyone says the nadir is early and moves around a lot with ProZinc (we have agreed to call it PZ to differentiate it from PZI), especially in the beginning. But you said you are using compounded PZI, and I don't know how that works. Your numbers are certainly moving in the right direction and I don't think you need to be concerned about holding the dose.
And also, WELCOME! Glad you are posting on PZI.
 
Thanks for the welcome Judy! I feel lucky to be able to be here to test and to have a willing test cat. She's always happy as a clam and easy as pie for testing, but hates getting shots. So I compensate for that by getting lots of info, I guess!

Good to know info, and I'll look forward to hearing if anyone has dose suggestions. I'm currently thinking .2 tonight, see where she is in the morning? I'd hate to risk a hypo and can't stay up real late tonight!

Lea
 
By the way- I think your numbers look beautiful! I'm not sure where all the vets are today. Sorry I can't give you any real advice.
 
Wow, lovely ss. You are on your way. I use PZ, so look for Lori to reply, I think she uses your insulin.

You are doing the right thing dosing, follow the numbers down in dose and test to see what it gives you. Base your next dose on what that dose gave you lase time in terms of drop. Go by PS first, nadir next. You want to keep nadir about 50 to 60 to stay safe.

I hope that makes sense, if not ask.

Oh yah, Welcome to PZI.
 
Ok I went back and looked again and see you shot a f .4. You will need to keep feeding that 46 and testing for a few more hours.

I would have stuck with .4 but I've learned the hard way that evey dose decision will be a learning experience.

Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top