? Dosing advice for Bella please

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-13-bella-amps-235-3-220-6-197-pmps-267-3-182.288763/

I
definitely have been slacking on posting, life has just been crazy and I’m still dealing with bad body pains (chronic illnesses are a bummer for sure).

I feel like ever since we got back from vacation we haven’t had any greens except 1 on Wednesday and she’s had a few blues as well. Giving her 1 unit makes me nervous but I want her to get back to having lower numbers like she was having.

I don’t know if she’s bouncing or what but I’m coming here for some guidance/advice please, just feeling really defeated.
 
I think you could go up to 1.0 units now. It's very common for kitties to have to go up and down in dose. It's possible with the vacation dose she got a little glucose toxicity (used to higher numbers) and the solution to that is more insulin. It can be overcome. Just try not to hold the doses any longer than 10 cycles if she's not getting good nadirs.

You are still within the sweet spot of time for regulation, and hopefully that other R word, remission. You just have to try to get her tightly regulated and see if that happens. The chances of remission are highest in the first six months after diagnosis and starting insulin. Even if no remission, there are definite benefits to a regulated kitty. For both you and her. :bighug:
 
I think you could go up to 1.0 units now. It's very common for kitties to have to go up and down in dose. It's possible with the vacation dose she got a little glucose toxicity (used to higher numbers) and the solution to that is more insulin. It can be overcome. Just try not to hold the doses any longer than 10 cycles if she's not getting good nadirs.

You are still within the sweet spot of time for regulation, and hopefully that other R word, remission. You just have to try to get her tightly regulated and see if that happens. The chances of remission are highest in the first six months after diagnosis and starting insulin. Even if no remission, there are definite benefits to a regulated kitty. For both you and her. :bighug:

I had a feeling we would have to go up to 1 unit, just makes me anxious. She was doing so good on the 0.75, getting a good amount of green numbers.

so we’ll start the 1 unit tomorrow morning, I just hope her sugar won’t go to low when we’re not home (my worst fear). And we can’t drop her back to 0.75 until she gets a BG of 50 or lower, right? I’m still trying to understand the TR method.

you said not to keep the same dose for more than 10 cycles so that’s 5 days right? I’ve read the info but yet I still forget some of the details. I hope this 1 unit gets her back to better numbers.

we of course want her regulated but in remission is our hope.
 
I'd like to see greens each and every day, hopefully every cycle (per shot). So yes, two cycles per day.

Do you have an autofeeder? Or can you leave food out for her to munch on should she go lower?

With TR, reductions are earned by newly diagnosed cats if they go under 50, or spend a week in solid green.
 
I'd like to see greens each and every day, hopefully every cycle (per shot). So yes, two cycles per day.

Do you have an autofeeder? Or can you leave food out for her to munch on should she go lower?

With TR, reductions are earned by newly diagnosed cats if they go under 50, or spend a week in solid green.

Okay so if they go under 50 or a whole week with every time we test a green number.

no we don’t have an auto feeder yet. I do plan on getting her one especially when my husband goes back to work. Right now he’s home from a work injury and goes out during the day for PT and other appointments. He’s been checking her BG +3 and +6 AMPS.

what is suggested to keep the auto feeder? What kind of carb amount food?
 
People here seem to like the Catmate and Petsafe 5 compartment feeders now. The carb of food and timing depends on what sort of cycles she's doing. If there is any chance you can get a +2 test before work, that can tell you if it's low, medium or high carb food. Some tips in this post might help: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

unfortunately I cannot get a +2 test. I leave for work at 8 am (eastern time) and when my husband goes back to work he be leaving at the same time. I’m not ready for him to go back to work because I like knowing he’s available to be there for her. Thankfully my mom is retired and lives about 13 mins away.

I will look into those auto feeders.
 
Back
Top