Dosing advice ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
This AMPS he was 110. Would someone look at his SS yesterday, he never went really low, just slowly went down. This morning at +9 he was at 149 and just continued to down.

ETA I tested twice
ETA I will stall 20 mins and retest.
 
Last edited:
I HATE to say this, but I wouldn't shoot at that number. It's just so low and 124 isn't that different than 110.

Maybe try doing what you did a few days ago? Test in a few hours and see if he's gone up and shoot then (and watch him carefully all day)? Will that throw your schedule off too much?

I don't want him to lose ground, but I'm worried to suggest you dose when he is already flirting with greens.
 
Okay, yeah, the schedule hasn't recovered from Sunday when I had to stall and retest 2 hours later. So, we will do what we got to do. I am going to feed him now. Thanks Rachel!
 
No problem! I'll try to check in on you later at work...but I'm sure Sue or someone will be around too to help advise. :)

Whew, what a scare Bubba likes to give us! I've been studying his SS for a minute now, and I am beginning to wonder if his pancreas are waking up? Some pretty low numbers (not bad, just lower than we're used to!) out there. Hmmm...
 
Well, well. Bubba. The only explanation I can see is that his pancreas is helping some, Bobbi. It'd be unusual - usually we see that at lower ranges. But then Bubba is his own man. We all know that.

I think I'd go with 2 units if you can monitor.
 
He is really confusing. It seems that all his dropping occurs in the last 1/2 of each cycle. He is really messing up his shot schedule; I never recovered his old schedule from Monday's episode. Not to mention what this is doing to his outdoor time as I am afraid to let him out because of monitoring him. Sigh...
ETA : I had all ready shot him 20 mins after he ate. I shot 2.2 so I will carefully monitor him.
 
So, after the dose suggestion, some of my thoughts - which with Bubba, are not worth much..... I think he is incredibly hard to predict. Looking back over his SS, sometimes he looks like like he takes a long time to adjust to a dose. Sometimes he seems to react late and long to a low number. But I think the good adjective for him is inconsistent. Not sure why. Don't think I have seen any PZI cats do this - maybe for a cycle, but not consistently inconsistent. Sometimes, if the cycle runs long, we think you should lower the dose, but we have tried that and he goes up.

I think he might be high for awhile as that does seem to sort of a pattern after he is low. So, I'd shoot now and go relax for awhile, somewhere, doing something. He should be fine for at least a couple hours...

BUT, you are getting nice numbers. They are just exhausting. As long as you can, I'd just roll with the punches and keep him in good ranges.

It is possible that he would do better with a depot insulin like Lantus or Levemir. Maybe he would flatten out. I don't know.
 
Thanks Sue, I guess I will just roll with his punches for now. Unfortunately, I just bought a new vial of Prozinc. so I think I will stick with it until it is gone and then maybe jump to another insulin. You had talked to me once about a possible 13/11 cycle like Cindy and Merlin. Could that still be a possibility?
 
Yes, if his amps and pmps would be consistent enough. That is, if he is always high at night and always low in the am (or vice versa). For the last few cycles, the only pattern I see is that he is tending to drop late and then bounce late.

Let me think about it. No brilliance here at the moment.....
 
I'm right there with you with the unpredictability and confusion! My ginger boy is jumping all over the place, too. What's the deal?!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top