Dosing advice ASAP please

Jess092

Member
Hi there!

This morning we have a much lower number for Buddy that usual (at least in recent history) and we aren’t sure what to do. She is currently getting 2.25 units.

Note that we have shot numbers much lower than this in the past (she is at 182 and we have shot her around 92 before, many times, BUT at the time she was only getting half a unit of insulin). We follow the prozinc modified method.

We are not sure what to do. We are stalling at the moment, and will retest soon to ensure the number are trending upwards.

Is it dangerous to shoot 2.25 units when the number is 182? We will be with her all day and will be able to test. We will definitely be running a curve if we do shoot the whole amount. We want to do what will serve her best- I would hate to decrease unnecessarily and then see the numbers rise again. But of course the priority is keeping her safe.

Thank you in advance!
Jess
 
Update: we have stalled and she is at 216 at +30 minutes. We are still currently stalling, unsure what to do.
 
Update: we have stalled and she is at 216 at +30 minutes. We are still currently stalling, unsure what to do.
I can't give you any dosing advice, but you might post on the general/welcome board where there are more eyes. Put something like "PZI need dosing advice ASAP"
 
Is it dangerous to shoot 2.25 units when the number is 182? We will be with her all day and will be able to test. We will definitely be running a curve if we do shoot the whole amount. We want to do what will serve her best- I would hate to decrease unnecessarily and then see the numbers rise again. But of course the priority is keeping her safe.
For future reference, it's fine to shoot the full 2.25U dose with a BG level of 182.
Especially since one of you will be with Buddy all day, to test and monitor.

p.s. With that neon green BG level, Buddy earned a dose reduction today. Down to 2U please.
 
Thanks so much Deb! We gave her 1.5 units this evening- we decided to play it extra safe after today’s neon number, and we won’t be able to monitor her as closely tonight, so we figured better safe than sorry tonight.
 
Back
Top