Dosing advice-again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Hi, all. Squallie's numbers have been higher today, just wanted to check and make sure I'm okay holding him at 2 units. I'm trying really hard to keep wearing those patience pants, lol!
 
I would. Romulus takes about a week to adjust properly to a new dose, and you did give a reduced dose yesterday and are seeing some decent numbers. He just needs to settle in to a stable dose.
 
Yes...I'd stick with the 2U dose for now

Just FYI...on cells that don't color automatically for you (like when you add a * along with a number) you have to color code that cell yourself. There's an icon along the top that looks like a little bucket of paint that's tipping over. If you click the bucket, you'll get a drop down of all the colors so you can choose the correct one
 
Yes...I'd stick with the 2U dose for now

Just FYI...on cells that don't color automatically for you (like when you add a * along with a number) you have to color code that cell yourself. There's an icon along the top that looks like a little bucket of paint that's tipping over. If you click the bucket, you'll get a drop down of all the colors so you can choose the correct one
Thank you!
 
I think Squallie is just bouncing today. I bet she went under 100 last night. I'd definitely give few more cycles before increase. Glad you're finding your groove Squallie'smom!

edit: grammar... "I bet her went under".
 
Last edited:
Well, great advice, again, from everybody. At +3 his BG was down to 154 and I have no doubt it will go lower before the night is over. Thanks, all! :-)
 
BG is 89 at +4.5 hrs. Tried to add a comment to his spreadsheet, got an error message; anybody know how to fix this?
 
And I'd plan on continuing to test for a little while tonight...if you haven't fed him yet, I'd give him a couple teaspoons of his regular, low carb food and see if it'll get him up on his surfboard
 
Squallie was 393 PMPS tonight, I gave him 2 units, and think I might actually try some sleep tonight. It should be a novel experience, lol!
 
Squalllie's BG was 419 AMPS. I am concerned because it looks to me like he is steadily trending upward. Could someone with more knowledge and experience weigh in here, please?
 
Hmmmm. It could be a bounce from a lower number last night or he could need a little more insulin. You've gotten some green in the last few cycles but nothing in the 50 range. Up to you, Lucy. I think you could increase but I would do it slowly. Can you eyeball a 2.25? You could try 2.5 but you are really trying to fine tune the dose at this point, keeping him in lower ranges, without dropping too low and trying to minimize bouncing and I would worry that 2.5 could be too big of a jump.

What do you think?

The encouraging thing is that his numbers the last few days are generally in lower ranges for longer times.
 
Hmmmm. It could be a bounce from a lower number last night or he could need a little more insulin. You've gotten some green in the last few cycles but nothing in the 50 range. Up to you, Lucy. I think you could increase but I would do it slowly. Can you eyeball a 2.25? You could try 2.5 but you are really trying to fine tune the dose at this point, keeping him in lower ranges, without dropping too low and trying to minimize bouncing and I would worry that 2.5 could be too big of a jump.

What do you think?

The encouraging thing is that his numbers the last few days are generally in lower ranges for longer times.
I think I can estimate a 2.25 dose, at least fairly close to that. He seems to go lower at night than he does during the day. If I up him to 2.25 should I do it for daytime only and leave him at 2 for the night, or should I just go with 2.25 all the way 'round?
 
I can't see your SS as I'm at work, but one thing I will say is don't stress about the pre shot numbers. What you need to be concerned with is how low the dose takes him.
 
Let's see what he does today. If he is different at night, look at the food difference. Does he eat less (or nothing) over night? If so, you might consider feeding fewer meals during the day. Food is a big part of that Every Cat is Different thing. Some cats do best with small, frequent meals. Some cats' levels really improve if they eat measured 2 or 3 times daily meals.
I can't see your SS as I'm at work, but one thing I will say is don't stress about the pre shot numbers. What you need to be concerned with is how low the dose takes him.

Not with Vetsulin, Sue. The nadir is part of the picture, but not the sole dosing criteria, as it is with the L insulins.
 
Let's see what he does today. If he is different at night, look at the food difference. Does he eat less (or nothing) over night? If so, you might consider feeding fewer meals during the day. Food is a big part of that Every Cat is Different thing. Some cats do best with small, frequent meals. Some cats' levels really improve if they eat measured 2 or 3 times daily meals.
He eats more during the day and hardly anything overnight, after his pre-shot dinner, but he usually eats a pretty good dinner.
 
So maybe that is part of the lower overnight cycles - also can be less activity. I can't remember. Is he free feeding? If so, you could consider giving him just 3 meals or 2 meals and a snack and see if his levels are lower. Or just stick with what you are doing and plan for lower levels overnight and dose accordingly. He is looking good so youmay not want to mess with things....
 
Just a thought. Sometimes cats have a pattern of being higher at AMPS, and also the AMPS is frequently the last number to return to normal levels prior to a cat becoming diet-controlled.

He eats more during the day and hardly anything overnight, after his pre-shot dinner,

He may be running lower at night as a consequence. Also, some cats seem to naturally run lower at night. The combination of the two may be in play with Squallie. Until you're sure, I'd be inclined to stick with the current 2 IU Vetsulin and try to get some extra PM cycle tests.
.
 
So maybe that is part of the lower overnight cycles - also can be less activity. I can't remember. Is he free feeding? If so, you could consider giving him just 3 meals or 2 meals and a snack and see if his levels are lower. Or just stick with what you are doing and plan for lower levels overnight and dose accordingly. He is looking good so youmay not want to mess with things....
He has daytime access to a limited amount of dry Evo kibble, and he has his FF classic or TikiCat no-carb breakfast and dinner.
 
Not with Vetsulin, Sue. The nadir is part of the picture, but not the sole dosing criteria, as it is with the L insulins.

I never knew that. I have a second kitty on Caninsulin and that is how I dose him. Of course if he is lower pre shot I reduce a tad. Does that mean if he is high pre shot I should increase?
 
I never knew that. I have a second kitty on Caninsulin and that is how I dose him. Of course if he is lower pre shot I reduce a tad. Does that mean if he is high pre shot I should increase?

Vetsulin is dosed more like PZI, taking both the preshot and nadir into account. What I meant is that it is not dosed like Lantus and Levemir, where the only criteria is the nadir. (Sorry, when I saw that Frankie was on Lantus, I assumed that you meant dosing based on the nadir. Shows what assuming will do.)

Lucy, you might take away the EVO and see if that impacts his daytime levels. Although it is a low carb dry, some people think it raises the numbers.
 
Maybe I should amend my signature and add my second kitty and create a spreadsheet for him. I've been thinking of doing that anyway, so I guess now I must.
 
Just a thought. Sometimes cats have a pattern of being higher at AMPS, and also the AMPS is frequently the last number to return to normal levels prior to a cat becoming diet-controlled.



He may be running lower at night as a consequence. Also, some cats seem to naturally run lower at night. The combination of the two may be in play with Squallie. Until you're sure, I'd be inclined to stick with the current 2 IU Vetsulin and try to get some extra PM cycle tests.
.
There are so many variables to take into account with this disease and its treatment! Sometimes it seems like nothing but a guessing game, makes it doubly scary!
 
Lucy, you might take away the EVO and see if that impacts his daytime levels. Although it is a low carb dry, some people think it raises the numbers.
If I take away his dry food, he won't eat at all during the day. I can only get about 1/2 can of FF Classic in him at breakfast, and another 1/2 at dinner. He's not a fan of canned food, it's been a struggle to get him to eat as much as he does.
 
Then, I wouldn't worry about it for now. He is doing well. Amazingly how far down from 6 units you have come!
The vet had upped him to 7 units, about 10 days before his hypo episodes! As far as his diet goes, I don't know how he can eat so little and still gain weight, he's up to 14 lbs now, and I'm sure at his next vet visit he'll weigh a few ounces more. I don't know how to keep him from gaining, he needs to eat, but he is definitely bordering on FAT.
 
Squallie's numbers have run higher today, and I can't get him to eat his dinner, he only ate a few mouthfuls. Is it safe to shoot? I am concerned about the higher numbers, but don't want to cause him to go hypo, either!
 
I finally got more food into him! Now the question is - 2 nits or 2.25 units? If anybody sees this and has any advice I would appreciate hearing it, thanks!
 
I'm thinking you should hold the dose tonight, even if he's higher than you like at AMPS tomorrow. As if you up it another 0.25 to 2.25U, won't that mean that you'll be staying up half the night to monitor? Would it be easier on you to wait to do that small dose increase tomorrow morning?
 
I'm thinking you should hold the dose tonight, even if he's higher than you like at AMPS tomorrow. As if you up it another 0.25 to 2.25U, won't that mean that you'll be staying up half the night to monitor? Would it be easier on you to wait to do that small dose increase tomorrow morning?
Good point! Thanks, I appreciate the input!
 
I actually got a little more than usual into him - apparently his favorite flavor is no longer his favorite, lol, I had to find his NEW fave!
Cool!:cool: Just wanted to double-check on how much he ate, before you shot @ 2.0. Is that what you're planning on doing tonight?
 
Cool!:cool: Just wanted to double-check on how much he ate, before you shot @ 2.0. Is that what you're planning on doing tonight?
Yes, 2 units tonight. I'll figure out tomorrow from his AMPS if I want to go to 2.25. I'll still probably check him off and on tonight, see if his numbers are coming down a lot or a little, who needs sleep anyway...?
 
I'll still probably check him off and on tonight, see if his numbers are coming down a lot or a little, who needs sleep anyway...?
Ha, ain't that the truth when you have a diabetic kitty!:rolleyes: I've been walking around mostly sleep-deprived since February
(btwn. cat and somebody else in the household snoring ...:eek:)
 
Ha, ain't that the truth when you have a diabetic kitty!:rolleyes: I've been walking around mostly sleep-deprived since February
(btwn. cat and somebody else in the household snoring ...:eek:)
Lol, Squallie snores like a freight train, I can't blame it on anyone else!
 
Ha, ain't that the truth when you have a diabetic kitty!:rolleyes: I've been walking around mostly sleep-deprived since February
(btwn. cat and somebody else in the household snoring ...:eek:)
Lol, Squallie snores like a freight train, I can't blame it on anyone else!
I also have two warring Bengals who make perfectly horrid, nightmarish noise at each other all night! Honestly the sounds they can produce are just bloodcurdling!
 
Bat-Bat makes enough racket all by herself is she happens to see another cat - or a javalina herd passing by - outside my bedroom window!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top