Dose too high?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtrezzo

Member Since 2015
I recently got Cosmo on insulin, I managed to get into a clinical study with everything paid for which is nice, because I couldn't afford anything otherwise. They started out on 1 unit twice per day for a few days, then raised it to 2 units twice per day. However, tonight I tested him and it was 48, which was shocking as I've never seen it that low, so I tested two more times and got 59 and 52. I have him 10ml 50% dextrose solution out of caution. I feel his BGs are always higher when at the vet, probably due to stress, so I think they may have prescribed a higher dosage then needed based on those numbers. I sent an e-mail to them which they will get in the morning, but would like some advice from you all.

I haven't figured out how to add my testing to the signature yet so here is the long link:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hZf_Elcf45t_U-T65cfib2rJKrs_OgGAErV7OtTzlvc/edit?usp=sharing
 
You are very correct that vet BG #'s are higher at the vet due to a cat being stressed. You're getting more accurate readings by home testing.

You've done a good job with the spreadsheet. Just add the latest numbers for today to the spreadsheet so we can better assist you. Which insulin is Cosmo on? That will help members better advise with dosing.

Click on your profile, then click on signature and then add when Cosmo was diagnosed, what insulin he is on, what you are feeding him and any other medical conditions, if applicable.

Why are you giving Cosmo fluids?

If Cosmo's BG #'s go under 50, steer #'s back up with honey, karo syrup or a high gravy food i.e. Fancy Feast's Gravy Lovers.

This glucometer chart is handy: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1oI_34_EgqeKdpyttFW0oLoG1mbw16IkATAWHhoQD2JU/pub
 
Regardless of the meter type and insulin that you are using, that 48 is too low. (Well done for catching it.) The dose is therefore too high and needs to be reduced.

Can you let us know which insulin Cosmo is receiving and also the type of meter that you are using. With that information, members will be able to give you better responses.

Here's the link about spreadsheets and linking them into your signature. It would be great if you could also include your names plus the insulin and meter types in the signature. :)


Mogs
.
 
@Cat Ma - at time of this post the spreadsheet link is part of jtrezzo's opening post on this topic (confirmed by double-checking jtrezzo's posts on another topic). It is a bit confusing, alright: because the spreadsheet link is on the last line of the OP, it does look like it's in the signature. :)
 
Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. You are limited to 2 hard returns, so separate pieces by | or -.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name | cat's name | date of Dx (diagnosis) | insulin | meter
general location (city and state/province)
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history

of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have

changed anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top