Shelley & Jess
Very Active Member
Oh my goodness, huge drop! Is a quick test before you leave possible?
Your cat does like those late nadirs@Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ
.....we are down to 89 within the last 3 hours (+8).. I have an appointment from 3:15-5:30pm today, but he will be okay if I just leave a little bit of food down probably, yes? It’s not critically low.
Certainly does!Your cat does like those late nadir.
Just ran another quick test. +8 79. Will leave him some food down while I’m gone. Should be okay, I won’t be gone long. 2 hrs max.Oh my goodness, huge drop! Is a quick test before you leave possible?
I should be home in about 15 minutes. I did leave some food out for him before I left, just in case. I’ll pull it up once I’m home for his fasting bg PMPS (which he didn’t eat any of anyway). Will let you know!If Nico is too low, and you have to leave, you can always leave out some MC (medium carb) food for him.
He might bounce a bit on the higher carb food. But the alternative, a hypo, is not something you want to see.
Yes, we are still shooting 7am & 7pm (PST) if we stall that hour per-shot. But if it surpasses one hour then I’ll usually ask then adjust his schedule accordingly. The past few days have all been as given in his ss (noted if given @+13). What are we thinking we need to reduce to? I gave his full this morning, well a smidge under so closer to 2.5u. Let’s connect @Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ later today.After the stall cycles are you shooting at your regular times the next cycle? I'm thinking you are, but want to be sure.
I’m gonna leave it to the professionals, just let me know what I need to do!Things are changing quite quickly the last few days. Want to rule out any anomalies. Hoping Janet or Deb can read my mind and what I'm trying to say....as my husband would word it "Are you picking up what I'm putting down?"![]()
Okay. I’ll try to change it this evening when I get back home. Just did a +7 on him, 264. So pretty much the same.The + entries on your spreadsheet should be recorded as the actual amount of time from when the insulin was shot.
If you stall and shoot 1 hour late your 'usual' +6 test is really +5 and should be recorded as +5 (or 5 hours after you shot insulin.)
If you shoot 1 hour 'early' to get back on schedule after a stall cycle your +11 becomes your AM/PMPS - the number you actually shot on.
Definitely! Those Fancy Feast (FF) pates are lower carb than the Friskies pates. So yes, even that food change could be contributing to the drastic changes in the BG numbers.There’s a note in his ss, but in case you missed it I should probably call attention to the fact that previous to Saturday we had him on Friskies pates, he was transitioned to FF pates fully by Sunday morning. Could also be contributing to the drastic changes we’ve been seeing in the past ~3 days.. ?
It seems the erratic continues... +11 (PMPS) 350.Definitely! Those Fancy Feast (FF) pates are lower carb than the Friskies pates. So yes, even that food change could be contributing to the drastic changes in the BG numbers.
I think it's time to try Nico back on the 2.5U dose. Especially since you completed the food change on Sunday morning to the lower carb FF.
I would not worry too much about those yellow range BG numbers at mid-cycle today. BG levels can be a bit erratic, especially when your cat has had some lower green or blue BG numbers. That is Nico to a T right now. Erratic. Doing his own thing. Making your life complicated.
Bounce, big, ol' bounce. Could be from the green during the AM cycle 12/23 but I'm guessing he went low overnight. It's going to be really important to get a test or two in the PM cycles from now on, nowAMPS 451Do we think this is some sort of bounce, or is his body just being wonky??
How sweet and pretty he is. He's doing so much better than a month ago. He's lucky to have you.@Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ I know it’s barely a day left until Christmas (and tomorrow is my birthday) and hopefully y’all have wonderfully, cheery things to look forward to in the coming few days. I just wanted to tag you today, so as you have time you can follow Nico’s progress. This morning he tested just under 150, AMPS 133 (then after stalling 30 mins tested 143), I gave him his full dose. We just did a +6 and he’s just under 100 at 99. So we are doing GREAT, after a not so fun night last night, poor guy looked so sad— but his snuggles were top notch! I’ll continue to update as I am able. As of right now I plan on getting a +8 and his PMPS then will go from there. Merry Christmas Eve eve!! View attachment 58816
View attachment 58817
It's going to be really important to get a test or two in the PM cycles from now on, now
that he's showing you greens. Cats generally go lower at night. At the very least try and get a before bed test every night, he may be earning dose reductions in the PM cycles and we won't know if you don't test.
Awe thank you. But, I think maybe that’s backwards— I’m lucky to have HIM. <3How sweet and pretty he is. He's doing so much better than a month ago. He's lucky to have you.
Hoping this isn’t the calm before the storm for you— power outages suck! It’s BEAUTIFUL here today, crisp and sunny. Already been out for two walks, gonna do a bit of baking now. Thankful for al of you, and such a good day with my sweet babies.Big storm coming my way Thursday into Friday. Predictions of widespread power outages with the high winds. Hope that doesn't happen, but if it does I won't be able to sign on to the message board and respond. Otherwise, I'm "Staying home for the holidays."
I am in no way saying you're not doing an excellent job. I've got 'slept thru alarm' notes and many nights when I should have tested but didn't. We've all been there. We know exactly what you're going through.I guess it can just seem like a lot, especially when you’re tired. Anyway, may you have tips that I haven’t thought of and could pass along. But, I will do better. I promise.
Why do you think he will go low? That's a bouncy boy you have there.@Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ PMPS 471Planning on a +2, +5, and perhaps a +7 if needed. This is setting him up for a probable low low tonight, isn’t it?
I’m not sure, I guess I just figured higher highs mean lower lows (though again I realize it’s unpredictable..). No? Maybe I don’t need to test that much then. I guess I just figured if he was pretty high at PMPS then I didn’t need to test for a nadir overnight, but then heard that’s precisely why you would want to test for a nadir overnight.. to look for a bigger bounce. Maybe I misunderstood..Why do you think he will go low? That's a bouncy boy you have there.
I think he will be fine. Get some sleep.I’m not sure, I guess I just figured higher highs mean lower lows (though again I realize it’s unpredictable..). No? Maybe I don’t need to test that much then. I guess I just figured if he was pretty high at PMPS then I didn’t need to test for a nadir overnight, but then heard that’s precisely why you would want to test for a nadir overnight.. to look for a bigger bounce. Maybe I misunderstood..
THANK YOU!! Merry Christmas Eve.I think he will be fine. Get some sleep.
PMPS 417. So high, but not sure it warrants 3.0u. I gave 2.75u. His behavior is already markedly better (though his numbers are lagging a bit behind that it seems), so I’m hopeful his numbers will follow suit shortly. I plan to get a +4 for him around 11pm PST, and go from there. I was just happy to see him perk back up about 3 or so hours ago, preen himself, eat well, and CUDDLE. Such a difference from mere hours before when he looked terrible and was sleeping in strange places, which for him screams “I feel like crap, mom.” — I can see it in him now, (with some training) it was extremely odd that he, almost immediately after eating some of those holiday treats early this morning, was sleeping on the kitchen floor right next to the water fountain and didn’t move for nothing! Even at the time I remarked how weird it was. I guess hindsight is always 20/20... Hope your holiday was lovely. Hoping you’ll check in again at some point tomorrow in case we are in need of a dosing adjustment. Thanks for all you do!Well H E double hockey sticks!
At least you traced the problem to those new holiday treats.
Even if Nico is higher in the red or black range at PMPS, you know that you can keep him at the higher 2.75U dose that he has been on for 9 cycles now.
If you thought you would be able to monitor more tonight, you could try giving him 3U if he's really high.
Yeah! Nico did come back down. It can take time to get the BG levels back down after they spike, but you waited and the BG's are looking good right now.All’s right in the world this morning. AMPS 154. 2.75u given.
@Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ UPDATE: +5.5 79.![]()
He’s certainly one bouncy, little boy! Will the bouncing end at some point? Or, how do we know changes need to be made to his current dosing? Just curious (for the not so distant future)..Again, don't be surprised if Nico bounces up high at PMPS tonight, 12/26/20, after that low green at mid-cycle today.
Some cat's bodies do learn to adjust to the lows, and not bounce so much.Will the bouncing end at some point?
You kind of get a feel for the waves of action of the SS readings noted on the SS. Looking at the trends over several cycles, looking at what happens over several days to a week or longer.Or, how do we know changes need to be made to his current dosing? Just curious (for the not so distant future)..
+10, 151. Could go either way at this point— a little, or a lot. Time will tell!I'm getting the feeling that he could do ok with a dose reduction to 2.5U soon. Very soon. Perhaps tonight, if he doesn't bounce.
I’ll get that going at PMPS tonight, thanks for the reminder!Hey Em! @Emily Toumey
This thread is getting super long. It's about to go to a second page.
Would you start a new thread here, in the Prozinc forum and link this old thread in at the top? Please.