Dose Question for Tommy AMPS 263, PMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tomtomsmom

Member Since 2012
Hi there gang, just wondering about next dose for Tommy. We upped him last week to 1.75 and he has been giving us some nice blues lately. Unfortunately I won't be able to do a curve until tomorrow. I am wondering if should give him a lower dose tonight of may be 1 unit instead? Right now I am basically following more of the relax lantus protocol.

Any ideas on how to proceed?

Mimi & Tommy

FYI: I also posted this on the Relaxed Lantus Board.
 
hi mimi,

here's the link for what to do with low preshot numbers if you're not following the TR Protocol: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=61797

here's the link to the Start Low Go Slow Protocol: http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm

i'd encourage you to get some mid-cycle tests - the trouble with not having those is that you really don't know how low the current dose is taking tommy. regardless of which protocol you are following, you need to know that he isn't getting dangerously low. it's hard when you work, but most of us get tests just before we leave for work or right when we come home. it doesn't have to be the same time every day, just when you can. also a test right before you go to bed is helpful.

just fyi, if you were following the TR protocol and home to test in the hours after the shot, we would encourage you to shoot blue numbers.

there's a lot to learn - if you have any other questions, feel free to ask!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top