Dose Question? & Blackie, Back Home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Blackie's back home, thankfully. They had to sedate her in order to perform the procedure. The wound looks nasty, but then I'm sure that it's like that for a bit until it heals. There's a bit of oozing blood, and I called the vet to inquire about it. It's ok. I forgot to ask the vet what that was. I was just elated to get my little girl back, and get to take her home.

When she came home, she walked around a bit, then let loose in the LB. I guess she didn't go in the kennel, and I know she didn't go in the carrier. She must've held it since I dropped her off this morning before 8.

She's still a bit out of it, but not wobbly, thank goodness. She hasn't shown any signs of wanting to eat. Yet. I'm sure she will, though.

Question: At first, the vet said to give the dose at 8:00, when I told her that it'll be a 2 hour extra wait. Then she suggested to give her her dose at 7:00 instead of 6:00 like I normally do. Since she's had anesthesia, would I give her the dose at 7, or skip this shot and begin like normal tomorrow?
 
I think the answer is dependent on whether or not she's eating and what her blood sugar is. Can you get a +11.5 and post then if you have questions? Often anesthesia can drop blood sugar, so you definitely want to have her eating.

She's running low enough that i think if i had a doubt, i'd skip.
 
+11.5 90

Her shot is in 25 minutes. And since the vet suggested giving it to her at 7:00, that's obviously going to drain her shed quite a bit. Shall I skip this evening, and only feed as normal?
 
you've been shooting a lot of greens. i think if she's eating, i'd go with your normal dose. you can always give 1u instead as well. i don't think the anesthesia will drive her numbers down now - usually that's right away, not hours later. i'm thinking that's what you are worried about.

i think it's up to you - you have a lot of experience.
 
I've just tested her and she's 101 PMPS. She's risen 11 points in a 1/2 hour's time. I know that I have a lot of experience, however, I don't have any experience with regards to diabetics and anesthesia. This is a first for me.
 
punkin had quite a few anesthesias, poor guy! but if he was eating, i went ahead and dosed as normal, if i recall correctly. that's the deciding factor for me.

if you have any doubt, you could feed her first and if she's eating basically normally, go ahead with the full dose.

but i do think if you are nervous about this, there's nothing wrong with giving 1/2 dose or skipping angela. if it's going to be a nail-biter for you, just skip. it'll be ok. you can call it a furshot. she'll get back on track before long. sounds like you might feel more comfortable with that - so i'd go with the skip. :YMHUG:
 
Ok, I'd prefer to skip anyway. I know she'll raise, but it's nothing that I haven't handled before. Thank you for being here, Julie. I appreciate you, and the others, very much. I've done at least 1 fur shot before, so this won't be anything new.
 
I'm glad blackie is back home .. I don't think a furshot is going to throw her off that much .. Hopefully you guys all have a good nights rest!
 
Hey Angela..........

Taking a fur shot is just like taking a mulligan in golf.........no problem once in a while :mrgreen:

anesthesia usually gets absorbed quickly and faster with water, so with the wet food and if he's been drinking he should be okay, but I'd skip the dose toop!
 
Great news that Blackie is back home. Sounds like the operation went smoothly. :YMHUG: The nice thing with a skip is that you can get back on schedule with her dose tomorrow and you don't have to stress in case she doesn't want to eat right away.
 
I've skipped the dose, and fed her the normal amount, which she ate all but 5 grams of. I didn't force the rest on her. I'll give her more in a bit, and test her, and see what she does. I'll resume the normal times and amount of insulin tomorrow. Life will be back to normal tomorrow. I hope.
 
Hi Angela,
I'm so glad that the procedure went well and hope that Blackie will be back to normal very soon. It's a good idea to skip the shot tonight. No harm will come of it. I had to laugh at your remark regarding fur shots:
I've done at least 1 fur shot before, so this won't be anything new.
That's exactly the way I feel about fur shots (but I think I give more than you do!). Have a good evening. Sending beautiful healing vines to Blackie. She's a brave girl.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm so glad she's back home and settling in! I agree about tonight's "furshot"...better safe than sorry, and you have to be comfortable. She will be back on track before you know it.

Sending lots of quick healing prayers your way!!
 
Angela your choices and suggestions where exact for Scooter so don't even second guess your decisions for Blackie! You know what you are doing! :-D

I am so very glad to hear all went well and she is home safe and sound. I hate when my kitties are away at the Vet to.

Thank you

Linda
 
So glad things went well at the vet, despite the sedation. Blackie's numbers have been so good lately, that I'll be the skipped shot won't throw her off.

Sending good appy vines. I know anesthesia makes me a little nauseous, so maybe that's why Blackie is a little hesitant about eating. I'll bet once it's completely out of her system, her appetite will come back.

Sending healing vines for the wound, too. :YMHUG:
 
Angela

I'm just catching up after being off the board for a few days so I'm glad to hear Blackie is doing well. That must have been a scare for you.

I think you erect smart to skip; sometimes the anesthesia can have a delayed reaction and numbers drop after the kitty is at home recovering. I'm sure Blackie will be in great numbers soon. Try to get some rest.

Healing vines to our Blackie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top