Dose Question 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 +5.3 79 +6 92

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps link question

hi there

you wanna go to the condo in question, copy the http address, go to your new condo (I like to have a couple of windows opened) and paste it to your new condo/text box.
if you hit "preview" before hitting "submitt", you can see it if it worked properly, should be highlighted as a link.
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps 109 evening dose question

thanks much!

Was wondering if she could use a dose reduction this evening---i just gave shot, will keep eye on readings
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question on evening dose

was gonna test ta earlier, but I fell asleep :oops:

+5 69

giveing her a couple tsp W/D HC with drop of karo, hasn't eten much this mornin, at least no more vomiting

still questioning the evening dose
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question on evening dose

Hi guys, sorry don't have an answer to your dose question but the numbers so far today look beautiful! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question on evening dose

the protocol has you reducing the dose if she goes below 50 . . . but wait for an expert to help you answer the Q . . .

Reducing the dose...
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

by the way, you can color in the box on your SS by clicking on that box, then going to the toolbar and clicking on the icon that has 4 colored squares in a box - then you choose the color you want by clicking on it and it will fill in your SS box.

glad you survived the night!
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question on evening dose

the numbers have been altered to reflect the alpha trak. Subtract 30 and you'll get the relion numbers for last night and today

actual number on meter amps 89 +5 39
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question subtract 30 for rel

if you're using the relion now, why don't you just switch to using it 100% and reporting its numbers? then there's no adding/subtracting confusion issue . . . you'll also save a lot on your strips.
 
Re: 4/13 Tasha amps: 109 +5 69 Question subtract 30 for rel

+5.30 79

I'm still thinking about it, we have strips for the alpha trak, just have to get themfrom the vet. want to at least use those.
 
Good morning, Karisa!

As Julie said, a number below 50 (80 for AT) earns Tasha a dose reduction, and a number below 40 is an automatic dose reduction for all cats, newly diagnosed or not....your new dose tonight should be 0.25u. I'm glad you caught the 39 (69) and brought her up! I see you had a busy night, so I'm sure you were trying to catch some sleep.

She's on Clavamox, right? Some kitties have tummy issues after several days, you should talk to your vet if the vomiting/inappetance continues. You also want to be careful about giving her insulin if she isn't eating well or vomiting...you may want to reduce her dose further, or skip the shot.

Her numbers are looking much better with less insulin. :-D
 
thanks for answering i was thinking she probably gets a reduction but i wanted to be sure.

she's off the clavamox now and is doing better today. 5p's and 1e (eating) and hogging my chair; :lol:

she had fun surfin last night and seepy today, neither one of us got any zzzzzz's


i agree she's lookin good!
 
Doing fine, Karisa.
If you decide to use your Alpha Trak as your back-up meter you don't have to worry about using up all the strips you purchased before switching over completely to the ReliOn. Just hang on to them for when you might need them.
Tasha is looking good on the lower dose.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top