DOSE INCREASE??? 1/23 Gobbles PMPS 478

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
**Scroll down to my post @9:15 please**

Gobbles was 159 at Pm +5. Now 73 AMBG. I tested him twice and got the same number. I tested myself to be sure and the glucometer read me at 95. SHOULD I WITHHOLD HIS SHOT?His appetite is good and he is drinking a bit of water.

**SHOT WAS DUE 6:45 AM* I realize I should not have fed him, so what do I do now? His PM +5.5 is HIGHER than his AMBG, which is not his usual pattern.
6:50 am - 73
ate 1/4 can Friskies LC
+12.5 = 84
+13 = 144

Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87481&p=937459#p937459
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Hi Kat :smile:

I can't advise, but ;

Have you fed? If not, can you test again in 20-30 minutes? You want to know if he's rising or continuing to drop..
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Bruce & Simon said:
Hi Kat :smile:

I can't advise, but ;

Have you fed? If not, can you test again in 20-30 minutes? You want to know if he's rising or continuing to drop..
He ate about 1/4 can of Friskies LC after I tested him. I just tested him again, and he was at 84 which was 25 minutes later than 73.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

For future reference, when stalling, it's best not to feed (I know, kitties hate this idea ;-) )
You want to know if the number is rising on its own (insulin worn off) but your rising number could just be a food spike.
Better wait for someone with more experience than me...
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

I forgot... Congratulations!!! Lovely number to see, as scary as it can be when you first see these low PSs.

Are you able to monitor closely, possibly for quite a while? Lots of strips, hc food, syrup etc.?
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Bruce & Simon said:
I forgot... Congratulations!!! Lovely number to see, as scary as it can be when you first see these low PSs.

Are you able to monitor closely, possibly for quite a while? Lots of strips, hc food, syrup etc.?
Yes, I can monitor all day. I have nothing on my agenda.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Hi.
Is your 12/12 shot schedule flexible enough that you can be 1 or 2 hours later, for now, until we can slowly adjust it back to your regular shot schedule?
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
Hi.
Is your 12/12 shot schedule flexible enough that you can be 1 or 2 hours later, for now, until we can slowly adjust it back to your regular shot schedule?
Yes. He was due at 6:45 am. I can wait till, say 8:30? am
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

If your shot schedule can be temporarily moved to a later time, then please do not feed him anymore, and we'll see what his number is at +1 +13, okay? Then we'll probably do another test at +1.5 +13.5 (without eating), and see if he's rising.

Edited to correct + hours.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Sorry, I wasn't on earlier. I was administering to my cat.
His last meal was about an hour ago, right?
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
Sorry, I wasn't on earlier. I was administering to my cat.
His last meal was about an hour ago, right?
Yes, about exactly an hour ago. OMG, no need to apologize :) I know he's in good hands
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
If your shot schedule can be temporarily moved to a later time, then please do not feed him anymore, and we'll see what his number is at +1 +13, okay? Then we'll probably do another test at +1.5 +13.5 (without eating), and see if he's rising.

Edited to correct + hours.
+13? wouldn't that be over already? +13 would be like, 5 minutes ago
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Okay, so this is the way I see the recap, please let me know if I'm wrong:

+12 73 fed 1/4 can FF
+12 and 25 minutes 84

Is that right so far?

I would do another test now, which I think will be your +13, and then we'll wait to see where he's at again at +13.5

Just to let you know, sometimes cats coming down from a bounce will just keep coming down the whole 12 hour cycle, which Gobbles may be doing. Or, he may have had his regular nadir at +6 or so last night, and this is a double dip (just a 2nd nadir) which some cats will do too. I think this is the former.

I have to give my cat some drops. I'll be back in a few.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

TheBowHuntress said:
Dyana said:
If your shot schedule can be temporarily moved to a later time, then please do not feed him anymore, and we'll see what his number is at +1 +13, okay? Then we'll probably do another test at +1.5 +13.5 (without eating), and see if he's rising.

Edited to correct + hours.
+13? wouldn't that be over already? +13 would be like, 5 minutes ago
5 or 10 minues doesn't matter that much. Just get a test, and post the number. If it's at +13.25 (8:00am), that's fine, too. Then we'll do another test at +13.75 (8:30am) and see if his numbers have gone up enough to give him his insulin.

This delay in his insulin will act as a dose decrease for this cycle, because he is using some of what is stored in his depot right now, while we are waiting to shoot.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
Okay, so this is the way I see the recap, please let me know if I'm wrong:

+12 73 fed 1/4 can FF
+12 and 25 minutes 84

Is that right so far?

I would do another test now, which I think will be your +13, and then we'll wait to see where he's at again at +13.5

Just to let you know, sometimes cats coming down from a bounce will just keep coming down the whole 12 hour cycle, which Gobbles may be doing. Or, he may have had his regular nadir at +6 or so last night, and this is a double dip (just a 2nd nadir) which some cats will do too. I think this is the former.

I have to give my cat some drops. I'll be back in a few.
+13 = 144
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Okay, that's good. Let's do another test at about +13.5 and see if he's still rising.

Are you comfortable shooting his full dose, if he's still rising?

I can be on the board with you, for another 2 and 1/2 hours, then I have to leave for an hour or more, but I think Gobbles is going to be fine, especially since you'll be there to monitor him, and others will be on the board then to help you.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
If it's at +13.25 (8:00am), that's fine, too. Then we'll do another test at +13.75 (8:30am) and see if his numbers have gone up enough to give him his insulin.

This delay in his insulin will act as a dose decrease for this cycle, because he is using some of what is stored in his depot right now, while we are waiting to shoot.
+13 144 was @7:45 AM, and +13.5 will be @8:15, +13.75 @8:30 Therefore I'll test next for + ?? Also, I am going to get his shot ready. He has been getting 1.50 for the last 11 cycles. Assuming he is climbing, how much should I give him, when I do shoot?
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Dyana said:
Okay, that's good. Let's do another test at about +13.5 and see if he's still rising.

Are you comfortable shooting his full dose, if he's still rising?

I can be on the board with you, for another 2 and 1/2 hours, then I have to leave for an hour or more, but I think Gobbles is going to be fine, especially since you'll be there to monitor him, and others will be on the board then to help you.
+13.5 = 163. He is rising. Yes, I'm comfortable doing that. I may run to town about 3 (approx. +6) ...So shoot now, his usual +1.5 ???
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

TheBowHuntress said:
Dyana said:
Okay, that's good. Let's do another test at about +13.5 and see if he's still rising.

Are you comfortable shooting his full dose, if he's still rising?

I can be on the board with you, for another 2 and 1/2 hours, then I have to leave for an hour or more, but I think Gobbles is going to be fine, especially since you'll be there to monitor him, and others will be on the board then to help you.
+13.5 = 163. He is rising. Yes, I'm comfortable doing that. I may run to town about 3 (approx. +6) ...So shoot now, his usual +1.5 ???

Yes, go ahead, shoot his regular dose. The onset of Lantus isn't until around +2, so this dose probably won't even start to affect his numbers for a couple of hours.
 
Re: ? SHOOT? 1/23 GOBBLES 73

Okay. And, then you can feed him some more, if he normally gets mini meals at this time.
Change your Subject line to say 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163 or something like that.

I would start your testing for this cycle with a +1 or +1.5, and change your Subject Line in your first post as you get more tests, so everyone looking and helping can see how he's doing throughout the day.

You did great. Just remember, next time, no feeding when stalling ;-)
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163

Shot Him. I'll keep an eye on him today. I know he's in good hands and hopefully he is regulating
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163

Hi guys .. wow, what a morning you've had! Nice shooting :-D Glad you'll be home today to monitor .. wonder if gobbles has something up his sleeve .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163

Regulating can take a while, but hopefully, he's on his way. You never know, sometimes it does happen all of a sudden.

To move the shot time back to his regular schedule, you can shoot 15 minutes earlier each cycle (or you can shoot 30 minutes earlier one cycle per day).
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163

;-) Thanks to everyone who helped me this a.m. -- it's so comforting to know that at anytime of the day, if I need help, someone is always on board to guide me.
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163 +2 = 295

TheBowHuntress said:
+2 = 295 BOUNCE?
Not necessarily... possibly still some food effect and the shot
would normally just be starting to kick in..
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163 +2 = 295

That's what it looks like to me.
Carl
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73, stalled to +13.5 AMPS 163 +2 = 295

Gobby definitely could be working on a bounce now, after that 73 this morning. So, it's definitely a good thing you shot this morning....nice shootin'!!!
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles +12 73 +13.5 144 AMPS 163 +2 295 +4 205

Recap:

AMBG 73 (+12) (held shot)
+12.5 = 84
+13 = 144
+13.5 = 163.
Shot held until +13.75 & shot regular dose of 1.5 U. (12th in cycle since decrease from 1.75)
+2 = 297
+3.75 = 205
+6 = 280
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles AMBG~73 held, AMPS 163, +2~ 295 +4 ~205 +6

Can someone give me their thoughts on this (see SS): Last night his PMPS was 356. At +5.5 it was 159. This morning, his AMBG was 73. Is this one of those ECID deals (because he continued to drop and had a much lower number AMBG? This doesn't seem to fit into his usual pattern...
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles AMBG~73 held, AMPS 163, +2~ 295 +4 ~205 +6

I think cats sometimes just like to surprise us, especially when you think you are starting to figure them out, or when you have a really important function to go to. :? :)
At least you could be around all day, to watch over her and see that she was safe ;-) .

You can add that 73 and 84 in the +11 column from yesterday, so we see the green color when we quickly scan your ss.
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles AMBG~73 held, AMPS 163, +2~ 295 +4 ~205 +6

Dyana said:
I think cats sometimes just like to surprise us, especially when you think you are starting to figure them out, or when you have a really important function to go to. :? :) yes, like the time i had a convention and was supposed to pick up another consultant--wrong--during the early days of his SS, so i canceled my plans--brat!
You can add that 73 and 84 in the +11 column from yesterday, so we see the green color when we quickly scan your ss.
yes, like the time i had a convention and was supposed to pick up another consultant--wrong, he showed his first "greens"--during the early days of his SS, so i canceled my plans--brat! (& SS updated)
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles PMPS 478

Poor little guy--went back into hiding--big bounce :(

Recap:

AMBG 73 (+12) (held shot)
+12.5 = 84
+13 = 144
+13.5 = 163
Shot held until +13.75 & shot regular dose of 1.5 U. (12th in cycle since decrease from 1.75)
+2 = 297
+3.75 = 205
+6 = 280
PMPS 478
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles PMPS 478

Gobbles definitely does like his buonces, doesn't he? Please come down, Gobby...there's nothing to see up there!
 
Re: 1/23 Gobbles PMPS 478

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Gobbles definitely does like his buonces, doesn't he? Please come down, Gobby...there's nothing to see up there!
Yes, it seems he must :sad: Better than too low, I guess
 
Since you saw the green last night/this morning, I would stick with the same 1.50 dose for another cycle or two.
Right now, he's just bouncing from the low numbers this morning.

You wouldn't want to increase the dose right at the same time he is coming down from a bounce. A dose increase when a bounce is clearing, would just add momentum to the drop caused by his bounce clearing. Sorry, if I'm not making good sense. It's past my bedtime :)
 
TheBowHuntress said:
This evening's PM shot was cycle 13 in a dose reduction. dose increase -- ???? input please :)
Nope. He got green today, so now it's time to slow down and see how he settles in on this dose.
 
I would hold this dose until the bounce clears. Libby wrote the following in Lucian's condo yesterday in response to why you don't want to increase when a bounce is clearing:

"Libby & Lucy said:
If you increase the dose at the same time the hormones are clearing, you can end up with fast momentum from the bounce clearing, at the same time as possibly fast momentum from a dose increase, and fast momentum + more fast momentum can easily become too much to be able to put on the brakes. You don't want a hypo. All you can do is wait out the bounces. Then when it starts to clear, do the best you can to get spot checks during that cycle and the following cycle so you can see where he goes.
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Can someone give me their thoughts on this (see SS): Last night his PMPS was 356. At +5.5 it was 159. This morning, his AMBG was 73. Is this one of those ECID deals (because he continued to drop and had a much lower number AMBG? This doesn't seem to fit into his usual pattern...

Nope...not an ECID. He was clearing the bounce he started in the p.m. Cycle of 1/20. Some cats really drop as they clear a bounce.

Remember we don't dose on PS especially when they start a new bounce as he is doing tonight.

Good job today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top