Dose Help Plz-3/14 Soldier AMPS 234 PMPS 100

Status
Not open for further replies.
I can't give you any advice on whether to shoot or not, but if you do shoot make sure you can stay awake tonight and that you have plenty of test strips and food available. If you are not able to test during the night, it is okay to shoot a reduced shot or skip. The main priority should be Soldier's safety. If you are able to monitor, I'm sure more experience users will be around soon and be able to help you.
 
Hi Maria,

I can't give dosing advice, but could you stall for 15 or 20 minutes and retest again to see whether Soldier's BG is headed up or down? Don't feed while stalling. This will give you a few minutes and hopefully the experts will be along to give you dosing advice.

Hugs,
Kathie
 
Re: Dose Help Plz-3/14 Soldier AMPS 234 +12 100

Have you tested again at all?
How flexible is your shot schedule, can you be 1 hour off?
Has he eaten yet, and if so, how long ago and how much?

Will you be home tonight to monitor, and do you have plenty of supplies?

These are all questions that you can think about and that we need the answers to, to know if you should shoot.

You don't really have enough data yet to shoot this low, but if his +13 is much higher, than maybe he can get his insulin.
 
Too late to not feed.... he was about to eat my husband and I if we didn't fork over the pate. Dr Pierson had recommended to hold it under 150, at least for now so that's probably what I'll do.

What I'm not understanding is if Lantus is truly a 24 hour insulin without peaks and valleys, why is there a 12 hour curve?

The test and food was just 15 min ago. I am well stocked with supplies and home. I do not think I have it in me to stay up all night again though. I have been doing that since this began and I'm not feeling too great with no sleep atm.

Maria
 
I'm sorry, I kept looking for your reply, and my computer wasn't refreshing so I didn't see it.

If you need sleep, then you need sleep. The bean has to stay well to take care of the kitty, don't ya know.
Have you done another test? I think I would test at about +2 (in 30 minutes?) and see where he is.
 
In humans, Lantus is a 24-hour insulin. In cats, it has a 12-hr (give or take) duration. A cat's metabolism is roughly twice as fast as a humans.
 
+2 is 143. I will keep testing because now I wont be able to lie down until I know where the NADIR will go. I gave him some chicken cause he's yelling at me.

Maria
 
Maria....you are not a noob. Every single new member who skips a shot asks the same thing as did I! It's a very reasonable question. You are learning :-D :-D

Get some rest tonight....you've deserved it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top