Jia&Sabrina
Member Since 2021
It was our first day to give Sabrina insulin (Lantus) injection yesterday and I messed up by forgetting to put her food away before PM shot. Her pre shot number was 197 so I posted here asking for advices. Many thanks to Bron who was being extremely helpful! Really appreciate it!
I reduced the dose from .5u to .25u. Since her number kept dropping at +1, I offered her medium carb wet food at +2. I woke up every 1-2 hours to check her BG. They were all 200s. Phew…..
Today after AM shot, Sabrina’s numbers were below 200 at +2, +3, +4, +5. So I’m guessing it might be possible to get another pre shot number that is below 200 tonight (which would be absolutely amazing for her!).
But I wonder, if it is the case, should I go with .25u or .5u? If I go with .25, would it affect the depot progress?
Another question is that, when the depot is filled and ready in 10-14 cycles, will it make Sabrina’s number go even lower? Asking so I could monitor her closely.
Thank you in advance! Any advices are very much appreciated!
I reduced the dose from .5u to .25u. Since her number kept dropping at +1, I offered her medium carb wet food at +2. I woke up every 1-2 hours to check her BG. They were all 200s. Phew…..
Today after AM shot, Sabrina’s numbers were below 200 at +2, +3, +4, +5. So I’m guessing it might be possible to get another pre shot number that is below 200 tonight (which would be absolutely amazing for her!).
But I wonder, if it is the case, should I go with .25u or .5u? If I go with .25, would it affect the depot progress?
Another question is that, when the depot is filled and ready in 10-14 cycles, will it make Sabrina’s number go even lower? Asking so I could monitor her closely.
Thank you in advance! Any advices are very much appreciated!