? Dose for Kit Kat

I thought you were probably busy. Sorry, i did not know you were Trapping feral cats, was it for treat and release. I have owned several feral cats and have trapped them to take them to vet. I had 1 cat that was feral,. for 16 years, the other only lived for 2 years. The 1
I have had several feral cats who tamed down nicely over time. Tonight I am trapping and will have them spayed/neutered tomorrow and then they will recuperate in my garage for a few days and I will return them to their home after that.
 
I have caught four so far tonight. I set six traps. I hope to catch two more.
There must be a lot of feral cats where you live at. The 1 feral cat that I had was a kitten when she came to my house and she tamed easy enough, except she would scratch the other cats trying to play. The other Lived here for 16 years. In the summer she wanted to stay out side, but I have a pet door going into the basement and she stayed in the basement in the winter because there was heat and sometimes in the summer for the air conditioning.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy, This is no emergency, just wanted to make sure you saw this. I know you are not on as much as before, but i have not worked with anyone but you for KitKat. I just wanted to ask you where you thought we should go from here. I have been so afraid of him getting too low, I am going out later and buy some Karo syrup. Somehow, the other day I found Buddy's 2017 SS and his dose was 10 units. I was giving it on low numbers, and his screen was blue & green. I think it has helped me get my nerve up, but I may need a little coaxing. If you do not have the time to help, could you let me know of someone else that might be able to. Thank you.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy, This is no emergency, just wanted to make sure you saw this. I know you are not on as much as before, but i have not worked with anyone but you for KitKat. I just wanted to ask you where you thought we should go from here. I have been so afraid of him getting too low, I am going out later and buy some Karo syrup. Somehow, the other day I found Buddy's 2017 SS and his dose was 10 units. I was giving it on low numbers, and his screen was blue & green. I think it has helped me get my nerve up, but I may need a little coaxing. If you do not have the time to help, could you let me know of someone else that might be able to. Thank you.[/QU I am thinking of raising his dose.
 
How are you and KitKat doing Teresa? I’m just checking in on y’all. He has been having some nice blues. I would have shot the full 1.5 yesterday with that yellow preshot since you have shot a similar AMPS with 1.5 before. You are doing a great job with him, I can see.
 
How are you and KitKat doing Teresa? I’m just checking in on y’all. He has been having some nice blues. I would have shot the full 1.5 yesterday with that yellow preshot since you have shot a similar AMPS with 1.5 before. You are doing a great job with him, I can see.
I have not heard from you for a while. We are doing alright. Last night KitKat's feeder quit working, but was working this morning. How are you doing, I'm sure you are staying busy. I did up his dose this morning to 1.75. I had not upped it before because I thought that there was a problem with his insulin. I got a new vial and started it last Monday, I wanted to see if it was causing his high numbers. I do think since I changed vials his numbers have went down.
 
I have not heard from you for a while. We are doing alright. Last night KitKat's feeder quit working, but was working this morning. How are you doing, I'm sure you are staying busy. I did up his dose this morning to 1.75. I had not upped it before because I thought that there was a problem with his insulin. I got a new vial and started it last Monday, I wanted to see if it was causing his high numbers. I do think since I changed vials his numbers have went down.
I am a coward when it comes to upping his dose, I need to get my nerve up.
 
:bighug::bighug:

I hadn’t heard from you for a while, so I just wanted to touch base. I hope this dose will bring even better numbers. It’s not good that your feeder is acting up. KitKat likes to eat from that feeder as I recall
Kit Kat loves his feeder, it sits beside his bed. I think he likes the noise it makes when it moves. Hoping, he can gain some weight and his back legs get stronger. Nice to hear from you, have you caught any more feral cats lately.
 
I still have five recuperating in my garage. They’re doing well and I will probably release them tomorrow as long as the weather is okay. I will then be trapping and fixing more the following week (after this week.)
 
I still have five recuperating in my garage. They’re doing well and I will probably release them tomorrow as long as the weather is okay. I will then be trapping and fixing more the following week (after this week.)
That is very nice to let them recuperate in your garage. What I have heard of what they call it, they catch them, they have the surgery, then they release them. Which I think is cruel because they have no place to go where they can rest and not be on the run. They are just released where they found them. I know all of my cats were feeling bad and in pain when they were either spayed or neutered.
 
Exactly! I don’t believe in just releasing them back to where they came from right away. Maybe I am a little over the top, but I always let them recuperate in larger crates that we transfer them into after their surgery. In these crates they have food, water, soft blanket beds and a litter box. They can move around a little bot while they recover from their surgery. I like to keep them about a week or so to make sure they don’t need additional veterinary care. They need to be in tip top shape to go back outside and defend themselves from any harm and to get around like they used to. I could not sleep at night even if I released them the following day after surgery.
 
Exactly! I don’t believe in just releasing them back to where they came from right away. Maybe I am a little over the top, but I always let them recuperate in larger crates that we transfer them into after their surgery. In these crates they have food, water, soft blanket beds and a litter box. They can move around a little bot while they recover from their surgery. I like to keep them about a week or so to make sure they don’t need additional veterinary care. They need to be in tip top shape to go back outside and defend themselves from any harm and to get around like they used to. I could not sleep at night even if I released them the following day after surgery.
Most people don't take that much care of their own pets. If I had a feral cat I would want you to take care of it. Don't know how you do all the things you do.
 
Hello Teresa. How are you? How is KitKat? I see he had a lime green a bit ago. But it definitely looks like you made the right decision to increase back up again after waiting a while.
 
Hello Teresa. How are you? How is KitKat? I see he had a lime green a bit ago. But it definitely looks like you made the right decision to increase back up again after waiting a while.
I don 't know, every time I increase him back up to 1.50 he goes to 30. Then the next morning he is high (either red or black) I don't know if he should be at 1.50 or not. I don't want him to go as low as 30, so if I go lay down, I need to get back up. I got the results of my heart monitor and now we are waiting on my insurance to decide if they will pay for the test my doctor wants or if he will need to come up with another test. If I need to go in the hospital for a while I am worried about what they would shot him at the boarder. I do believe I will need to be in the hospital for a while. I feel as though I have made no ground, he is now at 1.25 again. I don't know if 1.25 is enough, but 1.50 always puts us at 30.
 
Maybe try shooting 1.5 in the a.m. cycle and 1.25 in the evening cycle. I do not usually recommend doing that, but in KitKat’s case it may be appropriate.

Also, you have used Lantus before with Buddy. Have you discussed switching to Lantus? Some cats need to switch.
 
Maybe try shooting 1.5 in the a.m. cycle and 1.25 in the evening cycle. I do not usually recommend doing that, but in KitKat’s case it may be appropriate.

Also, you have used Lantus before with Buddy. Have you discussed switching to Lantus? Some cats need to switch.
I thought that giving a lower dose at night would be a good idea. Did not know if that would be frowned on. Have you seen his SS,at AMPS or PMPS he is at red or black. I have not talked to his doctor in a while, I just stayed with ProZinc because I was getting it from him. I felt like when I switched before, I was taking something away from him.
 
I think you could try the two different doses. It’s not something I usually would recommend, but the 1.5 seems too much for KitKat at night.

But about those lime greens at night— is he eating enough food in the early part of the cycle to slow him down? Have you tried a higher carb percentage?
 
I think you could try the two different doses. It’s not something I usually would recommend, but the 1.5 seems too much for KitKat at night.

But about those lime greens at night— is he eating enough food in the early part of the cycle to slow him down? Have you tried a higher carb percentage?
He has some Purina Pro Plan for Urinary Health that is Chicken & gravy that is 9 % carbs, I put some in with his other food. Sometimes he eats it and sometimes he doesn't. I love talking to you, I am on my way to the store before it starts to rain.
 
He has some Purina Pro Plan for Urinary Health that is Chicken & gravy that is 9 % carbs, I put some in with his other food. Sometimes he eats it and sometimes he doesn't. I love talking to you, I am on my way to the store before it starts to rain.
We are expecting rain/storms tonight. Talk to you later.
We are expecting heavy rain tonight and tomorrow. I think a lot of the country is. If you think it would be alright for me to give him 1.50 during the day and 1.25 at night I will try that. He had a fur shot tonight and he was @ 408, he sure didn't need that. The food that is 9% carbs is like little pieces of meat (someone described as chicklets) I put it in with his other food sometimes at night, but most of the time he does not eat it. That is the only high carb food that is for Urinary Health, the rest are low carb. Have you ever saw any other cat have all red and black at AMPS & PMPS. He is always high to begin with, that must be hard on him. He is still skinny and he used to be much bigger, his back legs are better but still not well.
 
Maybe try shooting 1.5 in the a.m. cycle and 1.25 in the evening cycle. I do not usually recommend doing that, but in KitKat’s case it may be appropriate.

Also, you have used Lantus before with Buddy. Have you discussed switching to Lantus? Some cats need to switch.
If he needs to switch to Lantus, then he will switch. I switched Buddy because everybody I knew on the ProZinc Board was switching to Lantus and I did not want to be left on the ProZinc Board by myself. Now, I do not know anybody on either board.
 
I think we could try the split dosing for a short while. I just was trying to think of what would be best for KitKat. I don’t know, but we could really try to see if he will do better with 1.5 in the morning and 1.25 in the evening. I have had a few cats who do much better on Lantus. There are a lot of really nice people on the Lantus forum.
 
I think you could try the two different doses. It’s not something I usually would recommend, but the 1.5 seems too much for KitKat at night.

But about those lime greens at night— is he eating enough food in the early part of the cycle to slow him down? Have you tried a higher carb percentage?
Sometimes he will go some where else and lay down, but he seems to know when it is time to eat and comes back.@Suzanne & Darcy If you think it would be alright to try the 2 different doses I will.
 
I think we could try the split dosing for a short while. I just was trying to think of what would be best for KitKat. I don’t know, but we could really try to see if he will do better with 1.5 in the morning and 1.25 in the evening. I have had a few cats who do much better on Lantus. There are a lot of really nice people on the Lantus forum.
Thank you, I think this might help KitKat to have the 2 different doses for a while. I am sure that there are nice people on both boards. I have got on the Lantus board to see if I knew anyone and I did not know any of the names. Buddy, was only on Prozinc for a few months. I used to order Lantus from Mark's Marine Pharmacy, I have quite a few little star foam coolers that cost me $25.00 a piece on the front porch.
 
Thank you, I think this might help KitKat to have the 2 different doses for a while. I am sure that there are nice people on both boards. I have got on the Lantus board to see if I knew anyone and I did not know any of the names. Buddy, was only on Prozinc for a few months. I used to order Lantus from Mark's Marine Pharmacy, I have quite a few little star foam coolers that cost me $25.00 a piece on the front porch.
I guess they are called forum not boards.
 
The green was from 1.25 and this morning he was 500. I gave him 1.50 this morning and will give him 1.25 @ PMPS. How long does it take for the body to quit throwing out that extra glucose.
 
And today? How have things been going today so far? How did the 1.5/1.25 go?
I don't know. At night he has not been getting to 20 like he did with 1.50. He is still in the blue at night and at AMPS this morning he was @ 511. How long do you think it takes to get a cat regulated. I have noticed lately he has not been eating as much, especially his snack at +4. He does not seen to be eating as much at supper time either. At supper time he eats some then wants to go to sleep and the same at +4 snack. Maybe I should change his later snack time. Some times he will come back and eat the rest of his supper. Yesterday he did not eat his +4 snack and I had to leave. When I came back, he acted as though he were starving and would not eat his +4, so I gave him a couple teaspoons of his food. So that was 4 hrs. before PMPS, but at 9 hrs. that shot him up.
 
Back
Top