hi, i am again, struggling with the vets, as before...
unsure of what i can do.
siujim has been using lantus for 8 months.
since july, we raise her to 5 unit and also, we fed her also supplements for her pacnreatitis and her BG range lowered to 230-300 from over 400.
siujim is weighted 2.8kg, 17 years old.
recently, she is using homeopath remedies in which she is more stable.
she still vomits but less often, in early morning.
i want to try another type of insulin as she has been on lantus for 8 months. but vet refused.
they even refuse to change the dose.
i am confused.
17th july:
amps 365, +3 347 +6 256, +9 282 pmps 315
18th july amps 316 pmps 333
20th amps 415, pmps 419
** vet suggested to raise to 5 unit from 4.5 unit
21st july
amps 298 +6 183 pmps 221
26th july
amps 272 +3 342 +6 320 +9 297 pmps 306
29july
amps 288 +3 290 +6 228 +9 270 pmps 302 +3 356 +6 328
30th july
amps 290 pmps 378
2nd aug
amps 275 + 6 249 pmps 252
her pre shot no is around 250-290 ( i understand we adjust dose looking at mid day bg not preshot, these are just as references).
however, since 8th aug, her BG goes up again
amps 352 + 6 216 pmps 416
14th aug
amps 329 + 3 351 + 6 257 +9 300 pmps 324
16th aug
amps 280 + 6 239 pmps 293
HER mid-day BG started NOT to go down.
also, vet suggested (since 1 month ago), we fed her after the shot to keep her BG in the first few hrs not to jump too high.
to play safe, i fed her 1/3 food, then 30mins later 2/3 meal. sometimes it works, it prevents her first few hrs BG having a dramatic jump.
18th aug
amps 381 +6 337 pmps 365
19th aug (TODAY)
amps 329 +6 315
what do u folks think?
i hope to try another type of insulin because
1) i did something very wrong, which the vet didn't explain well to me, from last dec to june, i fed her 1-2 hr BEFORE the insulin shot. so her BG were good in the first month, then very high and i missed the chance of remission. i have a feeling that she has built up much resistance to lantus because i didn't give her insulin at the right time. i did the shot when she was at her highest bg (2 hr after food). and it has been that for 6 months. vet didn't figure it out with me... and just said it was strange not to be able to lower hte BG... i only knew it when i asked you folks here in june and i learned the order of bg test/food/shot. i felt very very sad about this. almost like i killed my own baby.
thus, i think perhaps it is good to try another type of insulin, so that she has got some freshness of "taste" of insulin to trigger her to produce/accept insulin on her own.
2) it has been so many months, should i try another type?
or raise further? however, the vet refused to raise because they said her max dose is 6 unit, so unless she loses weight heavily, condition worse, they will not raise the dose even BG is at 300-400. they said to leave room for later use (as only 1 unit more)). for that, do u folks agree? what are your opinions?
thxxx. pls help, i am so very confused.
anson
unsure of what i can do.
siujim has been using lantus for 8 months.
since july, we raise her to 5 unit and also, we fed her also supplements for her pacnreatitis and her BG range lowered to 230-300 from over 400.
siujim is weighted 2.8kg, 17 years old.
recently, she is using homeopath remedies in which she is more stable.
she still vomits but less often, in early morning.
i want to try another type of insulin as she has been on lantus for 8 months. but vet refused.
they even refuse to change the dose.
i am confused.
17th july:
amps 365, +3 347 +6 256, +9 282 pmps 315
18th july amps 316 pmps 333
20th amps 415, pmps 419
** vet suggested to raise to 5 unit from 4.5 unit
21st july
amps 298 +6 183 pmps 221
26th july
amps 272 +3 342 +6 320 +9 297 pmps 306
29july
amps 288 +3 290 +6 228 +9 270 pmps 302 +3 356 +6 328
30th july
amps 290 pmps 378
2nd aug
amps 275 + 6 249 pmps 252
her pre shot no is around 250-290 ( i understand we adjust dose looking at mid day bg not preshot, these are just as references).
however, since 8th aug, her BG goes up again
amps 352 + 6 216 pmps 416
14th aug
amps 329 + 3 351 + 6 257 +9 300 pmps 324
16th aug
amps 280 + 6 239 pmps 293
HER mid-day BG started NOT to go down.
also, vet suggested (since 1 month ago), we fed her after the shot to keep her BG in the first few hrs not to jump too high.
to play safe, i fed her 1/3 food, then 30mins later 2/3 meal. sometimes it works, it prevents her first few hrs BG having a dramatic jump.
18th aug
amps 381 +6 337 pmps 365
19th aug (TODAY)
amps 329 +6 315
what do u folks think?
i hope to try another type of insulin because
1) i did something very wrong, which the vet didn't explain well to me, from last dec to june, i fed her 1-2 hr BEFORE the insulin shot. so her BG were good in the first month, then very high and i missed the chance of remission. i have a feeling that she has built up much resistance to lantus because i didn't give her insulin at the right time. i did the shot when she was at her highest bg (2 hr after food). and it has been that for 6 months. vet didn't figure it out with me... and just said it was strange not to be able to lower hte BG... i only knew it when i asked you folks here in june and i learned the order of bg test/food/shot. i felt very very sad about this. almost like i killed my own baby.
thus, i think perhaps it is good to try another type of insulin, so that she has got some freshness of "taste" of insulin to trigger her to produce/accept insulin on her own.
2) it has been so many months, should i try another type?
or raise further? however, the vet refused to raise because they said her max dose is 6 unit, so unless she loses weight heavily, condition worse, they will not raise the dose even BG is at 300-400. they said to leave room for later use (as only 1 unit more)). for that, do u folks agree? what are your opinions?
thxxx. pls help, i am so very confused.
anson