? Dose Advice? | 4/18 Kai AMPS 148, +2 237, +4 54, +6 157, PMPS 360, +2 160, +3 93

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Maddie & Kai, Apr 18, 2025.

  1. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Yesterday's Thread - Test Results

    Good moring everyone! I hope everyone had a great day!

    I'm not sure what was going on at +4 o_O. Could be a bad test. I should have retested :facepalm:
     
  2. Laurie&Petey

    Laurie&Petey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2024
    +4 sure looks like his nadir... o_O:D
     
  3. Marielle

    Marielle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2024
    I was about to say the same.
     
  4. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    It probably was his nadir but it was such a quick drop down and then back up... but now that I think about it thats really not that usual for bouncey Kai. It also explains why we bounced into the 300's for his PMPS.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2025
  5. Laurie&Petey

    Laurie&Petey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2024
    Does he get a snack at +3? He seems to have had quite a few 50ish nadirs at +4.
     
  6. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Technically no, because I have his auto feeder set up for snacks at +2 and +4. But recently I have been giving him more snacks at +3 because I have been trying to catch him when he makes these big drops, like tonight, he went from 360 to 160. So I have been contemplating if I should change his snack schedule to +1, +2, and +3?

    But I have also noticed that I have been using a lot of 20% carb in both his snacks and main meals in order to keep him from dropping too quickly, which make me wonder if I should do a tiny reduction maybe a skinny dose?

    I either need to adjust his snack schedule or adjust his insulin dose.
     
    Staci & Ivy, Madeline528 and Marielle like this.
  7. Laurie&Petey

    Laurie&Petey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2024
    That was my thought was a +3 snack to slow his roll.... that's the advice I got early on as Pete was having huge swings.

    If you're manipulating that much with carbs I would ask for a dose review, for sure.
     
  8. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Yeah, looking at his sheet again, I can see that we aren't bouncing as high as we were before but thats probably because I have been heavily manipulating his mid cycles with 15% - 20% carb food.

    @Bandit's Mom, @Wendy&Neko, @Diane Tyler's Mom GA, @Angela & Cleo
    I have been using a lot of 20% and 15% carb in both his snacks and main meals to manipulate his curve and to keep him from dropping so quickly. Should I give him a tiny reduction? Or should i switch up his snack time from "+2 & +4" to "+1, +2, & +3"?
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'd try changing the snack schedule. He's often done a big drop by +2, an earlier snack might slow that down.
     
    Maddie & Kai likes this.
  10. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024

    Okay! I'll skim some from his breakfast in the morning and try feeding him at +1 and then again at +2 and 3+.
    Thank you Wendy!
     
    Staci & Ivy and Laurie&Petey like this.
  11. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Hi Maddie, it’s never a bad idea to experiment with when you give the carbs. I give I’ve a few tsp of her 6% regular diet at +1,2 and 3 both cycles.

    It looks like Kai dives at +3, when insulin onsets. So why not try to curb the dive at +2 also?
    You’ll then see if it helps calm that dive a bit.
    And I also find that if I’m chasing her with higher carbs too much then I will shave down the dose a bit to see if it will help.
    It’s a lot of experimenting.
    So maybe get rid of the “fat” part of the dose and see how he does.
    You can always go back up…

    Just my 2 cents …
    Have a safe day. Hugs and belly rubs to Kai :bighug::cat::bighug:
     
    Maddie & Kai likes this.
  12. Maddie & Kai

    Maddie & Kai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024

    Thank you! I will gladly take your 2 cents any day! :joyful::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.

Share This Page