Dosage raising after 7 day cycle and curve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
Recently, Pumpkin's dose was lowered by .25 when he started doing a couple of very rapid falls shortly after dosing. Both times, I gave significant amounts of food in order to cushion or stall the rate at which it was dropping. The lowest recorded dose was 90. If I hadn't been there to stall it, it would have fallen below 90.

At that point, he was reduced to .75 from 1 unit and allowing the depot to stabilize. After 7 days or so, I was going to re-curve. I think I understand correctly that the dosage will be raised back to 1U if his nadir is up.

I just want to double check that this is correct, please?? We aren't there yet, but a curve will be due soon. :cat:

@Christie & Maverick @CORKY

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mber-anyone-up-right-now.293567/#post-3203623
 
Today is the sixth day on 0.75u. Keep the dose for another day, and unless you see something spectacular, I’d increase on the am cycle of September 6th. With SLGS you want nadirs under 150, which he isn’t getting on 0.75u. You are testing enough that you can see how low this dose is taking him, so it’s not necessary in your case to run a curve. That’s really only for caregivers who can’t get many tests in between preshots regularly to be able to see how the dose is working so a curve helps in those instances. Does this make sense?
 
Today is the sixth day on 0.75u. Keep the dose for another day, and unless you see something spectacular, I’d increase on the am cycle of September 6th. With SLGS you want nadirs under 150, which he isn’t getting on 0.75u. You are testing enough that you can see how low this dose is taking him, so it’s not necessary in your case to run a curve. That’s really only for caregivers who can’t get many tests in between preshots regularly to be able to see how the dose is working so a curve helps in those instances. Does this make sense?
I cannot thank you enough! This has truely been so helpful!! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Uh-oh! This morning PMPS, he read 227. When he is down in the 200's that's occasionally been the range where it does a very fast drop starting at around +2. The kind that has typically resulted in a dosage reduction. So, I am going to watch this to see if the nadir falls below 150 today.

Looking ahead to the weekend, I must have my car tested for emissions or I am starting to get into large citations and fines. And, if there is a dive on that day, I will be forced to not take my car in. My mom is coming to go to lunch on Sunday too. She drives quite far. It's not like she is in the next city over, so concerns about having to call off these things now.

If it does dive or fall below 150 today, I want to try to maintain this dosage at least until 9/9 when I can be here pretty much all day to watch him. :cat:
 
Looks like Pumpkin’s cycle today wasn’t all that exciting. But it is a good example of why you don’t want to assume how the cycle will go just based on the preshot. Any bouncing from the green is long over and the last nadir under 150 was 5 days ago. That said, I get it; you are worried about how Pumpkin will react to an increase if you aren’t home to monitor. Life happens. He is due for an increase, but no pressure as to what you feel is when you are comfortable in doing so :bighug:
 
Looks like Pumpkin’s cycle today wasn’t all that exciting. But it is a good example of why you don’t want to assume how the cycle will go just based on the preshot. Any bouncing from the green is long over and the last nadir under 150 was 5 days ago. That said, I get it; you are worried about how Pumpkin will react to an increase if you aren’t home to monitor. Life happens. He is due for an increase, but no pressure as to what you feel is when you are comfortable in doing so :bighug:
Correct and we will be increasing :bighug::cat::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top