? Dosage Question, is 1.25 still too high?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So Remus has been throwing out lower numbers over the last few days, so I have a question about his dosage. Is there a possibility that 1.25 is till too high?

We are starting to follow SLGS after finally getting off the pen and on to vial.

Here is his chart:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/17IrrqV7nnDoc5MPU-ax-X8Lbg7VPvR5mD093QNCP5Nw/edit#gid=0

He is on the antibiotics for a suspected kidney infection

Thank you in advance for any insight :)
Please read the SLGS guidelines carefully. They'll tell you what to do for dosing. You'll have to give the same dose AM and PM because Lantus works best with consistent dosing. Any time you get a number under 90 you'd reduce the dose by 0.25 u. Two days ago you had numbers below 90 at a 1 u dose given in the AM. That should have resulted in a drop to 0.745 u. However you raised the dose in the PM because of the pink PMPS. The Lantus depot can't stabilize with all these dose changes.
 
Please read the SLGS guidelines carefully. They'll tell you what to do for dosing. You'll have to give the same dose AM and PM because Lantus works best with consistent dosing. Any time you get a number under 90 you'd reduce the dose by 0.25 u. Two days ago you had numbers below 90 at a 1 u dose given in the AM. That should have resulted in a drop to 0.745 u. However you raised the dose in the PM because of the pink PMPS. The Lantus depot can't stabilize with all these dose changes.

Sorry, I should have mentioned that was because our vet told us on Friday to give him 1.5U unless if his preshot was below 200, in which to give 1U. My husband gave him his dose that morning instead following SLGS regs.
 
I don't like bashing vets because they do the best they can with the knowledge level they have for treating feline diabetes. The people here on the Lantus forum have a huge amount of 24/7 experience treating FD and the SLGS guidelines arose from that. I strongly recommend that you print out those guidelines, underline parts, jot margin notes about questions to ask, etc. Try hard to follow them to the letter and post here for help often. Jumping between those guidelines and your vet's advice will make all this harder to manage than it needs to be.
 
I don't like bashing vets because they do the best they can with the knowledge level they have for treating feline diabetes. The people here on the Lantus forum have a huge amount of 24/7 experience treating FD and the SLGS guidelines arose from that. I strongly recommend that you print out those guidelines, underline parts, jot margin notes about questions to ask, etc. Try hard to follow them to the letter and post here for help often. Jumping between those guidelines and your vet's advice will make all this harder to manage than it needs to be.

Absolutely, understood.

With that in mind. Should we be giving him .75 this evening and move forward with that dosage with the protocol in mind?

Really appreciate your valuable advice.
 
Absolutely, understood.

With that in mind. Should we be giving him .75 this evening and move forward with that dosage with the protocol in mind?

Really appreciate your valuable advice.
That makes sense to me. It's a guess though because of the many dose changes recently. However, you need a starting point for SLGS and this isn't a bad one. From the SLGS guidelines:
______________________________________________________________________________________________

Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.

Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top