Dosage advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin Portman

Member Since 2015
My kitty was diagnosed 3 weeks ago. A week and a half ago, I switched him to very low carb food from D/M. I started home testing a week ago. His numbers have been getting much better. This morning they were lower than they ever were 134 (tested after no food for 2 hrs) preshot so I only gave .5. I got home 6 hrs later and tested and it was about the same as this morning but then dropped a bit,+6 133. +8 131 +9 110. Except for taking the food away for the 2 hrs before testing pred shot, I leave food out and he grazes throughout the day. I am due to test him preshot in about 45 minutes. Advice on what I should do if it is still this low. The last time he was at the vet, a week and a half ago, he was in the low 500s and I was told to increase from 1 to 1.5 twice a day but that was before I switched his food and saw huge improvement with his numbers. Thanks.
 
Hi and welcome Robin and Joey
Well done getting the SS up and running and home testing.
It looks like swapping the food to low carb wet has made a good difference, so that is great.

Because Joey is new to this and there is not a lot of data.....if you get a preshot lower than 200, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
Post and ask for help. Change the subject line to something like...PMPSxxx stalling need help.....so we are alerted.

This link will be helpful https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Do you have a hypo kit set up....very important. There is also information about hypos in the above link as well.
 
With food changes from dry to canned only, some kitties can end up needing quite a bit less insulin, or even none at all which would be then diet -controlled diabetic. Joey already seems to be having good results with the diet switch, and insulin.

Here on the health forum, for new members first start gathering data, we suggest not giving any insulin if preshot numbers are under 200.

Here is a good info page for new members : New? How You Can help us help you

It would be good to get a dose where you can shoot consistently the same dose both am and pm. Based on our dosing methods here on the forum, we'd usually say a good starting dose of 1u of Lantus, although depending on some factors, that may be more or less. How much does Joey weigh? Is he at his ideal weight? I wonder if it might be worth going with 1u, and try and gather more data, particularly mid cycle tests like you have been doing, since with Lantus, we dose based on how low the dose is taking the kitty. Since you switched to wet 7 days ago now, I suspect the dry food change effects are done, so BG levels you see going forward are not influenced from any dry food in his system.
 
Hi and welcome Robin and Joey
Well done getting the SS up and running and home testing.
It looks like swapping the food to low carb wet has made a good difference, so that is great.

Because Joey is new to this and there is not a lot of data.....if you get a preshot lower than 200, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
Post and ask for help. Change the subject line to something like...PMPSxxx stalling need help.....so we are alerted.

This link will be helpful https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Do you have a hypo kit set up....very important. There is also information about hypos in the above link as well.
Hi. I do have Karo syrup. Thanks for the advice.
With food changes from dry to canned only, some kitties can end up needing quite a bit less insulin, or even none at all which would be then diet -controlled diabetic. Joey already seems to be having good results with the diet switch, and insulin.

Here on the health forum, for new members first start gathering data, we suggest not giving any insulin if preshot numbers are under 200.

Here is a good info page for new members : New? How You Can help us help you

It would be good to get a dose where you can shoot consistently the same dose both am and pm. Based on our dosing methods here on the forum, we'd usually say a good starting dose of 1u of Lantus, although depending on some factors, that may be more or less. How much does Joey weigh? Is he at his ideal weight? I wonder if it might be worth going with 1u, and try and gather more data, particularly mid cycle tests like you have been doing, since with Lantus, we dose based on how low the dose is taking the kitty. Since you switched to wet 7 days ago now, I suspect the dry food change effects are done, so BG levels you see going forward are not influenced from any dry food in his system.
Joey is still getting dry food but low carb...Epogen 90. I am trying to get him changed over to wet at least part of the time but he doesn’t like it and it gives his brother diarrhea so I’m taking that change more slowly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top