Dopey's numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

ladyxsuebee

Member Since 2011
Hello All! I have finally gotten Dopey's numbers onto my spreadsheet.

If anyone has feedback or comments, they are greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :mrgreen:
 
good job getting your spreadsheet set up! that's half the battle for a lot of people!

are you able to get any mid-cycle numbers, like maybe a +5 or +6 on dopey? the more BG test information you gather the more you'll be able to see patterns and understand how dopey responds to the insulin.

and i haven't met you yet, so i'll just say hi! julie
 
hi there
welcome to Lantus Land.
I agree with the previous post, it would be helpful to see any other numbers on your kitty.
does your schedule allow it?

have you had a chance to read the starred sticky's?
hopefully yes, lots of good information there.
 
I just wanted to say "Hi" to you and Dopey! You've got a great start going with gathering data there, and Ronnie and Julie's suggestions of trying to work in some "in between" tests is fabulous. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir as opposed to the pre-shot numbers, so those in between tests will give you lots of valuable information.

Welcome aboard!!

Amy & Trixie
 
Thanks for the welcome Julie, Ronnie & Amy!

(that's funny Ronnie, my other cat is named Luna, but Dopey is the black & white one with a mask like your Luna)

So I work pretty much 7 AM to 4 PM, so only could get a + 6 on the weekend. I can do another curve this weekend to get more #'s. The first time I did it was my first time ever with the glucose monitor, and I felt bad for waking Dopey up when I did to keep poking him as it was. I got some great treats for him now to give before & after poking, and now Luna comes running when it's poking time to get her "lurking" treats (I usually just give her some so she will get out of our face)
;-)

It seems like the insulin is helping, but I wonder why (like yesterday his PMPS was up to 345) it spiked up like that??

TTYS!

Susan
 
Hi, I think this is the first time I have been to your condo as well, so welcome from us! Getting the curves in on the weekends will add a good bit of information .. Have a great day guys!
 
Since you get home at 4pm, are you able to get some evening numbers, too? The more data you have, the better! And yes...treats certainly help!

His PMPS could possibly be a bounce, if he hit lower numbers during the day. This is where having those "in between" numbers will help you figure out what's going on, and will help you determine if you need to make any sort of dose adjustments.

If you have a chance, pop in to the condos of other kitties and check out their spreadsheets...there's lots to be learned by seeing what others are up to!

Amy
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

Congrats on getting Dopey's SS up and running! There are any number of people here who aren't around during the day to test. It does mean you may want to get tests during the PM cycle. In fact, we strongly urge that you get at least one test per cycle in addition to your AMPS and PMPS. Depending on when you leave in the AM, getting test before you walk out the door or when you walk in the door would be great, if that's possible. If not, it is very important to test during the PM cycle. Many cats run lower numbers during the night.

There's no way to really know why Dopey's PMPS yesterday was in the 300s. Without either numbers from the previous evening and/or mid-cycle numbers, there's no way other than guessing to explain what's going on.

If you've not yet had a chance to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board, below is a description of what information each contains.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top