Don't want to jinx this, but...

ReaAnn & Big Hoss

Member Since 2018
LOOK AT HOSS' LAST FEW DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG, I'm trying not to breathe too hard and mess him up. I had to reduce his dose twice in the past few days because he was going too low for my comfort level way too early in his cycle (he often hits his nadirs very late in his cycle) and it was scaring me to death. I've spent several nights up all night testing him to be extra-vigilant and make sure he didn't go hypo on me.

Now I'm trying to find the Lantus "sweet spot" which I think right now is somewhere between 3.00 and 3.25 units. Which is awesome since it took 4.5 to finally wake his pancreas up and let it know we meant business. He feels fantastic - like a new cat. He's even playing again. His drinking/peeing is back to normal amounts and he has a much more "normal" appetite (for a 20 pound cat). And he's re-gained every bit of weight he lost. Which is good and bad, I guess. LOL! Now, if he'll just stop hitting his nadirs at or right after his injection time, that'd be great. Makes it pretty nerve-wracking to give injections when he's doing that!

Anyway, the vet thinks his pancreas is waking up and starting to produce insulin again and that he may be trying to head for remission. Keeping all my fingers and toes crossed!!!
 
The switch was turned on as soon as we bumped him from 4.25 to 4.5. That 1/4 unit made all the difference. Pretty crazy. I know there's been a lot of dose changes in the last few days, but 3.75 ended up being too much. Then 3.5 seemed to be too much because he kept falling after his shot and was at 61 just four hours into a cycle and he often hasn't been hitting his nadir till close to 12 hours or even beyond that. So I was up all night with him on a work night trying to make sure he didn't go hypo and I just can't do that if I want to hold down my job. So I backed him down to 3. But I'm thinking that may not be quite enough. I think his current sweet spot might be right around 3.25. So that's what I'm trying. I know it's a lot of changes and that's not optimal, but I'm flying by the seat of my pants here and he keeps having these low numbers at shot time and then continues to drop AFTER shot time so he's just freaking me out. We'll get it figured out. I'm hoping he'll handle the 3.25 well and if so, we'll keep him there until we have to reduce him again. I'm just trying to find that point in between way low numbers and having him go too high again. I want to keep him under the renal threshold no matter what and so far he's doing great in that regard.
 
Could be you broke through some glucose toxicity. :) Love it when their little bodies go click! I would try holding the 3.0 unit dose unless he earns a reduction. The depot of a larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, so try not to respond to higher preshots with an increase, like you did yesterday. Consistent dosing will help you find a good dose.
 
Could be you broke through some glucose toxicity. :) Love it when their little bodies go click! I would try holding the 3.0 unit dose unless he earns a reduction. The depot of a larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, so try not to respond to higher preshots with an increase, like you did yesterday. Consistent dosing will help you find a good dose.
Thanks! He's doing quite well at the 3.0, so I do plan on staying here unless and until his BG numbers dictate I need to make a change. I'm hoping he earns another reduction soon!
 
Back
Top