Don't know what to think anymore

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Bobbie - well Murphy is joining Bubba in not having a response to his 2.25 units today - just like Bubba, for no apparent reason :(
They just need to show us sometimes that they are in charge........today, I decided to let him out if he wanted to be outside. He came back in for a 15 mins, wanted to go back out and I let him and he came back on his own when it started to rain. He's been down in his man cave since he came home and I just got a +7 and he went into the yellows which is the lowest he's been during the daytime since 11.6.15. He is much happier when he can come and go as he wants to.
 
They just need to show us sometimes that they are in charge........today, I decided to let him out if he wanted to be outside. He came back in for a 15 mins, wanted to go back out and I let him and he came back on his own when it started to rain. He's been down in his man cave since he came home and I just got a +7 and he went into the yellows which is the lowest he's been during the daytime since 11.6.15. He is much happier when he can come and go as he wants to.

Hopefully you found the key!
 
I know what you mean! What was it someone here said, everything's fine and then a butterfly farts halfway across the world...:banghead:
 
Geez Bobbie....Bubba is definitely dancing to his own beat of the drum. I have been looking and looking and studying Bubba's spreadsheet for weeks now and my eyes are going crossed. He is one that will lead you to drinking, huh? Here is what I am thinking that the next time you are going to increase, I would go for a .5 increase for now on (0.5u is appropriate according to Prozinc protocol). Forget the 0.2 increases. He is not even getting close and if there is a "key" dose, it may take you till Christmas to find it and I would rather have you find it by Thanksgiving! Yes, Bubba, my patience is running thin.
 
Last edited:
Geez Bobbie....Bubba is definitely dancing to his own beat of the drum. I have been looking and looking and studying Bubba's spreadsheet for weeks now and my eyes are going crossed. He is one that will lead you to drinking, huh? Here is what I am thinking that the next time you are going to increase, I would go for a .5 increase for now on (0.5u is appropriate according to Prozinc protocol). Forget the 0.2 increases. He is not even getting close and if there is a "key" dose, it may take you till Christmas to find it and I would rather have you find it by Thanksgiving! Yes, Bubba, my patience is running thin.
Oh, I got a good laugh at this post Cindi because one day I actually said to Bubba, "You are making me drink"! Thank you for studying it and oh I know about the eyes crossing. The increase of 0.5 is exactly what I was thinking too. Tomorrow I will increase. Now, what if....he decides to pop me a blue tonight for PMPS (180 or over, positive thinking) , should I reduce the 3 u to 2.5 since the most I have ever shot at a blue was 2.2?
 
Yes - that is what I would try. I had to write down all the blue pre-shot numbers, the dose and nadir since 9/1 to see if it gave me any clues. It does look like you could try a 2.5u and Bubba should still be in safe numbers.

The good thing is that in the past 2 1/2 months, you have gotten quite a few blues at pre-shot times, you have been brave enough to try out these doses and have collected enough good data. It seems like we should be able to calculate out these blue numbers and doses to see what you should be dosing now with the pink numbers. Is it double like 4 units or what? I am going to tag @BJM as I have seen her do some calculations before.

While studying Bubba's spreadsheet, I also had thoughts that maybe you should go back to the lower doses one more time as you did have some blues back then but like Sue says, we have already done that. On a more positive note, Bubba is not bouncing as much or really not at all lately, like he did earlier....when he had those blues! Darn it Bubba. You are either blue and bouncing or flat and pink/yellow.

Date/Pre-shot #/Dose/nadir
11/6 199 2.2 252
10/24 182 2 294
10/19 189 2 323
10/15 156 2 146
10/11 177 2 189
10/11 172 2 111
10/9 175 2 270
10/2 190 2.4 200
9/29 172 2 150
9/21 142 2 135
9/10 184 2.4 97
9/9 174 2.4 217
9/7 186 2.2 169
 
Last edited:
Yes - that is what I would try. I had to write down all the blue pre-shot numbers, the dose and nadir since 9/1 to see if it gave me any clues. It does look like you could try a 2.5u and Bubba should still be in safe numbers.

The good thing is that in the past 2 1/2 months, you have gotten quite a few blues at pre-shot times, you have been brave enough to try out these doses and have collected enough good data. It seems like we should be able to calculate out these blue numbers and doses to see what you should be dosing now with the pink numbers. Is it double like 4 units or what? I am going to tag @BJM as I have seen her do some calculations before.

While studying Bubba's spreadsheet, I also had thoughts that maybe you should go back to the lower doses one more time as you did have some blues back then but like Sue says, we have already done that. On a more positive note, Bubba is not bouncing as much or really not at all lately, like he did earlier....when he had those blues! Darn it Bubba. You are either blue and bouncing or flat and pink/yellow.

Date/Pre-shot #/Dose/nadir
11/6 199 2.2 252
10/24 182 2 294
10/19 189 2 323
10/15 156 2 146
10/11 177 2 189
10/11 172 2 111
10/9 175 2 270
10/2 190 2.4 200
9/29 172 2 150
9/21 142 2 135
9/10 184 2.4 97
9/9 174 2.4 217
9/7 186 2.2 169
Yes - that is what I would try. I had to write down all the blue pre-shot numbers, the dose and nadir since 9/1 to see if it gave me any clues. It does look like you could try a 2.5u and Bubba should still be in safe numbers.

The good thing is that in the past 2 1/2 months, you have gotten quite a few blues at pre-shot times, you have been brave enough to try out these doses and have collected enough good data. It seems like we should be able to calculate out these blue numbers and doses to see what you should be dosing now with the pink numbers. Is it double like 4 units or what? I am going to tag @BJM as I have seen her do some calculations before.

While studying Bubba's spreadsheet, I also had thoughts that maybe you should go back to the lower doses one more time as you did have some blues back then but like Sue says, we have already done that. On a more positive note, Bubba is not bouncing as much or really not at all lately, like he did earlier....when he had those blues! Darn it Bubba. You are either blue and bouncing or flat and pink/yellow.

Date/Pre-shot #/Dose/nadir
11/6 199 2.2 252
10/24 182 2 294
10/19 189 2 323
10/15 156 2 146
10/11 177 2 189
10/11 172 2 111
10/9 175 2 270
10/2 190 2.4 200
9/29 172 2 150
9/21 142 2 135
9/10 184 2.4 97
9/9 174 2.4 217
9/7 186 2.2 169
Wow, Cindi, thanks for all the time you spent figuring this out. It is interesting to see the preshot next to the nadir as you did. No rhyme or reason with him. It will also be interesting to see what BJM says too. I am thinking that I wimped out a few times and reduced my PM shot which messed up the momentum. I am going to be braver. ;)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kitty-cold.147152/#post-1530890
 
The enzymes I use are from a company called Naturvet. They are digestive enzymes with probiotics. Prior to giving them to Bubba, I noticed his poop being tannish in color and larger, but no foul smell. My homeoopath told me to start him on it. His poop was darker in probably 2-3 days later. And he is got more regular. I get them from Chewy.com
Hi… I was just reading the posts and I wanted to share something you may want to look into… My baby has had mild pancreas issues that are so mild 1 of my vets didn't put it together but after comparing his blood panels I could see a pattern of slight elevations in lipase on 1 and they have a different name for it on another lab-anyway my kitty specialist has us on pancreatrophin (he gets 1/4 tablet each meal) from Standard Process--it is a glandular and it seems to be keeping my guys numbers a little lower and he is more playful (jumping on counters opening cabinets) --my 2 cents ;)
 
Hi… I was just reading the posts and I wanted to share something you may want to look into… My baby has had mild pancreas issues that are so mild 1 of my vets didn't put it together but after comparing his blood panels I could see a pattern of slight elevations in lipase on 1 and they have a different name for it on another lab-anyway my kitty specialist has us on pancreatrophin (he gets 1/4 tablet each meal) from Standard Process--it is a glandular and it seems to be keeping my guys numbers a little lower and he is more playful (jumping on counters opening cabinets) --my 2 cents ;)
Thanks for that information. Were there any symptoms? As of right now, he has no symptoms at all. He had blood work Sept. 2nd pre-dental cleaning and extractions. Would it have shown in his blood panels? I appreciate you feedback.
 
Drevons symptoms were very slight but I know him so well and I knew he was just "off"--It sounds like you are like that with your guy as well.
I would get a copy of the blood (assuming they did a full panel) and look to see if his lipase or amalayse are even at the high end of normal--- If they are he may have some mild stuff going on with a flare here and there….sometimes they have obvious tummy pain but sometimes you may notice he is just laying different (crunched up) as opposed to sprawled out.
 
Drevons symptoms were very slight but I know him so well and I knew he was just "off"--It sounds like you are like that with your guy as well.
I would get a copy of the blood (assuming they did a full panel) and look to see if his lipase or amalayse are even at the high end of normal--- If they are he may have some mild stuff going on with a flare here and there….sometimes they have obvious tummy pain but sometimes you may notice he is just laying different (crunched up) as opposed to sprawled out.
Thanks! I will request his blood work. And the supplement did the trick?
 
It definitely seems to encourage him to eat …before when he was looking like he wanted to eat and go sniff and almost lick... he wouldn't… he is eating much better now and laying very comfortably. He seems brighter all around. I have not changed anything else so yes I think it does give him comfort as well as some better/longer numbers… we have not been on it very long so hopefully it will continue to lower those numbers for longer time frames. I did some research on it before giving it to him although his Dr said she has had good results (I like to check things out) it has pretty great reviews for cats and dogs- I hope his levels are good and you won't even need it but nice to know there is something to help just in case :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top