Don't know what to do!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarolandTigger

Member Since 2015
Tigger was 149 at his PMPS last night so I gave him 2.25...using the reduction he earned the other day from 2.5. I got up at 3am and he was 103, then 95 at +11 which was just before he ate this morning. Held off his AM shot for an hour,then gave him 2.25 at 8:30. I couldn't stall his food for any longer, plus we had to leave. So I couldn't test him at +12. I assumed he'd be back on his way up by then! So we just got home at 1pm and he's at 41! Do I give high carb food? He still had a little food left in his dish from this morning which was unusual..but he just gobbled that up. May I shouldn't have given him his shot this morning? Just so afraid of him slipping back into a DKA state !
I honestly don't know what I should do rite now other than keep testing every hour to see if he comes up?
 
A 41 is too low and needs to be brought up with high carbs.

This mornings 95 was slightly lower than the previous test. Another test at +12 would have confirmed if he was going sideways or in a drop going into that shot and given you some forewarning of a low cycle. One of the reasons we always want to test preshot.

For now. Get him up into safe numbers.
 
You also want to test every 15-20 minutes, not wait an hour, until he is safely above 50 (68 if you are using an alphatrak meter) for two readings.
 
I realize that now. WE SHOULD NOT HAVE FED HIM AT +11...then we could have tested him at +12 and to see where he was headed...and then fed him. But when they're CRYING for food..it's so hard! I'm surprised with the reduced dose he's dropping this low?! I'll go get some high carb into him.....
 
if he's above 50 now, give him a teaspoon or two of his regular low carb food and test again in 30...maybe we can get him up on his surfboard
 
Just tested at 59, so he's going up. If he's still,low at PMPS tonight...what's the lowest you would shoot? I don't understand why he's dropping low AFTER a reduction in his dose?!
 
It can take up to 6 cycles for the 2.5U depot to "run out" so some of these numbers are probably due to his depot being "over-full"

He's doing GREAT!!....don't worry about what to do at PMPS just now......I'd grab a +11 and let's see where he's at then!
 
AND we just got a 47. Noticed he had vomited outside, had grass in it. Just gave him 1/2 can FF with gravy. I don't understand what's going on
 
Carol breathe. Don't worry about not understanding right now. Work on getting his level up. How about a few drops of syrup? Do you have that?
 
omg you are like me with the treats and Midnight criedconsistantly all last week I think I fed him triple food a day than normal due to the diabetes not being treated. I totally get that!! You a great Momma!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top