!! DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I continue to have concerns with the flavor foods I believe are , cause of Corky's continued high BG with the Mint label FF Trout Feast Flaked which we established has 8% carbs, then there's the continued concern for the Dark Green Chicken Feast Chunky which we found it to be 5%, however I fed again and just seeing his SS I want to cry! the Flake I have always given Corky and Coco is the Fish & Shrimp Flake, dark blue label, which it has 0% carbs, and the light blue label Tuna Flake, also too much gravy and I stopped feeding it after I opened the first can and saw a rise in BG. I do not know where all this has become so horribly wrong when it was getting so right, that even with an increase he's not responding, I don't know any more what to feed them and I say them because I need to keep Coco under the same rules to prevent diabetes as well. Are we going backwards?:arghh::banghead::confused::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
At least Corky had some blues today. You didn’t write down what you fed in the Remarks section. I just don’t know what to say anymore about the food/carbs. They’re all under ten percent carbs so still considered low carb. 5 percent should not be a problem (the chunky). One way to see if it’s really the food would be to feed the questionable food at +2 when the insulin is starting to onset. If you see a big jump then maybe that’s not a good food for them. I would test 30 minutes after giving the food in question and see if BG is up. You could also try this at +3 and +4 when the action of the ProZinc should be strong.
 
At least Corky had some blues today. You didn’t write down what you fed in the Remarks section. I just don’t know what to say anymore about the food/carbs. They’re all under ten percent carbs so still considered low carb. 5 percent should not be a problem (the chunky). One way to see if it’s really the food would be to feed the questionable food at +2 when the insulin is starting to onset. If you see a big jump then maybe that’s not a good food for them. I would test 30 minutes after giving the food in question and see if BG is up. You could also try this at +3 and +4 when the action of the ProZinc should be strong.
I just put todays food, it was actually what was typed for yesterday, I must've lost yesterday, I have been getting an information box every time I open the SS that some data was lost but I don't pay attention to it, and since I can't see where I am posting I screw up I did have yesterday where I had typed in red block letters about the Chicken Feast flake, don't know how or what happened to that but the info you want is there already, what you suggests and when to feed for instance the Chicken Flake, I did yesterday at +6 that's why I typed it in red capital blocked letters with a question mark, and that's when I saw that the following test was higher, I wish I could see the top of the SS where the + numbers are and the times, it gets confusing to me but you can check now, I feel like I am taking a test, studied for weeks and still don't know the answers:bighug::bighug::banghead::banghead: :arghh::cat::cat:

great idea after PMPS I'll try on ++4 like 2 tsp of the chicken flake to see reaction, if I understand what you are saying is that since the insulin is still strong at that time he's BG should not go up crazy thanks
 
Last edited:
Corky! What’s going on with the stinky pinky numbers this morning. You are driving mama crazy.

Yes he is, I just finished boiling two giant chicken breast, no seasoning put a few cauliflower pieces to give it flavor, and that's what he is eating at 12:30 1:00 PM, and PMPS . I gave both of a taste they gobbled it down, if I have to make their food I will.. Do you know the vegetables cats cannot eat?:bighug::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::(:(:cat::cat: I am also reading right now Marje's post on Know what's in your cat s food
 
Last edited:
Yes he is, I just finished boiling two giant chicken breast, no seasoning put a few cauliflower pieces to give it flavor, and that's what he is eating at 12:30 1:00 PM, and PMPS . I gave both of a taste they gobbled it down, if I have to make their food I will.. Do you know the vegetables cats cannot eat?:bighug::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::(:(:cat::cat: I am also reading right now Marje's post on Know what's in your cat s food
Cats do not need vegetables in their diet. In the wild they may only ever get a tiny amount of vegetation if they eat a mouse or a bird (just whatever the mouse or bird had eaten.). It may be okay to give them a few vegetables but I would not focus on vegetables. It may cause some gastric upset, too. Do not give them peas, lentils, chick peas, etc. or obviously no onions or garlic, chives, leeks, etc. Cats eat meat and the other stuff put into their cat food is either filler to make it cheaper or to add some missing nutrients.
 
Cats do not need vegetables in their diet. In the wild they may only ever get a tiny amount of vegetation if they eat a mouse or a bird (just whatever the mouse or bird had eaten.). It may be okay to give them a few vegetables but I would not focus on vegetables. It may cause some gastric upset, too. Do not give them peas, lentils, chick peas, etc. or obviously no onions or garlic, chives, leeks, etc. Cats eat meat and the other stuff put into their cat food is either filler to make it cheaper or to add some missing nutrients.
Yes I was reading everything about what is good and not to feed, I put the floretts of Colliflower just for taste, the chicken, I made it into small chunks like they like it no seasoning at I was not planning to feeding the cauliflower or upset stomach, because it can cause gas and yes cats are not vegetable creatures, tomorrow when I go for groceries I will buy meat as well and salmon I have a food processor as I make it for the day, I my 3 girls never ate baby foods(only fruits) I would boil a huge pot of meat or chicken full of veggies, put I thru the blender using the same water then separate in small Tupperware containers and freeze, this doesn't relate but I breast fed my girl until they were 6 months old, Never been sick) and never used disposable diapers, I had a Diaper Co. that would bring 120 diapers a week and pick up the soiled ones, I loved to see those diaper pins, and ruffled panties to match, ( the old fashion way ) so One again, these two babies will have the same, an old fashion mom
 
Sometimes a cat's insulin needs change. They go up. They go down. They go up. They go down. The pancreas is doing the best it can but it is sputtering. That is why we try to keep a cat in high greens for as long as possible. It gives the pancreas a chance to rest and do some healing.
 
Sometimes a cat's insulin needs change. They go up. They go down. They go up. They go down. The pancreas is doing the best it can but it is sputtering. That is why we try to keep a cat in high greens for as long as possible. It gives the pancreas a chance to rest and do some healing.
so what is your input? increase the dose?
 
I'll leave that decision up to you and Suzanne.
I was just trying to give you a possible explanation as to why the Corksicle's numbers are not great.

Red, thank you for responding I am going crazy over this issue it scares me, right now he tested 132 and I do not get it truly, I am feeding him now boiled chicken in chunks he likes it, so far some of the food I have been giving him from the food chart have turned out to raise his BG, you'll see that I have been placing in remarks everything he eats and % of carbs of each food, yesterday he had only a total of 10% of carbs:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I'll leave that decision up to you and Suzanne.
I was just trying to give you a possible explanation as to why the Corksicle's numbers are not great.

It's insane, just tested and Corky's BG is 105, I'm still sticking to the hunch, that it has everything to do with the food even though it's been between 0-5% carbs
:bookworm::confused::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
But about the food…. I am not sure if this is what you are saying that you plan to do, but you cannot just feed them meat or even meat and veggies. The food would be lacking in essential nutrients and this would definitely harm them. If you plan to actually make cat food then you must purchase a nutritionally complete additive such as EZ Complete to add to the meat. An example of a nutritional deficiency would be lack of taurine in the food causing cardiomyopathy and heart failure in the cat.
 
But if you are just talking about occasional meat snacks for them while they also will get regular cat food, that would be okay.
Of course you are right I just did this today hoping he would stay low, and I really would love to give them home made meals, but I was reading some post about members that prepare their home food there are too many stuff I need to add to the so like you say be appropriate for their diets, and I can't afford it, right now if we look at his SS, there's no need for increase (so we see), right now is awesome, but for how long, perhaps I should just stick to the same foods flavors and not experiment with new ones especially if they are not on the food list, even though they are pates or chunky, I am staying away from those, thank you for always helping me out, I am just trying without the knowledge unlike you, to figure out what's up, for PMPS, if is under 120 or less I'll hallar at you for your input on the shot, if you are available at 6:00 PM:bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
Good morning
I was a great night this morning he woke up with 290
I just read a post from a member titled Hyperglycaemic Hyperosmolar Syndrome (HHS) it made my heart skip a beat
I have about 4 bottles of these strips to check ketones, never have used them when I catch Corky peeing, I see no stream, so I dip the stick in the moistest part of the litter but nothing happens to the stick, is that how is done? or am Or missing something? please don't laugh, I just realized how stupid I sound:oops:
 
No. That is not how the strips work. You either have to catch some urine in a cup or something or use the non absorbent litter and put the strip in the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds afterwards.
 
Did Corky ever have a confirmed DKA? It’s not on your signature. I hope not. But he has no symptoms of either DKA right now and he also has his blood glucose in a pretty decent place most of the time. He has no symptoms of the HHS either. So don’t stress about that!

I am a little disappointed in his numbers today. Not bad, but could be better.
 
No. That is not how the strips work. You either have to catch some urine in a cup or something or use the non absorbent litter and put the strip in the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds afterwards.

wow! thanks, I am still laughing ! I'll try to catch some next time I see him
 
Did Corky ever have a confirmed DKA? It’s not on your signature. I hope not. But he has no symptoms of either DKA right now and he also has his blood glucose in a pretty decent place most of the time. He has no symptoms of the HHS either. So don’t stress about that!

I am a little disappointed in his numbers today. Not bad, but could be better.
I agree! about those numbers when he was on the .75 he had lower numbers than now on 1.0. When i registered I gave all his blood test and diagnosed from the hospital, don't believe that DKA were present at all and it was mentioned either, I am trying to feed him a bit less because he's gaining weight, he feels a bit heavier, wider, right now he is been taking a picture of my face since 3:30 he is starving, he stares so hard wow, I love my babies so much
 
His numbers are similar to when he was on .75, but then they kind of went downhill. Sometimes a dose can go stale on you. We will wait and see if 1.25 might be better for him. Too soon to know yet.
 
His numbers are similar to when he was on .75, but then they kind of went downhill. Sometimes a dose can go stale on you. We will wait and see if 1.25 might be better for him. Too soon to know yet.
Going backwards, poor Corky !
OKI DOKI :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Green? No green? I don’t see one today. Or last night.

I know my mistake, I had some errands to run get their food, by the way I gave Corky 2 tsp of the Chicken Flake and his BG did not go up, he's not doing so bad today, maybe is a start for better days:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Go for green Corky!

I know , he's had an awesome day !! how low is it safe to shoot? just in case, the magic time is near, not forgetting that the insulin kicks in @ 10:15Pm exactly. I am really excited about these numbers:):cool::D:joyful::smuggrin: all these emotions running wild!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
You shot 1 unit. He’s gonna be fine. I just saw this. Sitting here waiting for a play to start— with the family. So I will not be around much. But you know what to do. Don’t panic.
 
You shot 1 unit. He’s gonna be fine. I just saw this. Sitting here waiting for a play to start— with the family. So I will not be around much. But you know what to do. Don’t panic.
Awesom, All is goo Enjoy your family and the play, :joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat: Good night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top