Donna and Flame - We're back unfortunately

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
Hello all,
Many of you probably don't remember us since Flame went OTJ in Spring 2008, but hopefully, there are still some old timers around.

Brief history... Flame became a transient diabetic in 2008 after being on long term steroids for what appeared to be IBD and actually turned out to be intolerance for grains and glutens. A food change to a combo of raw and FF Classic fixed that, I was able to wean off steroids and eventually (after 3 - 4 months) off insulin.

Fast forward to 2016. In May, Flame became very ill with vomiting, inappetence, lethargy, etc. Ended up at the ER vet and then to my own vet the next day, where he was hospitalized for 3 days on fluids, antibiotics, steriods, etc. Ever since then, he's had a recurring problem with sinus/chest congestion, difficulty breathing, coughing. He's been on and off Prednisolone at varying doses and various antibiotics, with a few shots of Dexamethazone thrown in when he was really struggling.

There's more history since May with the breathing episodes, including a diagnostic swab of nasal secretions (normal) , several chest radiographs which showed definite lung inflammation (reviewed by 2 radiologists), a dental which included surgery to clear a bone infection on one side where he'd lost a tooth years ago (this was also causing nasal discharge and sneezing only on one side), another trip to the ER vet for the breathing issue in Sept/Oct. Vet says this is likely feline asthma, possibly chronc infections bronchitis and possibly rhinitis with his sinuses.

So, bottom line is his BG numbers are now in the high 200's to low 300's range (sometimes a bit higher) and I'm being told he'll probably have to stay on steroids. (Yes, I'm home testing even before him going on insulin) However, I am also going to try to Flovent inhaler which supposedly has less systemic side effects than oral Pred. Ordered the Aerocat already.

He's still eating FF Classic - 1 can both morning and evening. Exibiting usual diabetic symptoms - excessive drinking/peeing/increased hunger.
I've been calling around (I live in NJ) for prices on Lantus and Flovent and HOLY COW... talk about sticker shock. The lowest I've found so far is at Costco and that is $417 for 5 pens and the Flovent is $227.
Anybody know where I can get better prices on Lantus (and Flovent for those of you who may have used this)? Probably won't start Lantus until Monday as I'm off next week and can monitor him and with Christmas 2 days away... this is just a sucky time for this to happen.

Also could use a refresher on the test, feed, shoot order? I think I got that in the right order, but it's been a while. Could also use some help setting up a spreadsheet.

I'm also planning to head over to Lantus Land and may just copy and paste this post so I don't have to type it all over again, but wanted to post on Health first to introduce myself and Flame and also because from what I remember, that is the protocol here.

So, I feel like a newbie all over again... the same fears, nervousness and anxiety. Sorry for the long post. I'm not glad to have to be back here, but I'm sure glad you and this board are still here!!

Thanks all!
Donna and Flame
 
A lot of members get their Lantus from Mark's Marine Pharmacy in Canada
RXCanadaforless.com
 
Last edited:
You can also check out the supply closet forum. Members sometimes have insulin to sell. You are right about the test, feed, and then shoot method being the right one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top