Doing the first official all-in-one day BG curve for Joshi

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaraB

Member Since 2015
Finally, a whole day where I can actually do a real curve for Joshi rather than the "here and there" approach. What else is there to do on below-freezing temperature weekend in Iowa? ;)

There hasn't been any big surprises - as suspected, her nadir seems to hit somewhere around 5-6 hours post AM shot. Good timing as one of their normal feeding times falls shortly after. I think her AMPS reading was a little higher than normal (I question whether the reading may have been a bit off and wished I had done retest). These numbers will be sent off to the vet for evaluation.

I'm also taking a bit of a deep breath about cat food - this has been so challenging with 6 other cats besides our sugarcat. For the pate, it seems like the FF and some flavors of Friskie pate are the biggest hits. Finding a chunky variety our pate haters truly like has been a challenge, but I think we've narrowed some choices. Plus, we're going to slowly introduce the Young Again Mature Zero Carb dry for our dry food holdouts.

I'm not sure what insulin will ultimately be the one for Joshi, but I do think we've at least got a dose that is doing something. It seems like like her AMPS and PMPS numbers are trending in the 300's and the nadirs are falling somewhere in the 100's, which I believe someone said was ideal at least for Vetsulin. Physically, she doing great and it shows in her demeanor. :cat: Gotta run...3:30PM pokey time....
 
Last edited:
Good job with the curve! All information is good information. Good luck with the food issue also.If you can have all kitties eating low carb appropriate food, it will make your life easier so that if Joshi were to get into, it wouldn't be that bad.
As far as insulin is concerned, the ones that are easiest to use are Lantus, Levemir and Prozinc ( in alphabetical order) If you choice to change, let us know and we will direct you to the appropriate forum for help.

Keep us posted. And take a curtsey for a good job done! :);):cat:
 
As far as insulin is concerned, the ones that are easiest to use are Lantus, Levemir and Prozinc ( in alphabetical order) If you choice to change, let us know and we will direct you to the appropriate forum for help.

Keep us posted. And take a curtsey for a good job done! :);):cat:

I'll be interested in hearing what the vet has to say. She's been really pleased with Joshi's progress so far, and was really pleased we took the initiative to home test. I think she was so used to people not wanting to do it. I may ask her about some of the other insulins. She and her husband (who is also one of our vets) have diabetic cat of their own, so they know first hand what it's like to deal with a sugarcat. I never did ask what insulin their cat is on or if she is in remission.
 
I'll be interested in hearing what the vet has to say. She's been really pleased with Joshi's progress so far, and was really pleased we took the initiative to home test. I think she was so used to people not wanting to do it. I may ask her about some of the other insulins. She and her husband (who is also one of our vets) have diabetic cat of their own, so they know first hand what it's like to deal with a sugarcat. I never did ask what insulin their cat is on or if she is in remission.
Just keep in mind that Vetsulin is a fast acting and harsher insulin. The other ones I mentioned are longer lasting and more gentle. The Vetsulin can give some real harsh fast drops. And that said, there are cats that do well on it.
 
Nice looking curve today. Not a harsh fast drop and he surfed along for quite a while in the blues, in safe numbers, not too low. If you can continue do, so you'll see if the insulin lasts or whether it is gone early. There is also a possibility that he will bounce up in higher numbers. (A bounce is when their body perceives a blood glucose level lower than it is used to and releases extra glucose. Then the next test can be a bounce into higher levels.)

Looks like the preshots numbers (which are so much higher than the mid cycle numbers) are either bounces or the insulin doesn't last long enough. It is hard to know which as they both look the same.
 
Looks like the preshots numbers (which are so much higher than the mid cycle numbers) are either bounces or the insulin doesn't last long enough. It is hard to know which as they both look the same.

I'm pleased with where the mid-cycle numbers are - just wasn't sure what to think of the pre-shot numbers. Now that I've gotten a bit more level-headed and less freaked out by all this - I can see where this is not ideal. Since Joshi's BG nadir seems to fall halfway through, and the BG numbers seem to rise more dramatically around the AMPS+10 point - based on this is there any good recommendation of the next one to try? What would be the one that has the next longer effect?
 
Lantus is the most used insulin here I think ....it's the only insulin that has a protocol that's been published in a veterinary journal so there's lots of "real life science" behind it

ProZinc is probably second favorite with Levemir running third (probably because using Levemir is still pretty new in cats although it works a lot like Lantus)
 
I did get some feedback from the vet today - they seem pretty pleased with the numbers. As for those spikes before Joshi's shots - I'm hoping some slight diet adjustments might help. Now that we're more aware of when the peaks are are occurring, we can better time the feeding schedule. Baby steps...taking deep breaths. :) Compared to where we were a month and half-ago - I'm encouraged. If diet adjustments don't bring the pre-shot numbers down a little bit - we can go onto the next step.

Thanks everyone - I'm learning so much here!
 
Nice to see a little blue peeking in now!! :cool:

If you want, you can put all those +2.5 tests in the +2 cell....we do it all the time. We just put ### @ +2.5 into the +2 cell and then you click on the little icon along the top that looks like a little bucket of paint tipping over and choose the correct color for the number

There's lots of examples on China's spreadsheet
 
OMG I think I have a stencil cut that will allow me to work on the standard SS.

Ok my Prozinc numbers for tonight are

6:26pm BG 144
9:04pm BG 172
11:43pm BG 182.

I looked in the Prozinc/PZI forum and protocol says if the cat's BG is under 200 with thePreShot test, do not feed, and wait 20 minutes, to see if Dottie's BG goes up. If it does go over 200, then I can give a shot with a bit less insulin than I was planning to give.

I was going to give her .5 units, but perhaps I should give her less? Any Prozinc folks online at the moment? I didn't want to start another thread...feel like I'm hijacking the board with multiple posts. But am I hijacking this thread? Ack, it's out of the frying pan and into the fire. I've been dealing with consistantly low numbers before my proposed test times.
 
Um, did I get the 170 wrong? Should it be +7 because the time is 9:00? Not sure. That would make my final reading for her go into the +9 spot..for midnight here in WNY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top