Doing a bit of a curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Very Active Member
I'm doing a curve on Smoky today using the AT2 pet meter. I normally use the Relion micro from Walmart. My vet wants me to do a weekly curve using the AT2.

Smokys AMPS was 568 and I gave him just under 3.25 units. I have u40 syringes with half unit markings. I'm thinking about getting some u100 syringes and using the conversion chart my vet gave me to fine tune his doses. I use the SLGS protocol as it works better with my work schedule.
 
I'm doing a curve on Smoky today using the AT2 pet meter. I normally use the Relion micro from Walmart. My vet wants me to do a weekly curve using the AT2.

Smokys AMPS was 568 and I gave him just under 3.25 units. I have u40 syringes with half unit markings. I'm thinking about getting some u100 syringes and using the conversion chart my vet gave me to fine tune his doses. I use the SLGS protocol as it works better with my work schedule.
Well! I'm impressed that your vet suggested using U100 syringes and gave you a conversion chart. :) You'll find the dose flexibility very useful.
 
Smoky at 368 at +2 hours. I have a quick question, the color coding on my SS is for human meters. Does that apply to pet meters as well? My old vet gave me the conversion chart and said I was making too much work for myself.;)
 
We don't have a conversion for pet vs human meters. We generally think, based on some anecdotal evidence, that a pet meter might be in the range of 30/35+ points higher but it doesn't translate to every cat or even for every range. But it gives you some kind of vague range to think about. The only clear range we have is for hypos (because it was written by a vet) - 50 is low on a human meter and 68 is considered low on a pet meter.

So we'll just take into consideration your AT ranges when we look at the curve and numbers ongoing. 200 points is quite a drop for +2. We generally think a 50% drop is pretty normal for a nadir. It is still in perfectly safe numbers, but it will be interesting to see if he continues to drop or if he bounces early.
 
Doing a great job with the home testing, Lisa. I hope your new schedule is doing you a power of good. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Update so far with Smoky:

AMPS: 568
+ 2 : 368
+ 4 : 382
+ 6 : 360
+ 8 : 334
+ 10: 361
PMPS : 438
 
Last edited:
He is surfing along. That is good news. (We generally consider numbers 20% higher or lower to be in the same range.). It is good he didn't bounce early or drop low early and then go up.
 
Does the curve say he is high and flat? I've always wondered what the different patterns indicate. I just updated an earlier post with a +8 and + 10 numbers.
 
So far it looks that way; but he is not really going up much. It'll be interesting to see if continues to go down at pmps or if he goes up at some point. Each result will mean different things. If he stays in the pinks and rises a little (or a lot) for pmps, then I'd suggest giving the 3.25 a few more cycles. If he stays in the pinks, raise again after 6 cycles on 3.25. If he continues to go down for pmps but stays above 200, it may mean the dose may be pretty good for awhile. If he'd drop to 200 or below, then the dose might be a smidge high.

In general, you want a "smile" curve - the level slowly dropping for nadir 5-7 hours after the shot and then slowly rising to about the same range as amps for pmps. Course, the kitties don't read about what is "normal".
 
Good data for future reference, Lisa. This gave you an opportunity to see how the AT numbers look. I like Sue's advice.
 
I'm back to using the relion meter this morning. I like the AT2 meter but the strips for it are too expensive. Smokys AMPS was 362 so I gave him 3.25 units again. I'm guessing it would have read higher on the alpha Trak meter. I'm following the advice of quite a few people on here not to try and compare meters.
I don't want to be driving myself bonkers doing that.o_O
 
I'm back to using the relion meter this morning. I like the AT2 meter but the strips for it are too expensive. Smokys AMPS was 362 so I gave him 3.25 units again. I'm guessing it would have read higher on the alpha Trak meter. I'm following the advice of quite a few people on here not to try and compare meters.
I don't want to be driving myself bonkers doing that.o_O
Good move. The AT meter strips are horrendously expensive and you're accustomed to using the ReliOn. No need to compare meter readings. If, at some point in the future, you want to try Freestyle Lite strips in your AT meter let me know.
 
Re the curve: So, to me, Lisa, it looks like the insulin works. He drops. He may need more so he will drop in lower ranges, but If he were mine, I would give 3.25 for 6 cycles and then raise - if he stays in the pinks and reds.

Comparing will drive you crazy.
 
Doing a few spot checks today using relion meter. Smokys AMPS: 362 and
+3 at 228. Is that too much of a drop?

It's not bad at all, Lisa. In a perfect world the nadir would be at +6 and 50% of the AMPS. That would be about 180 at +6 and you're half way there at +3. The number at +3 should be around 270 so he's only a bit lower. Overall, you're getting a very nice response to this dose on its third cycle. Grab a few more tests if you can.
 
Actually I think this is a good sign. He drops early and then surfs along. Much better than dropping early and bouncing. Not as great as a nice safe lower nadir, but encouraging. And even though we'd be guessing at any variance between the two meters, he seems a little lower today.
 
In general, we think a cat is regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in low 100s or double digits at nadir, but not below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. Once regulated, you try pushing a little to get a little lower overall. We consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120, off insulin, for 2 weeks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top