Does this mean I'm giving too much?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I switched to 4u bd last week after being on 3u for months. Looking at the numbers for today, the nadir is at 8 hours. Does that mean that 4u is too much?
 
Looking at your SS you are having a lot of flat cycles. I would say 4u is to much. Lets see what others have to say.
 
Your latest cycle look pretty high and flat. I think I would have increased from 3 units, but not by a full unit. I think 3.5 might be a good idea?
 
In looking at your whole ss it looks like the 3 units was doing a good job when she was eating the 9-Lives, even looked like the 3 units might have been a little to high with the several longer cycles.

The DM food is higher in carbs and you havn't seen a blue # since you switched to it. I see that you are experimenting with Special Kitty but it hasn't changed the #'s much.

I think if I were you I would go back to what was working better, feeding the 9-Lives and 3 units and see if you can get the blue numbers back.
 
Looking at the numbers for today, the nadir is at 8 hours. Does that mean that 4u is too much?

No. A +8 nadir doesn't mean "too much" insulin. Nadirs aren't set in stone. They can happen early or late in a cycle, and don't indicate a dose is too high or too low.

Also, look at the numbers from +5 to +8: 233, 229, 228, 214. Meters aren't "that" accurate. They can be off by as much as 20% (that's close enough for the FDA). If you consider "meter variance", all 4 of those tests can be considered to be just about the same number.


Good observation from Robin! The numbers looked much better when you were feeding 9-Lives. Did your vet suggest DM? It's not a terrible food, but ingredients-wise, it's no better (worse in some cases) than 9-Lives, Friskees, Fancy Feast, Special Kitty, or any other food you can buy off the shelf for a lot less money). Prescription diets like Purina's and Hill's are overpriced, and overrated. Why vets buy into the sales pitch from the manufacturers is a mystery to all of us.

As long as the food is low-carb canned, any brand will do, but if you were doing well on 9-Lives, I think I'd go back to what seemed to be working.

Carl
 
I just bought a bunch of Friskies to try. She got tired of 9-Lives quickly and I didn't see a wide selection that were low carb (<5). I'll see how she does on the Friskies.
 
Have you tried Fancy Feast? Many members have success with it. If you can't find certain food in your store Petsmart & Petco offer buying canned food online. Just a idea ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top