DoDo PMPS 329 3.00 Units - .4 blood ketones

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetheduns

Member
So--

Today we went low, uncomfortably low for me. Luckily I get to work from home and can help him through it.

DoDo got his kitty kollars in the mail today (www.kittykollar.com). It is a bandage/collar for cats with etubes. It is so much easier than bandaging (where I could not really get it so right). He has carolina blue one with paw prints and a manly plaid one. I will have to take a photo of him wearing his new kollar. I need to sew on some extra velcro since DoDo has the big red tube for a feeding tube, but even with the one strip of velcro, the comfort he has in breathing and in keeping the tube out of the way is immense!

Other than that, his vet called today. We talked about how he was doing. I told her about the kitty kollar and that he has some discharge coming out of his stoma for his feeding tube but it does not smell putrid just fleshy which does not surprise me since he is wearing bandages and it is closed all day. He is off of clavamox tonight.

Let's see what else I am nervous that I go into the office tomorrow but my mom will be home with my little fellow so there is that.

We have a follow up appointment with the new vet on Friday at 11:30. I told her I would bring out his checks I have done-- I don't think she is going to want us to leave him to do a curve at her office which is great. :)

Other than that-- I hope tonight we all get some sleep. Last night we all got some sleep without waking up every 1.5 or 1hr so I am hoping tonight is a good one too! I only shot the real true 3.0 units tonight (black plunger on the black 3.00 unit marked line).

I could not get a pee ketone today. DoDo when I put him in the box decided the first time he was just not interested, the second time the same, and the third he decided to poop. So I went for the blood ketone test this evening on his PMPS.
 
if you are ever desperate to get a urine test, try cleaning the box well and adding fresh litter. A "virgin" box is hard to pass up- most guys gotta claim it :lol:

The vet curves eventually become less valuable to you as you get better at doing them at home. They are expensive, and less accurate because kitty is pretty stressed with all those doggies barking nearby. Hope the new vet is on board with that. :mrgreen:


sweet dreams tonight!

Wow- you test way more than me- and thats saying a lot! :lol: get some sleep tonight!

The kitty collar link is very interesting- thanks for sharing.
 
You know Nancy-- the litter box on the poop try was clean! *lol*

And I think that was the only reason why he was like.. hmmm poop!

I test a lot now since that DKA episode and I am so paranoid about him going hypo while asleep.

Luckily for me he just doesn't care as long as he gets his freeze dried salmon treat.
 
Nancy and Cody said:
he has a really sweet face!

You are too kind. My mom said using that picture is not fair to him since he was SOOOOO not happy.

But I just remember when I went in to visit he would for the most part on the crummy days insist on putting his paws on one of my hands. :)

Warmed my heart!!

I checked out your sheet-- you do check a lot too.

I didn't want to do the curve at the vet, but I think she thought I would be like some other diabetic beans and just not ever test at home. :) So she didnt even mention it on the phone which was awesome!

After 4.5k spent on the DKA stuff (glad that this site mentally prepared me that this was NOT going to be cheap.. I just can't imagine spending much more in hospital visits.
 
Beautiful #s today Thursday (at least until the icky 530, ewwww - liver training?). I agree he went a little low for comfort Wednesday. I'd probably consider a tiny sliding scale, nothing with big dose reductions, but maybe reduce to a skinny 3u as the PSs approaches 250? Just a thought, definitely don't want to over-reduce with the ketone threat.

Some people have had a lot of success with as-needed shooting, where, for instance, you could have shot on that 314 tonight (or even sooner most likely), to try to bridge the gap where #s are going high between shots. It can be tricky to get the doses right (e.g. reduce or not for an early shot?), and can be exhausting and require a lot of testing, BUT... since you're already exhausted and testing a lot :lol: thought I'd mention it. It can help even out the curve, and keep them in good #s longer (and insulin in their system more steadily to help fend off ketones), which in many cases can lead to a lot of improvement in terms of less zoom up to high #s. Of course if that was from the A/D it's irrelevant, but if it was from the insulin not really lasting him the full cycle, that's where early shooting can really help. Anyhow, just a thought. :) Personally, I probably wouldn't tackle it, the exhaustion factor is so high.

I liked your post over on that TT thread. :YMHUG:
 
-I agree with Joanna, 530 was definitely a bounce from your recent low numbers, and they will go away, so forget them. (unless he got into Klinger's cake :lol: )

-and I agree that shooting early, as you see the numbers rising (like maybe as soon as you see it at some cutoff, like 280-300) might help, but gets really exhausting. I tried shooting 3x/day and ended up finding he needed every 10 hours, and it got too hard and I gave that up after a week. Some have gone OTJ doing it (Michelle and Prudence Maybe) but most of us give it up... I actually got worse numbers for some reason.

- and I agree you might want to skinny or fatten certain doses based on the preshot being high or low. Hopefully you will see some increasing duration in a week or so.
 
Joanna & Bix said:
Beautiful #s today Thursday (at least until the icky 530, ewwww - liver training?). I agree he went a little low for comfort Wednesday. I'd probably consider a tiny sliding scale, nothing with big dose reductions, but maybe reduce to a skinny 3u as the PSs approaches 250? Just a thought, definitely don't want to over-reduce with the ketone threat.

Some people have had a lot of success with as-needed shooting, where, for instance, you could have shot on that 314 tonight (or even sooner most likely), to try to bridge the gap where #s are going high between shots. It can be tricky to get the doses right (e.g. reduce or not for an early shot?), and can be exhausting and require a lot of testing, BUT... since you're already exhausted and testing a lot :lol: thought I'd mention it. It can help even out the curve, and keep them in good #s longer (and insulin in their system more steadily to help fend off ketones), which in many cases can lead to a lot of improvement in terms of less zoom up to high #s. Of course if that was from the A/D it's irrelevant, but if it was from the insulin not really lasting him the full cycle, that's where early shooting can really help. Anyhow, just a thought. :) Personally, I probably wouldn't tackle it, the exhaustion factor is so high.

I liked your post over on that TT thread. :YMHUG:

The TT thread? Which one was that? I think I can't figure out what TT means.

I am so not sure what happened with the 533. It was just a BOOM out of nowhere almost. I was thinking-- maybe it was with the food-- maybe it was the AD earlier in the day. *sighs* I wish I had the true PMPS.

And even though I gave him his 3.0 units (a nice full 3.00) he just never really went anywhere else. It was weird even though he was so high he was a playful critter last night. I made some Happy Socks and gave Kryck (his buddy) and him two--- and I also sprinkled some catnip in their dishes (then I obsessed about how many carbs catnip could have) and DoDo Played and PLAYED and PLAYED. So when my mom got off of work and saw his numbers-- she called and we basically said- fine we give up lets go to sleep! She said DoDo slept like the dead-- he stretched out horizontally on the bed on his back and pretty much decided the human shouldn't have but so much room. This morning he was demanding dinner-- I didn't get a chance for a ketone reading but we are doing that at the vet anyhow this morning.

It is annoying with his feeding tube slipping (since he popped the stitches) and I REALLY need to add more velcro to my Kitty Kollars since he has the long tube-- although I will ask the vet if we can shorten his tube. DoDo is a tolerant little critter so I don't need the extra length even if I had to feed him through it.

At any rate... I will get in one last test before I leave-- I gave a Fat 3.00 this morning and I am hoping that we will have some decent numbers so with vet stress he wont be so very high!.
 
that's great that he was playing!!!! sometimes when they spend some time in good #s they will go high like that, and then often that whole cycle will be high # - it's their liver overreacting to #s it's not used to. not 100% that's what was happening here, but it's usually my first suspicion after a pretty day in good #s, and then a crazy high... Bix once went from a blue # at like +10 to a black # at +12 and totally freaked me out - if there is no "just cause" for rebound (like true low #s), it's probably liver training (though of course there are other explanations, like HC food sneaking).

Could also be that he is often high at +2 - like you said you don't typically test then, and that can often be their high spot in the cycle, before the shot has kicked in yet. Basically though, I wouldn't worry about it as long as he doesn't start getting stuck in high #s, especially if he is acting like he feels well - hopefully that means ketones are low/gone, and he is getting enough insulin in his system to start feeling well. (Meaning - don't think you need to start testing at +2!!! You might get in an occasional test now and then out of curiosity, but don't lose sleep over it, lol!)

Bix used to play sometimes when his #s were high (but as I was increasing the dose) and it always puzzled me. I think there is some difference between insulin needs and high #s per se, that I can't quite get my mind around. What I've seen stated by those in the know is that ketones are caused by insufficient insulin, not by high #s. It's a weird distinction, but I think there is one, as you see with the happy playing even though the #s wouldn't suggest that.

Anyhow, glad he had such a nice day! Too bad he pulls out his stitches, but if he is having fun, somehow that makes it seem better. :) Hope the vet trip went well.

p.s. TT = Think Tank. On second thought though, I think it was actually a Grief thread - I got the email there was an update but didn't pay much attention to where the thread was.... oops! :oops:
 
p.s. just looked at your SS, I would try a lower dose - hopefully some others will chime in, I'm too tired to think on it too hard, but usually with PZI if you see a drop like that in the cycle to a low +12, that means the dose was too high. Could be some wonkiness due to the vet trip, maybe he didn't eat normally or whatever, but if you don't have a clear explanation for it, I would try a lower dose. Maybe 2.8, but again I'm hoping others chime in. Don't want to see him go high of course.

Also when you do shoot tonight once he is high enough, you may not get as good a response as you normally would because of it being a late shot. Since it doesn't look like he gets much overlap between shots anyhow though, not sure how much difference it will make. Hmmm, maybe a skinny 3? Can't quite get my mind around it. Looks like he doesn't need a fat 3 though - that high this morning was probably a little liver-training-rebound left over and wearing off on its own, so that may have contributed too to a bigger drop today.

It's good news (look at those nice pretty greens! :mrgreen: ) but certainly makes dosing & shooting time uber-confusing!!!!! But still, nice greenies, yippee!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top