DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetheduns

Member
***Edited title thread****
So.....

My little fellow has confounded me again.

I gave a fat 3.00 units

We were at the vet today from right when I took his 327 BG and the 245 was done when we got home.

I checked four hours later and he was 97-- I was assuming he was coming up.

DoDo had a GREAT vet appointment. They were so pleased with his curve (they were going to do a curve at the clinic but when they saw my spreadsheet they even said, well there is absolutely no need). They trimmed his long feeding tube, put in a new stitch, gave me new antibiotics since his granuloma developed on one side of his feeding tube insert and she wanted to be sure no infection was brewing. They loved his Kitty Kollar and even purchased some for themselves today (very excited for Kitty Kollar about that!). Then my vet loved so much on him and said, "This cat just makes me so happy."

She told me she showed him off to everyone in the back since she didn't anticipate him thriving as much as he has since his DKA. She said his little friend that was there at the same time is coming back just a little bit more slowly (they also had a check up this week).

Then PMPS (30 min before shot time-- we have a WHOLE Process here at home medicating two cats, preparing food, testing BG, etc). And he is....

60

What in the world???

What exactly am I supposed to do now??

I have not really ever seen him this low-- (there was a time in July but I actually had to move up his shot time due to another commitment 1.5 early and the shot was given by my mom within 2 hours after he ate).

My plan is to check him in a couple hours.. and give him insulin accordingly-- I don't want us going on some roller coaster with lots of highs tonight especially since we have learned he is sensitive to ketones.

I would have thought with all of the stress at the vet (blood work, new stitches), I would have not seen ANY real good nadirs today.
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

well do not shoot yet. let me look at your sheet.
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

from what i just quickly glanced it looks as if DoDo needed a dose reduction about a week or so ago..when you got 40 something mid cycle. that is a sign that you can cut back a bit. i'm afraid today we don't know if at some point he had a dangerously low # and is climbing back up...or is still dropping (which i admit would be very unlikely)
i would not shoot this...even if he starts to go up. you may have a pancrease at work and seeing several rebound #'s.
or even if you feel you have to shoot if in an hour he jumps up...by all means reduce dose.
maybe even cut in half.
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

here i am again!~ took a closer look at ss.
see that you had ketones and am i understanding a bout of ketoacidoces?
most recently those reds look seriously like a rebound...classic. low green, red.
and if you keep shooting thru it then you don't get a chance to see any recovery from it.
pzi is different than lantus this way.
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

So.....

We are now at almost 2 hours (just below 2 hours) since his PMPS.

He is at 64.

After eating ALL of his supper.

Is it possible that somehow in between the vet visit and everything.. that his pancreas has decided to.. work?
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

lori and tom said:
here i am again!~ took a closer look at ss.
see that you had ketones and am i understanding a bout of ketoacidoces?
most recently those reds look seriously like a rebound...classic. low green, red.
and if you keep shooting thru it then you don't get a chance to see any recovery from it.
pzi is different than lantus this way.

Yes, DoDo was hospitilized for a week with DKA.

I guess I didn't think rebound because in the past-- the rebound would hit us later that day.. not almost 1.5 days later.

I am just beyond shocked that normally dinner shoots him up WAY up.

And now.. we are sitting at.. 64??

I checked my BG (admittedly after eating 2 Krispy Kreme donuts) and it is not the meter. I was 114.

Just.. wow..
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

yep, and i think it started some time ago.
 
Re: Help! Huh?? 10/22 DoDo - AMPS 397 3.00 Units - PMPS 60

lori and tom said:
yep, and i think it started some time ago.

I have to tell you Lori-- that if we are even taking that little trip... I may start to cry...

*lol*

I mean.. I don't even know what to think right now.
 
Re: DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS

So I am doing my homework (I am in grad school as well as working full time) and I couldn't help myself but go test DoDo again.

Besides he ADORES the new Whisker Smackers Freeze Dried Chicken... so he is always super easy to test.

He is 91.

3.5 hours post PMPS of 60 and 3.5 hours after eating all of his LC canned dinner.

I am pretty ecstatic that he is doing so good tonight. :)
 
Re: DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS

ok duh, I have been posting on the wrong thread ohmygod_smile just saw this one. hopefully it's a sputtering panc, but I don't think many cats jump from something like 3u to none overnight (? hoping I'm wrong!!!). So don't be disappointed if you see reds in a few hours, that's probably more likely than anything else.

Lori, she's been sticking with the higher shooting due to the ketones (he's had trace at least for a few days, I don't know what the .4 is exactly on the scale of bad to really bad). I'm thinking some of the rebound #s are liver training, since the #s have been good, not scary, for the most part. Hard to be sure of course, but with the ketones I've advised her to keep the dose since it seems to be working. I think also that some of the 3u's are fats or skinnys but I don't recall exactly. Since the 44 or whatever was on a lower PS, I was thinking that was why.

It's a bit of a tightrope - assuming his #s jump up, I would still go with a solid dose, at least 2.5. If he didn't have ketones there's more room for experimenting, I've just seen so many cats here go high when people reduce their dose by a lot. Of course you don't want to hypo him either - if you are feeling conservative and want to shoot less, just get some data on it, and if you don't see good #s, bump the dose back up on the next shot. I think you shot a skinny 3u the other day and didn't see much action at all, then when you went back to 3u he did great again. So I think you have a good feel for it, so go with what feels right to you.
 
Re: DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS

Joanna & Bix said:
ok duh, I have been posting on the wrong thread ohmygod_smile just saw this one. hopefully it's a sputtering panc, but I don't think many cats jump from something like 3u to none overnight (? hoping I'm wrong!!!). Do don't be disappointed if you see reds in a few hours, that's probably more likely than anything else.

Lori, she's been sticking with the higher shooting due to the ketones (he's had trace at least for a few days, I don't know what the .4 is exactly on the scale of bad to really bad). I'm thinking some of the rebound #s are liver training, since the #s have been good, not scary, for the most part. Hard to be sure of course, but with the ketones I've advised her to keep the dose since it seems to be working. I think also that some of the 3u's are fats or skinnys but I don't recall exactly. Since the 44 or whatever was on a lower PS, I was thinking that was why.

It's a bit of a tightrope - assuming his #s jump up, I would still go with a solid dose, at least 2.5. If he didn't have ketones there's more room for experimenting, I've just seen so many cats here go high when people reduce their dose by a lot. Of course you don't want to hypo him either - if you are feeling conservative and want to shoot less, just get some data on it, and if you don't see good #s, bump the dose back up on the next shot. I think you shot a skinny 3u the other day and didn't see much action at all, then when you went back to 3u he did great again. So I think you have a good feel for it, so go with what feels right to you.

Lori was actually a sweetheart and we talked tonight.... I think I am going to try to do like a fat 2.50 depending on where he is at in the morning...

I know it is probably too good to be true... about maybe his little pancreas decided to come out and play-- BUT maybe that is what is happening too.

Only DoDo's pancreas knows that is for sure.

I definitely do not want to have us going down to 44 again.. I am actually very happy with mid 60s and upward. Although even at 44, he never acted as if anything was bothering him.

I am going to try and get a urine sample tonight-- I have not wanted to play bathroom time with him so much tonight-- he has been chilling out since back from the vet (which was a really good appointment-- we do go back not next monday but the next to check on his neck to see if we need to stitch the stoma a little more).

I will report back if I get a urine sample although I am tending to think we will be negative with how good his BGs have been.

I dont want to stick his ear again until my mom gets off of work.
 
Re: DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS

yes, Lori is wonderful :YMHUG:

do you have another kitty you can test? that will give you an idea of your meter - if your other kitty is something like 45, then you'll know that's a good #.... the meters can vary quite a bit, so I have liked that trick to give me some confidence in what "normal" is for my meter....

have a nice night!!!
 
Re: DoDo --3.5 hours post dinner at 91 - 10/22 DoDo - PMPS

Joanna & Bix said:
yes, Lori is wonderful :YMHUG:

do you have another kitty you can test? that will give you an idea of your meter - if your other kitty is something like 45, then you'll know that's a good #.... the meters can vary quite a bit, so I have liked that trick to give me some confidence in what "normal" is for my meter....

have a nice night!!!

That is a good idea.. I have MANY kitties to choose from. *lol* I have 8 of my own and 1 foster.

Although I attempted to test on my real big boy when he was feeling punky-- (he had been tested back in May) and he remembered it and began horribly salivating and freaking out in general. God bless him he is a scaredy cat. He did the same thing when I brought out freeze dried fish treats to share (I used to give him a fish treat after his clavamox drops).

I will do that in the morning and test a couple. *lol* Hey, at least they will get a freeze dried fish or chicken chunk that can't be all that bad. :)

Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top