3/27 Meat general dosing advice + trace ketones??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Vasalisa, Mar 27, 2024.

1. Vasalisa

Vasalisa Member

Update 3/29 9:50am EST- my first ketone tests yesterday and then this morning are trace positive

Hello!
    I'm hoping for some general dosing advice. I'm a beginner to caring for a cat with FD, we are just learning everything! My first post here was yesterday.

My sweet 15F cat Meat was diagnosed about a month and a half ago.
    You guys have been our life line!! She was already eating Fancy feast classics (with a small amount of kibble) so switching her to the prescribed higher carb food would have been such a mistake! We gradually replaced her old dry food with Dr Elseys. I'm now in the middle of switching to the YoungAgain Zero carb kibble. I'm really just trying to get her off dry all together, even though the Zero is apparently no carbs. I got some more great suggestions for that in another thread so I'm hopeful about those!! She really likes the bonito flakes already so they may work!

I've made lots of mistakes since diagnosis, even after i began to learn what to do. I have been regularly testing AMPS but not PMPS, after some more reading today I see that shooting blind in the PM is not good at all, so we will change our ways and test BOTH as I should have been doing. I also wasn't consistently recording the numbers if they were similar to the previous days.

My vet says her numbers are good, but she is still very thirsty and pees a lot at times. She's lethargic. It seems like her feet hurt sometimes. I know from you guys that these symptoms may mean she is NOT managed.