I would think this requires some trial and error with mid-cycle tests, mostly at night because her PMPS tends to be the low one, to figure out how she responds at different lower pre-shot values to different lesser amounts of insulin. With enough data maybe some decent thresholds can be established that I can use to inform future dosing decisions when I can’t stay up. Would this be a good idea?
Learning to shoot at lower and lower pre-shots is definitely a matter of data gathering, to see how low she goes after a particular dose. There is even a sticky in the lantus ISG, about becoming data ready to shoot the lows. Yeah, yeah, I know you are using Prozinc. But the same theory applies to the Prozinc MPM method.
So, some "homework" for you.
Sticky Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
I think you need to learn to shoot those lower pre-shots for one, the ones <150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L). As you get lower blue pre-shots, and shoot lower than that, after a bit of a stall, to see if the numbers are rising or falling, you could shoot those lower blue pre-shots, under 130 mg/dL(7.2 mmol/L) or 140 mg/dL (7.7 mmol/L), as long as you can monitor.
That is where testing at +11.5 each cycle could come in handy. That would then let you get those +12 (pre-shot) tests and know if Lola is rising or falling.
Not seeing much green at all on Lola's SS. That is where you want her BG's to be, at mid-cycle. Lola really does not get much movement on the dose. Maybe a 20-35% drop. She could drop a bit more, up to 50% and probably not bounce.
If you used the MPM (Modified Prozinc Method), that would allow you to make dose changes more quickly, and would likely be more successful than a sliding scale for the insulin. Dose changes would be every 3-6 cycles, based on the nadir.
Getting those nadirs are key to knowing what a particular dose is doing for Lola. I know that work probably does not allow you to get nadirs during the day some times. I know that setting an alarm and getting up at +5 or +6 or a +7 at night is a pain (PITA) and can be exhausting, but you need to do that on occasion.
Thank You for the tag.
Really busy today doing stuff at home, so didn't get on the board until late this afternoon.
Let me know what you think.