Do I shoot at 129, 146 or wait it out??

Status
Not open for further replies.

pixiesmom

Member Since 2013
Back from vacation and testing Pixie last night expecting him to be at 300 was only 129.
So I waited...1/2 hr. later 154....1/2 hr. later 173...then I felt comfortable shooting.
This morning he was 146, ate 1/2 of his food (only way I could test) and he went up to 249 1/2 hr. later so I shot.

Here's the thing....no way of knowing what his numbers were while I was away, but my friend just shot 2U Lantus every 12hrs.
Only fed 1.5 cans every 12 hrs. No in between snacking.
If he was in the mid 100's when she shot would this be keeping him lower where he is suppose to be?
I am afraid he will go hypo if I shoot 2U while he's 129.

i will try to get a bunch of numbers today and see what he's doing.
I guess I still have that same question of what number is safe for me to shoot?
I know newbies should wait until 200....that's what i am going on right now.
 
Good morning,

What you shoot depends on your comfort level and if you will be available to test frequently between now and the next shot.

There are guidelines on the board viewtopic.php?f=32&t=61797 - and let me quote from them
"There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value."

Sounds like you've been going with option c in the past - and if its been working OK for you - then maybe stay with it - until you have enough data to have a better idea of how your cat's cycle runs.

Em
 
I guess I still have that same question of what number is safe for me to shoot?

Looking back at your results the lowest you have ever shot is 173. So I would make your no shot number 175 for now. I wish you had gotten more readings last night too as it looks like he was dropping and it would have been useful info to see how low he went - under 50 is an automatic dose decrease. Plus the more data you have the easier it is to decide if you should shoot.

Next time you see a low preshot heres what to do - dont shoot, but dont feed either - and stall 30 minutes and retest. You want to see what he is doing naturally without food. Remember also to not feed for 2 hours before a shot for the same reason.

Today stalling was a good idea but the issue is that the rise you saw is food related and he could come back down suddenly when the food wears off. You want him to be rising without the food influence before you shoot. Please get a +2 today if you can and if its a bit lower then get a few mid cycle tests too.

Wendy
 
I don't have any insight to add, but want to say that I faced a similar dilemma this morning and reading this thread was helpful. Thanks, resident experts!
 
Well, I got a +3 reading for Pixie and it was 110 and then I got a +5.5 reading and it was 56.
I don't know what happened to this cat when i went on vacation. He was given 2U every 12 hrs. No testing.

If you look at his SS, this is weird to me. How does a cat who was reading in the 400's all of a sudden go to a 56?

I was planning on coming back and doing a curve to see how much to increase...looks like I won't be doing that now.
Do you think his body is finally starting to regulate itself and get used to the insulin?

In order to shoot I have to give Pixie about a teaspoon of FF canned with water, he does not eat treats.
I am just going to watch this 56 and test again in 1/2 hour. Unless I should be giving food to bring his number up.

Ahhhh...so frustrated right now.
 
He is bouncing.. I am looking forward to that next test.. Let's see how low he goes.

If he goes under 50, then reduce the dose by 1/4 unit next time. And give him some low carb food to see if it brings him up in the next half hour.

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
He is bouncing.. I am looking forward to that next test.. Let's see how low he goes.

If he goes under 50, then reduce the dose by 1/4 unit next time. And give him some low carb food to see if it brings him up in the next half hour.

Wendy

I have only been giving him about 1tsp. of food mixed with water just to test. I thought NOT to give a meal as to see what his body
is going to naturally do.
I will keep doing readings on him all day.
Do you think 56 is close enough to decrease the dose?
Having the amps+6 in the green, as long as it is above 50, is what I am looking for?? Or is it too low?
 
It's up to you but really we like him to drop below 50 to get a decrease. He is surfing right now. No food is necessary yet.. Unless he is hungry of course.
 
His amps+10 is 85.
I wonder what he will be at his pmps.
Is this where you would give him a decreased shot? Like if he is only at 125 pmps do I drop the units? Otherwise, if this
continues this way, there will be more that 12 hours between shots.
 
How's your supply of strips?

And do you have syrup and/or a high carb gravy food?

Are you able to get a few tests overnight if need be?

Let's see where he is at preshot as he might shoot up before then.

Wendy
 
His PMPS was 128.
I waited 1/2 hour and fed him.
No shot.
I am going to test him in another 1/2 hr.

This am when I fed he went up to 249 so i gave the full 2U and he still dropped to 56 during the day.

So i am thinking even if he is up around 200's again i will only give 1.75U.

I can test during the night and have high carb food and honey on hand.

If he is still too low in a 1/2 hour I will be back here checking what to do next.
 
Problem is again you fed him so you don't know if the rise was food but given his last few numbers it looks like he was rising anyway. If the next number is higher i would shoot him the 1.75 and get a +2 for sure.

I am thinking to be safe we assume he dropped below 50 at some point and try a reduction to 1.75 for the next few days.

I will be watching for the +2... Let me know

Edited to add can you update your SS?

Wendy
 
Problem is Pixie was starving and I guess i went with.....c....feed as usual, retest option.

Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value."

What would happen if I decreased the dose to 1.5U instead of 1.75U.?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Edited to add can you update your SS?

Wendy

Where do I add the readings I did at PMPS time, but didn't shoot....it was 128....1 hr later was 166.
The number that goes in the PMPS box should be the number at which insulin was given, correct?

Also, how do you keep on schedule if you keep pushing shots out?
 
Just gave 1.75U PMPS was 193.
Will report a +2 reading and through out the night...especially if he's low.
 
Ok cool. The (c) means you wait two hours for the food to wear off to again see what he is doing without food but that pushes your schedule even worse.

Tomorrow morning see where he is at your old shot time. If he is high pink or red or even black you could probably shoot him anyway. Otherwise you can move back by 1/2hour a day.

Wendy
 
During the night numbers were 197, 161, 159, 130.
Yesterday I shot at 9am so I'll see where he is then. Probably have to wait and maybe
be able to start 1/2 hr. sooner with tonight's shoot if I can.

I shot at 169 this am. he was 169 at 9am and 9:30am.
I will keep a close eye on him.
But I am thinking the reduced dose will be ok.
Fingers crossed.
 
Wendy....
Pixies +9.5 is 75....I doubt he is going to increase enough for me to shoot him early.
Will giving him food (at 4am or 5am) and waiting 2 hours to shoot (6am or 7am tomorrow morning) allow me to be able to
get him closer to schedule?
I am going to have to have him ready by 7am everyday so I will be able to go back to work.
I will not be able to hang around and wait for his BG to rise....
 
You could skip tonite and shoot at 7am tomorrow morning - that would get you back on schedule. But get a test at the usual PMPS time anyway to see how low he is going.

I am loving these numbers though.

Wendy
 
Oh, that sounds WONDERFUL!!
I will check him at PMPS and as long as he didn't shoot up to a crazy number we will
take tonight off and give the poor little ears a rest as well.
Thank you so much for all the help.
I honestly would be lost without you and this board.
 
If he shoots up over 150 then maybe you can give a partial dose tonite to help maintain momentum - say 1 unit. Then tomorrow morning at 7am if he is over 150 again go back to the 1.75
 
He was only 93.
I wonder what he will be in the am without his pm dosage.
I am liking these low numbers.
 
Here I am again. PMPS is 93 so I cannot shoot right now.
I will wait an hour.
At what number will it be safe to give him 1U tonight.

Am wondering if i should drop him down to 1.5U tomorrow.

I was stuck at dr.'s all day today and couldn't get any readings.

PIXIE IS THE POSTER SUGAR BABY FOR AT-HOME TESTING!
 
If you have not feed Pixie any food, you can test again and see if you have a rising number.

Plenty of test strips, HC (high carb) food, can stay up to test if needed?
 
Hour later he is 91.
I decided not to shoot at all tonight.
I may decrease to 1.5U tomorrow and see how that will affect his numbers.
 
You have two options, shoot low or reduce the dose. I suspect that you will need to learn the former if you want to maintain momentum but you can try a decrease first.

Here's tips on shooting low. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

I am also thinking you might want to start posting on the lantus forum. Although you aren't using that protocol, it doesn't really matter and they will be better at advising you on dose and helping you through shooting low.. It's also a great sense of community and I post on there myself a lot.

Wendy
 
Here's how to post on the lantus board..

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Here’s how to post:
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report, or the home you live in and the cat trees some people have)

Subject line: The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 08/17 Pixie AMPS 400 +2 333 + 5 224. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You should update your subject line in the very first post for the day as you get a reading, or whenever you have a question. For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

Contents: The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Pixie was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?

There is no rush to post there. I like to suggest that people go over to their insulin specific support group and check it out. Read the Stickies at the top of the Topics section. Read a few condos posted by other members. Get a feel for how the forum works. See if you think it would be a good fit for you.

But you are always welcome to post here in the Feline Health forum for as long as you want.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top