Do I need to increase my cats dose? 400s in the morning.

Snits

Member Since 2024
I’m at work so can’t respond much atm, but she does relatively good during the day and goes way high at night. Ive heard of Dawn phenomenon. Should I increase her tonight? By how much? I didn’t input it yet but her glucose was 426. I will be gone until 4 and won’t be able to get anymore readings today.

To add, shes on solensia and had her third shot last month on the 25th and just got put on metoclopramide for excessive gas in her stomach. I have read studies that solensia makes some cats blood sugar go way high so I’m going to hold off for her shot this month. She was in remission until now.
 
Last edited:
No one? Okay, I think I'll increase her by .25. Her nadirs haven't been consistently over 200 at all, but she's higher now than she usually is this time of day. I'm thinking it's the metoclopramide built up keeping her high at night. Yesterday was her first day taking it three times a day and it does say to use caution with diabetic cats. Based on numbers tonight will call vet and let them know.
 
dose changes are based on nadir, not on a PS unless the PS is somehow super low.

Leroy got Solensia once. It didn't affect bgs but ECID.

Coming out of remission usually means an infection of some kind or dental issues.
 
dose changes are based on nadir, not on a PS unless the PS is somehow super low.

Leroy got Solensia once. It didn't affect bgs but ECID.

Coming out of remission usually means an infection of some kind or dental issues.
Uhhh, what's ECID? Sorry, maybe I should know.

A lot of cats respond well to solensia but I've seen others say it raised their cat's BG. It also showed some cats developing hyperglycemia on the FDA. It reaches full efficacy after three months, and she's there. All cats are different, so she may be one of these cats. It's worth trying to see if it changes anything. Her vet didn't think she had an infection. She does need a dental, but with everything going on lately I don't know if my vet would use anesthesia on her. Here's the case study on solensia -

Solensia case study

Her nadir was super high last night, but really just last night. She had one blue and then two around 250 which would qualify her for a dose increase, but it's confusing because she only has these high nadirs after her pmps.
 
Last edited:
I used to shoot in low numbers during her first round before her remission. I'm fine to hold her dose, but these high after PMPS nadirs and relatively fine after AMPS ones are confusing.
Yes they are, they should be lower at night as usual
 
Uhhh, what's ECID? Sorry, maybe I should know.

A lot of cats respond well to solensia but I've seen others say it raised their cat's BG. It also showed some cats developing hyperglycemia on the FDA. It reaches full efficacy after three months, and she's there. All cats are different, so she may be one of these cats. It's worth trying to see if it changes anything. Her vet didn't think she had an infection. She does need a dental, but with everything going on lately I don't know if my vet would use anesthesia on her. Here's the case study on solensia -

Solensia case study

Her nadir was super high last night, but really just last night. She had one blue and then two around 250 which would qualify her for a dose increase, but it's confusing because she only has these high nadirs after her pmps.
Could you mistakenly be giving high carbs at PMPS?
 
If you are following SLGS, which I think it appears you are, I would suggest holding the 1u dose for 7 days unless Snits falls under 90 in which case you would reduce dose by 0.25u. What you are likely seeing is some bouncing. I saw your previous question about metoclopramide and was trying to recall some recent members who have used it. Most members find using Ondansetron or Cerenia more beneficial to treat vomiting/nausea, but I do remember some information regarding metoclopramide for motility, I’ll see if I can find it for you.
 
If you are following SLGS, which I think it appears you are, I would suggest holding the 1u dose for 7 days unless Snit falls under 90 in which case you would reduce dose by 0.25u. What you are likely seeing is some bouncing. I saw your previous question about metoclopramide and was trying to recall some recent members who have used it. Most members find using Ondansetron or Cerenia more beneficial to treat vomiting/nausea, but I do remember some information regarding metoclopramide for motility, I’ll see if I can find it for you.

Yes, I've seen It should be used with caution on diabetic cats too. I think I'm going to discontinue it for a bit and see if that makes a difference. It's being used in Snits to rid her of excessive gas in her stomach. She's prone to bloat.

As far as method, I'm not sure. I go back and forth between which one I should use. I changed her from .75 units to a full unit solely because my vet told me to. I know it looks kind of weird on my chart.
 
This is some info..Metoclopramide

I’d be a bit concerned since Solensia is new, I suppose the vet didn’t have any comments about using both and any contraindications?

You have been seeing low blue nadirs and the 91 a few days ago, so might be worth holding the dose; even with TR doses with greens are held for 10 cycles, especially since you’ve just recently started back on insulin and doses have been a bit here and there.
 
This is some info..Metoclopramide

I’d be a bit concerned since Solensia is new, I suppose the vet didn’t have any comments about using both and any contraindications?

You have been seeing low blue nadirs and the 91 a few days ago, so might be worth holding the dose; even with TR doses with greens are held for 10 cycles, especially since you’ve just recently started back on insulin and doses have been a bit here and there.
Sounds good! I’ll stop the metoclopramide and hold the dose thank you.

And no, he didn’t pose any concerns. He actually brought in a specialist to look at her and specialist didnt say anything either, but I’m not sure how much she dug into Snits file. I’m not super impressed with my vet. I’ve not followed his advice several times. I would switch if there were more options around me.
 
You’re welcome, Steph, happy to help. Has Snits actually had any vomiting or nausea? If Snits is having motility issues, rather than using the metoclopramide which can have some not so great side effects, a nice non-med solution to try is dried egg yolk powder. One of our moderators I believe uses Nature’sFarmacy, but I make my own based on this recipe:

Make Homemade Dried Egg Yolk Powder
 
You’re welcome, Steph, happy to help. Has Snits actually had any vomiting or nausea? If Snits is having motility issues, rather than using the metoclopramide which can have some not so great side effects, a nice non-med solution to try is dried egg yolk powder. One of our moderators I believe uses Nature’sFarmacy, but I make my own based on this recipe:

Make Homemade Dried Egg Yolk Powder
Yes, she does! Her vet said it’s because she’s constipated but I keep telling him she actually goes a lot - probably too much - but because she’s prone to excess gas in her stomach he doesn’t always listen. I’ll try the egg powder!
 
Some times the systems gets used to the laxative , I personally switch now and then with Lactulose liquid the same instruction you are given with the miralax, although the Lactulose is prescribed, the vet gave it to me once in a tiny bottle and charged me $40. Now when I run out I ask my primary to send the prescription to the pharmacy and my insurance pays for it. Gotta cheat some times,and is a huge bottle
 
Back
Top