Do I HAVE to lower under 90???

Status
Not open for further replies.

April & Quincy

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone. So I thought I found a decent dose for Quincy...I've been staying at .75 for some time. I just checked him and he's at 73. My question is do I HAVE to lower his dose to .5???? I am so scared we're gonna lose all the progress we've made, what with reaching the 100's on almost a daily basis on the .75. Obviously I don't want to risk a hypo or have him in any danger but I don't want to go to .5 and see a bunch of pink and yellow when it looked like we were making progress. Thoughts?
 
I dont know but the good thing is you have plenty of time for more replies before your next dose. Not bad progress. I see what you mean about losing the progress. Hang on I'm sure more replies to come
Keep up the great work!
j
 
I dont know but the good thing is you have plenty of time for more replies before your next dose. Not bad progress. I see what you mean about losing the progress. Hang on I'm sure more replies to come
Keep up the great work!
j

Thank you so much! It's always nice to hear an encouraging word. It feels like you never do with this disease...just an ongoing fight. Thank you! I'll patiently wait for other's answers!
 
Quincy has also been diabetic for > 1 year, so the reduction does not have to be taken.
"But decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dL (5.0 mmol/L)." I interpret that to mean that a single number <90 does not require a dose reduction. Multiple numbers, a pattern or trend of seeing BG numbers < 90, not only 1 number, but several, are a subtle clue.
When you have data on how your cat responds, the general guidance or guidelines on the reduction point does not need to be strictly held to. This is where "Know thy Cat" comes into play and importance.

Perfectly acceptable to keep in mind that these are general guidelines and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin.

You can always shave a bit off the dose, giving a skinny or fat dose as needed as opposed to the full 0.25U change

TR can be done with a full time job. See this thread. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top