do I have a bad meter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie N Gizmo

Member Since 2014
I tested side by side with alphatrak 2 and relion prime. Alphatrak said 261 and the relion 211. Isn't it only supposed to be about 20 points off? Or maybe this meter just won't work for me?
 
Short version: Pick 1 meter and stick to it.

Long version:
The FDA allows meters to read within 20% of what a lab might get. This means any test is really somewhere between - 20% to +20%, including the AlphaTrak. You do not know if the meter is reading high, low, or the same. The FDA thinks this is good enough for home monitoring.

At low numbers, this is a small range.
Ex a test of 50 mg/dL means the glucose is somewhere between 40 to 60 mg/dL, a range of 20.
It matters at lower numbers because of the risk of hypoglycemia. We set 50 as the cut usual point and most folks use that unless they have data for the cat and a specific meter that shows they can use a different number.

At high numbers, this range is really wide.
Ex a test of 500 mg/dL means the glucose is somewhere between 400 to 600 mg/dL, a range of 200.
It doesn't matter at high numbers - high is high and you'll want to figure out why and what the best strategy is for managing it.
 
...alphatrak 2 and relion prime...

Not a good comparison - Alphatrak is calibrated for pets while the Prime is calibrated for humans. They WILL always read differently. This is why we ask people using an Alphatrak for testing to put "AT" in their title.

Atrak strips are expensive and dependent on the vet having the strips in stock AND being open when you need them. The Prime's strips are much cheaper and available nights and weekends too.

HUGS! Meter comparisons will drive you crazy...
 
You could test yourself with both meters and see what the difference is.

Also, you need to be testing the exact same blood drop.

No, human meters are not only 20 points different than the pet meters. Human meters are usually more like 30% different than pet specific meters like the Alphatrak.
 
It was 90 points off this morning. AT was 299, prime was 211. Big difference. I'm going to stick with the alphatrak. When I called for a refund on the prime, the lady scolded me for using the same blood drop cause one strip even touching his blood even on his ear can contaminate the results. Sounded like a big stretch to me.
 
Jamie N Gizmo said:
It was 90 points off this morning. AT was 299, prime was 211. Big difference. I'm going to stick with the alphatrak....

No, they aren't 'different'. As I explained above, any test number actually represents a range of possible numbers. If the ranges overlap, the 'true' value is likely to be in the overlap.
AT: 299 - 20% = 239.2
Prime: 211 + 20% = 253.2
The low estimate of the AT is < the high estimate of the Prime, ie, the ranges overlap and the test values may be considered the same.
 
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top