Do Daa's PZ Dosing Thread6

Goose asked me in a PM to take a look at the SS and make some comments.

I think the 4U dose is too much, if you have to carb him up to bring his BG levels back to a good, safe level.

Not sure what "custom" dosing protocol Marje has you using. But never the less, I'd reduce the dose to 3.75U for the AM cycle on 8/6/20.

Do Daa will undoubtedly bounce because of the second skipped insulin dose in the last 9 days.(7/28/20 and now 8/5/20). But I'd reduce the dose anyway, and then wait out the subsequent bounce.

A cat not eating well, is often a cause for lower BG levels. Any ketones Goose?

Is 60 your current shoot/no shoot BG number? I remember you had it really low, but forget exactly what it was.

Looking for other opinions folks. So tagging a few people.
@Panic
@JanetNJ


Hi!

He is tested for ketones 2 to 3 times a week and everything is fine according to the little test strip. His Reduction number is 50 and we don't/won't shoot him below 100-110.
 
Hi!

He is tested for ketones 2 to 3 times a week and everything is fine according to the little test strip. His Reduction number is 50 and we don't/won't shoot him below 100-110.
It has been unusually hot (85+) and humid (70%+ ) here lately for about 3 to 5 weeks and he hasn't been really eating a lot partly because of this reason.
 
Do Daa seems to be getting to eat an awful lot of gravy for someone who barely has any numbers under 50.

Ideally you don't want to break out the HC until numbers drop below 50. 51-70 you typically want to maintain with small teaspoons of LC until numbers can stay above 70 on their own. Like previously stated, it also depends on the time when you're seeing numbers below 70 - even though you don't want to use HC at say 55, if you're extremely early in the cycle with a considerable drop from pre-shot, that is when you normally need to attempt MC/HC because you're no where near nadir so there is more drop to come.

If you are being forced to "prop up" the numbers early on with gravy before 50 hits, that's a pretty good indication the dose needs dropped too, even if he hasn't "technically" earned the drop by going under 50. We don't want Do Daa to have to rely on HC food to get by.
 
Do Daa seems to be getting to eat an awful lot of gravy for someone who barely has any numbers under 50.

Ideally you don't want to break out the HC until numbers drop below 50. 51-70 you typically want to maintain with small teaspoons of LC until numbers can stay above 70 on their own. Like previously stated, it also depends on the time when you're seeing numbers below 70 - even though you don't want to use HC at say 55, if you're extremely early in the cycle with a considerable drop from pre-shot, that is when you normally need to attempt MC/HC because you're no where near nadir so there is more drop to come.

If you are being forced to "prop up" the numbers early on with gravy before 50 hits, that's a pretty good indication the dose needs dropped too, even if he hasn't "technically" earned the drop by going under 50. We don't want Do Daa to have to rely on HC food to get by.

Hi.

He's had quite a bit of gravy lately because he isn't eating enough of his FF pate or the Clean Protein dry food, mainly it seems because of the heat and humidity here lately. So instead of relying on the syrup at low numbers, he's been getting gravy to, at the very least, maintain the numbers as they slowly go back up to something safer. We figured that the number would eventually increase and it did: pmps +3 293. A 216 pt increase, but it took a really long time to see any of this actually start to affect his numbers.
 
Last edited:
So is the bigger issue you can't get him to eat the pate as readily as the gravy? Would you have an easier time if you switched his Classics with FF Roasted/Chunky/Flaked? Those are also low-carb.

It's possible too that Do Daa doesn't respond as well to carbs as other kitties and that's why the gravy doesn't bump his numbers up faster. Perhaps he needs a higher percentage to work with (still under 10% but maybe instead of FF Classic's 0-3% he would do better on 4-7%). @Deb & Wink thoughts? Just throwing ideas out.

Or it could just be he needs a lower dose for now. o_O
 
So is the bigger issue you can't get him to eat the pate as readily as the gravy? Would you have an easier time if you switched his Classics with FF Roasted/Chunky/Flaked? Those are also low-carb.

It's possible too that Do Daa doesn't respond as well to carbs as other kitties and that's why the gravy doesn't bump his numbers up faster. Perhaps he needs a higher percentage to work with (still under 10% but maybe instead of FF Classic's 0-3% he would do better on 4-7%). @Deb & Wink thoughts? Just throwing ideas out.

Or it could just be he needs a lower dose for now. o_O

Honestly you got me, I'm a little puzzled myself. We will start at 3.75u in the AM.

So the FF Roasted/Chunky/Flaked are also quite low in carbs but enough to use them as another option?

Lately he hasn't been easily eating the pate and only some of the CP, so to make sure he had something in his system, gravy has been the easiest things to give him as oppose to pure sugar like syrup. The weather like it has been seems to also be playing a role.
 
Here's a picture of the carb numbers (snagged it from another thread from yesterday where we were talking with a cat momma whose kitty refuses pate). They fall under the low-carb category so you could use it instead of Classics pate. What gravy food are you using right now for Do Daa?

upload_2020-8-4_23-54-39-png.55216


I'm curious to see what the lowered dose will do for him. Good luck Do Daa! :)
Yes, the weather sure makes the kitties a little more sluggish to eat. I often can't get my cats to come out for a midday snack, it's too hot for them to bother getting up!
 
Here's a picture of the carb numbers (snagged it from another thread from yesterday where we were talking with a cat momma whose kitty refuses pate). They fall under the low-carb category so you could use it instead of Classics pate. What gravy food are you using right now for Do Daa?

upload_2020-8-4_23-54-39-png.55216


I'm curious to see what the lowered dose will do for him. Good luck Do Daa! :)
Yes, the weather sure makes the kitties a little more sluggish to eat. I often can't get my cats to come out for a midday snack, it's too hot for them to bother getting up!

Thank you for the pic. So the numbers represent what, exactly, as there are no headings over he columns? :)

Currently the gravy he is getting is Friskies Extra Gravy, Chunky with Beef.

Do Daa says thanks! :D
 
Thank you for the pic. So the numbers represent what, exactly, as there are no headings over he columns?
Whoop, didn't realized they weren't included! Numbers are Protein - Fat - Carbs. So the last one is what we're looking at. :)

Okay, so most of Friskies gravy foods average about in the 13-15% range which is only medium-carb. High carb is 18%+ . Usually Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers around 20% is good to keep on-hand for hypo situations.
 
Thank you for the pic. So the numbers represent what, exactly, as there are no headings over he columns? :)

Currently the gravy he is getting is Friskies Extra Gravy, Chunky with Beef.
Whoop, didn't realized they weren't included! Numbers are Protein - Fat - Carbs. So the last one is what we're looking at. :)

Okay, so most of Friskies gravy foods average about in the 13-15% range which is only medium-carb. High carb is 18%+ . Usually Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers around 20% is good to keep on-hand for hypo situations.

We do have many Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers cans here also, just that the cans are so small and obviously don't have the amount of gravy that Friskies does. I didn't know there was that much of a difference between the two, it's good to know. :)

SS Updated.
Red amps/pmps with some blues today. We'll try the 3.75u for a couple of days and see what's up.
 
@Panic , can't see the image you linked at all.

Do Daa is bouncing from no shot last night.
We'll try the 3.75u for a couple of days and see what's up.
Good idea.


p.s. Housekeeping chore. New thread needed please, since this one is at 60+ replies now.
Hate asking, but keep getting bugged about needing people do this.

Thanks Goose.
 
@Panic , can't see the image you linked at all
Still up for me, it's just a screenshot of the FF Roasted/Chunky/Flaked carb info from the Dr. Pierson's chart. All in 4-6% range.

We do have many Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers cans here also, just that the cans are so small and obviously don't have the amount of gravy that Friskies does. I didn't know there was that much of a difference between the two, it's good to know.
Ah yes, with how much you've been using that makes sense. I never went through an entire can during a "gravy time" situation. My civvies always got to finish them.
 
@Panic , can't see the image you linked at all.

Do Daa is bouncing from no shot last night.

Good idea.


p.s. Housekeeping chore. New thread needed please, since this one is at 60+ replies now.
Hate asking, but keep getting bugged about needing people do this.

Thanks Goose.

Yeah, we all figured he was going to bounce.

New Thread done! :)
 
Still up for me, it's just a screenshot of the FF Roasted/Chunky/Flaked carb info from the Dr. Pierson's chart. All in 4-6% range.


Ah yes, with how much you've been using that makes sense. I never went through an entire can during a "gravy time" situation. My civvies always got to finish them.

We have been going through too much gravy for him at the moment.

New Thread7 is up and going.....
 
Back
Top