DKA newly diagnosed diabetes, seeking help

He’s doing pretty good today. Still sleeping more often than not, but he’s eating good and no other symptoms. I did up his dose to 1.75u just now and will keep a close eye on him. He remained in the 300s all day, going up to 381 right before dinner. I will check his ketones when I do my next BG test. I only have one blood test strip left until tomorrow. I also have urine strips on hand.

Thank you all for your support through this, Bron and Marje I appreciate you so much. Mister is my baby, he means sooo much to me. He had a rough start to life and I just want to give him a happy one. I’m going to keep doing everything I can to help him.
 

Attachments

  • 0DAEB524-031F-4F97-896F-0CA94BDEF237.jpeg
    0DAEB524-031F-4F97-896F-0CA94BDEF237.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 7
Oh okay that’s much easier on both of us. I keep a litter box in my bedroom right now so I should be able to catch some. He does seem to be sleeping more today. I struggle sometimes with “are you sleeping because you’re a cat or because you don’t feel good?” His Sub-Q fluids are due in 4 hrs.
I might have confused you and I’m sorry if I did. I didn’t mean for you to increase his dose every 12 hours. I meant you would shoot 1.5u every 12 hours. We want to give him, ideally, 4 total cycles at that dose unless he is showing ketones.

I’d suggest not increasing without checking in here so an experienced member can see where his BG is and if he has ketones.

Since you shot 1.75u tonight, if his BG does not come down, then let’s hold that dose for four cycles and reassess unless his ketones shoot up. If his BG is 150 or under tomorrow, please post for help; it might be appropriate to drop his dose back to 1.5u.

Sometimes subq fluids can cause the BG to drop so keep an eye out for that.
 
Oh I did misread, thank you so much for the clarification! I feel good about that plan. Do cats sometimes need high doses of Vetsulin to be effective? I suppose I’m just used to only reading about lower doses so I’ve been nervous about the increases. I too wondered about the fluids/BG. He’s up and ready for breakfast now so I’ll update through the day
 
425 this morning, one of his highest readings especially after a longer (nighttime) fast. I’ll give 1.75u and be watching him through the day. I wish I had known about Lantus sooner so that it could already be in his system :( Edit: I just found an empty can of his sisters (high carb /urinary tract prescription) food under the kitchen table, there was about 1/3 left and she was eating out of it last night and I forgot to remove it before going to bed. He finished it. Assuming that is why his numbers are higher this morning. I feel so guilty.
 
Last edited:
Just a housekeeping FYI --

We ask members to limit their threads to 50 posts. If the thread gets too long, people stop reading or it's easy to miss important information. You can link this thread to the new one that you start by copying and pasting the URL into the new thread.
 
Just a housekeeping FYI --

We ask members to limit their threads to 50 posts. If the thread gets too long, people stop reading or it's easy to miss important information. You can link this thread to the new one that you start by copying and pasting the URL into the new thread.
Sounds good, I’ll start a new thread when I update about his ketones later. So appreciate you. Have a great day❤️
 
Back
Top