Didn't see that coming....pmps 14.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kate & Toby

Member Since 2019
So Toby is coming down from a bounce and is a lot lower than expected tonight, should I shoot 1.75iu?

I've stalled and am retesting in 10 mins to see if he's rising....

Admittedly i haven't tested as much in last 48 hours as ran low on strips but i have a new batch so can test all evening if necessary.

Thank you in advance for your advice x
 
@Kate & Toby
Hi Kate,
Just looking at your SS I see you skipped the AM dose as Toby was 3.4 (61) then 3.8 (68) at AMPS.
I can't see what dosing method you are using but reading over on the Prozinc page @MrWorfMen's Mom said if you dropped below 90 to reduce the dose so I imagine you are doing SLGS method.
Would you mind popping you are doing SLGS into the signature please when you have a minute. Thanks.

Also I noticed last night Toby dropped to 4.2 (75) at +7 and you didn't test after that. Then at AMPS he was 61 so we don't know how low he may have dropped after the +7. To keep To y safe, always test again if you get a falling number like that to make sure it is on the way back up.
 
@Kate & Toby
Hi Kate,
Just looking at your SS I see you skipped the AM dose as Toby was 3.4 (61) then 3.8 (68) at AMPS.
I can't see what dosing method you are using but reading over on the Prozinc page @MrWorfMen's Mom said if you dropped below 90 to reduce the dose so I imagine you are doing SLGS method.
Would you mind popping you are doing SLGS into the signature please when you have a minute. Thanks.

Also I noticed last night Toby dropped to 4.2 (75) at +7 and you didn't test after that. Then at AMPS he was 61 so we don't know how low he may have dropped after the +7. To keep To y safe, always test again if you get a falling number like that to make sure it is on the way back up.
Hi bron, thanks for your reply. I honestly dont know what method I'm using, I've read a bit about the methods but I'm still unsure. I'm trying to keep to a new dose for 6 cycles before changing if that helps.

I did a test at +7 last night as previously and consistently +7 was his nadir and as I'd fed him thought ok. I can always set an alarm and get another test in, I feel awful now as he may have dropped lower
Yes I skipped this morning. Am I right in thinking I need to drop again, or do I hold for a couple more days?

Thanks again and apologies for being a clutz and asking loads of questions x
 
Wow! Toby seems to be on a mission these days. He definitely earned a dose reduction to 1.5u with those lower greens today. He may again bounce to higher levels from the skipped shot and those lower numbers but keep the dose at 1.5u for the moment unless he drops below 5mmol again in which case, he'd earn another reduction.

When Toby has had higher BG and then you suddenly see much lower BG, it likely is the bounce breaking and is a hint that a little more monitoring is needed to ensure Toby doesn't drop too low. While testing with those high BGs seem rather futile, and testing certainly doesn't need to be done as often, don't get complacent. Test once during the cycle when possible just so you can catch any signals that things might be changing.
 
Thank you Linda, it's definitely an improving trend which I am pleased with, noted re dose and will continue as you suggest.

I sent his spreadsheet to the specialist this morning and she was pleased and only added

"I wonder if his widely variable insulin sensitivity may reflect his diet and perhaps resolving pancreatitis - as inflammation resolves cats tend to become more insulin sensitive. Some cats eating a high protein diet can experience diabetic remission. "

She had indicated that his pancreatitis was historic and not currently an issue, but from what I've read it sort of grumbles away in the background all the time.

Thanks again.
 
Chronic pancreatitis may very well be grumbling along in the background but most cats seem to have times with no issues and BG control is much better. When there is a flare BG rises and numbers get harder to control. It could very well be that Toby's pancreatitis flare has finally totally subsided causing the change in his BG and insulin requirements. All you can do is follow the numbers and observe behaviour for any signs of a flare so you can offer supportive care ASAP if and when the need arises.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top