Did we give the right dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb M

Member Since 2015
We're 2.5 weeks into Prozinc with Tigger.
He's had some very high morning numbers this week, and last night we gave him a little more than normal (1.4)
This morning he was 132. We gave him half of the normal dose @ 0.6.

I didn't want to give him too much to crash him, but I'm concerned he will bounce back up and have a high number tonight. What would you have done with these numbers?
We'll check him at +4 and +8 to see how he's doing.

See Tigger's Chart

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1KAZC1wtcxDQ8fvbJCl1eTAdMFWHDIf-PIl7DZRXjk5g/pubhtml
 
I'm so glad you'll be around to check. You ask what would I have done? I would have skipped the shot, personally, because you don't have data to tell you what Tigger's numbers will do shooting that low. BUT, it's done now, and you'll be around to monitor, which is perfect. This will give you a start in getting the data you need to know what to do at a low pre-shot number.
 
It'll be interesting to see where he goes with those numbers. Could you get a +6 maybe? That would be around nadir probably and if we could see how low he goes that will help see what that kind of dose dose with that kind of number.
 
02/11/15
AMPS=132 / Shot 0.6
+4 = 121
+8 = 364
PMPS=545 / Shot 1.6 (Highest reading ever)

2/12/15
AMPS=114 / Shot ???

I don't quite understand the biological rhythm...
We started the day in good territory then ended with the highest reading since we started.
Is his body over compensating?

Our thoughts:
A) Small shot of .4 and test at +6.
B) No shot and test at +6.

Any suggestions?
 
Just a guess of what happened:

Tigger might have dropped low between the +4 and +8 and bounced back up to your high pre-shot. So yes, I think it was over compensating. Shooting 1.6 was actually too big of a dose since you have an unshootable pre-shot this morning.

I think you need to skip the shot now so you have a shootable PM number. And we need to find a happy medium dose for Tigger that won't cause him to go too low and have a long cycle. Hopefully someone more experienced can help you with dose advise.
 
We generally advise you not shoot below 150 mg/dL on a human meter when using ProZinc or PZI, so for tonight, skipping is probably best.

That said, here's some of what I'm observing and thinking.
A pre-shot of 345 dropped to 179 (166 mg/dL) at +8 with a dose of 1.2 units. The glucose may have been a bit lower in the +5 to +7 range.
So, as an estimate, you might figure that 1/4 of that, or 0.3 units, could (not would) drop him at least to 41.5 mg/dL, if not a little bit more.
And I'd be conservative round down to 0.2, since he could have gone lower on that 1.2 units.
If your pre-shot was 114, it might be safe to shoot 0.2 units ... but I'd want to monitor heavily, maybe every 2 hours, and have Karo and high carb gravy food on hand, just in case he decided to pull a submarine on us (dive, dive, dive).
 
Thank you all for your advice while we're trying to understand this.
We did no shot this morning.
@ +6 Tigger tested 317.
PMPS = 355.
We're 1.0 unit. Does that seem like a good choice? It's all pretty confusing...
 
I think the 1.0 unit was a great choice. If you keep getting preshots in the 300s, I would hold that dose for at least another 2 cycles and then slowly increase (0.2 units at a time) from there if you're getting mid cycle tests that show Tigger has room to go lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top