Did I mess up today already?

Status
Not open for further replies.

manxcat419

Member Since 2015
I had to drop hubby off at the airport early this morning. And I just got home and realized I forgot to take the food away from Rosa before we left so there's no 2 hour window without food before her shot this morning. I don't know if she ate anything or not while I was out. Did I just mess up her numbers for the whole day? I didn't even manage to get a bedtime number from her last night as everything was so disrupted with trying to get him ready to go. The next few days are going to be tough as it is - our housemate will be gone from Friday morning to Sunday night and is at work until about 8pm this evening so I'll be completely on my own all weekend. I'm already worried because she cried at me when I got home - it might be because she expected me to be gone too and is pleased to see me come back (we've never gone anywhere separately since I got here just over a year ago - 3 years of airport goodbyes when I was still in the UK were enough for a lifetime for us really) or whether there's something bothering her. I know it's stupid but I just feel really alone and like I'm going to seriously screw something up for her even though I'm the one who's been doing her shots and tests anyway. I really don't need to be making mistakes like this already. :(
 
Things happen. Are you free feeding is that why you take food away two hours before shot? I would just give normal dose if BG is as expected and she eats some before shot time.
 
Yeah, I've been letting her free feed on low carb wet food as she'd always free fed on dry before so she doesn't like eating a big meal all in one. Most of her readings have been 600+ until last night when I got a 515. I guess if she's that high it's safe to shoot whether she ate when she shouldn't have done or not?
 
Thank you. I'm just second-guessing everything I KNOW I should know at the moment. I guess I might be looking for a lot of confirmation and reassurance from people over the next few days. Between trying to keep one of the housemate's cats from eating plastic (his absolute favorite snack in the whole world - to be vomited up 5 minutes later), CKD kitty (Shadow) and Rosa I've got a fair amount to deal with all at once when I'm used to having help available.
 
OK, just did her pre-shot test. 591 so not pretty, but at least I wasn't greeted with a "Hi" this morning like the last few days. I guess I just need to breathe and calm down. Sorry for freaking out. And she's hungry - probably explains why she cried at me too.
 
Hi

Don't worry about the food. It just meant that the blood glucose test may have been affected by the food. It certainly wouldn't have ruined the whole day.

Is rosa now on wet food only?

Make sure you keep posting over in the lantus forum. Members will be able to advise about when a dose increase is required.
 
Hi and thanks. She seems fine and didn't test higher than she has the other days. She was pretty hungry when I fed her so I don't think she could have eaten much if anything while I was out. I just had a 'moment' because I'd done the whole airport thing and then had to drive back home on I-5 which even after being here over a year I hate at the best of times (and 7am is far from the best of times on that road). Then I saw the food still down and just about lost it for a bit.

She's wet food only now - or at least unless Regan ever went back to her old trick of hiding mouthfuls of dry food to be saved 'for later'. Later could be weeks or months later and she'd be delighted when she got near enough to the hiding place to smell the food and 'find' it. I can't rule out the odd slip up with something like that, but she's only being given wet food with no obvious access to dry any more.

I was just advised earlier today in the Lantus forum that as she's on a high, flat curve I can increase her dose by 0.5 units starting from tonight - she'll have had 10 full cycles by then though only with test results for 6 of them. I'm going to start her on that at her evening shot and hopefully see at least one number down from black to red in the next few days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top