Did I make the right move?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haylee&Tigger

Member Since 2020
Tiggers AMPS was 108! According to SLGS this means don’t give insulin. I wanted to keep on our set schedule so I skipped his shot and fed him. I just tested him at +2 and he’s at 469. I know it’s a spike because of food and I know that according to SLGS I am following the protocol correctly in regards to that pre-shot number however, would it have been better for me to have given him his shot anyways to balance this spike and all out? Did I make the right move?

Also, I think I could be ready to use the Modified Dosing method. I am usually always readily available to test Tigger and be there for any implications but there are rare instances when I’m not. Knowing that I am usually available. I wonder if I made the right move or if I should just wait and see what happens throughout the day.

I know stalling was an option but I want to keep his set schedule.
 
Hmmm.... I think you do have a little wiggle room with Prozinc, so you had the option of stalling, shooting a half-hour later (if safe), and then returning to your normal shot time in the evening. With your frequency of testing, I think you could even have gone farther off-schedule this morning. The worry is just that your evening shot is less than 12hrs after the morning shot, it can possibly act like a little dose increase, but since you test so much, you would have been able to keep him safe. It's your choice in this situation, though, so skipping as you did was definitely an option.

The only other thing you might do in this kind of situation is to re-test the number, just in case it was a wonky strip. That +2 makes it look like it might have been... but on the other hand, he was in blue last night so maybe not, he might have just gotten his jet-pack on and was about to fire it up at AMPS!

Nice to see those blues, in any case!
 
One thing I forgot to mention is that he ALWAYS will eat for me, like he always always eats his food so I wonder if feeding him then giving the shot a half hour later would have been something to try. Also I was thinking that the +2 was because he ate so it spiked him up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top