Did I do this right? Low number at +11

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
Yesterday I bought some fresh insulin and gave Ebby her 1 unit dose in am. When I checked her at +11, she was at 113. So, I waited 2 more hours and checked her again, and she was at 220. This was an hour later than her normal PMPS would be. I did give her a shot, but since this was lower than usual, and fresh insulin, I only gave her .5.

So, how are these lower numbers handled. Do we adjust the dose in cases like this or give the normal 1 unit? Her +6 last night was 148, and now this morning at +9 she is back to 357. I'm assuming I should go back to the 1 unit now, but how do we know this new insulin isn't a lot stronger?
 
This is a new vial of ProZinc or another type? If ProZinc, you look fine. The number this am may have been a bounce from yesterday but one unit should be alright. I'd test at +3/6 if you can, so you have more data going forward and so you can see if she does drop low. If you get some info today, you'll feel better once the work week starts.

Yes, you did right - wait without feeding and retest. If rising and above 200, shoot regular dose or a tiny bit lower.
 
In general, how you adjust the dose and when are dependent on two things.
Type of insulin.
And whether you are following an established protocol for that insulin.
You did the right thing in stalling until the number rose. And in lowering on the first shot from a new vial is a good idea.
So, which insulin is it?
 
Low pre-shot numbers suggest a dose reduction may be in order. When you switch to a new supply, you may need to reduce due to potency differences, as you've noted.

Your signature doesn't indicate what insulin you are on; perhaps you might update that, using the controll panel at the top of the screen.

Looked up your prior posts and see you are using ProZinc.
 
Wow, thanks everyone for the quick response! Yes, this is the same type of insulin (ProZinc.) It's just a new/fresh bottle. I will go ahead with a 1 unit today and check at +3 and +6. I hope this dosing gets figured out soon...yesterday she acted so happy and healthy. I want that Ebby back!
 
Re:Low number at +11 Now amps was 518!!

This amps was 518. I don't know whats going on. Just getting discouraged.
 
Looks like a bounce. Remember when their body senses a lower number than they have been experiencing, it releases extra sugar. Often you see a high number after some lower ones. Just keep on doing what you are doing. She should be coming down again.
 
Thanks, I'll stick with it. She just came downstairs and did a "happy" meow, so maybe she's already feeling better. I'm going to make some coffee, and maybe go for a walk. This is all getting to me a bit.
 
Sending you a few hugs {{{{{{hugs}}}}}}.

This can be emotionally, spiritually, physically draining. A walk sounds like a great idea to help refresh and renew you to help your kitty better.

Thank you for adding that meter. Now that I know you are using a human glucometer, I'll go look at your spreadsheet and see if I see any patterns.
 
You've been getting some nice blue nadirs. You even had to stall the shot 1 hour last night because Ebby was too low to shoot at +12. Looks like the pancreas is doing some healing with those two circumstances I mentioned occurring. Positive news.

This can be a slow process, to find what works for your cat since, ECID.

For future reference, I would not wait a full two hours to retest if the pre-shot is too low. Every 30 minutes would be better. That way, you can catch the rise quicker and get the insulin into Ebby to help bring the numbers down sooner. Even Prozinc takes a will before onset occurs, so there will be more of a rise between the time you do end up giving the shot and the onset.

Typical onset for prozinc in cats is between 1-4, peak 4-8, duration 6-24 hours. We just need to pin some of these times down for Ebby.
 
I LIKE big bounces.. um. What I mean is that it could indicate the dose is too high. Which is a good thing I think because maybe it means the pancreas has healed a little. get a few more tests in and see if you can catch that low :mrgreen:

Always look on the bright side! You are doing great and it sounds like Ebby is feeling fine. Dont get too caught up in the numbers - her behaviour is important too - you might want to note that in her SS.. it shows you progress too!
 
Re: Re:Low number at +11 Now amps was 518!!

MelissaEbby said:
This amps was 518. I don't know whats going on. Just getting discouraged.

Don't get discouraged :YMHUG:

It's just a number. One number out of many, and all it represents is a snapshot of where the BG is at that specific moment in time. It's hard, but try to step back and look at the big picture instead on the small one. And one way to do that is what we call the "whole cat report". How's she acting, how does it look like she's feeling? The "5 P's" we also call it. Purring? Peeing? Pooping? Preening? Playing? Compare how those things are compared to a week or two ago. Do you see improvements overall? Does her coat look better? Is she peeing less often or in smaller amounts? You can observe a lot beyond what the meter is showing you.

And on those days where the little picture discourages you? Do exactly what you said earlier.
I'm going to make some coffee, and maybe go for a walk. This is all getting to me a bit.

Take a break, get "away from it" for a while. One thing I've read here often : "She didn't get sick overnight, and she won't get 100% better overnight either". Take encouragement out of the little improvements that you do notice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top