Diablo 1/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachrp

Member
AMPS 250
+3, 328

Started out great then a big jump. Not sure what this means... too much insulin?
 
Possibly. Any time you get a number that seems odd, it's wise to retest, just in case it's a wonky reading.

If you can get a midcycle reading (and it is higher than the preshot) it could mean the dose is too high. As Robin said, it could be an inverse curve.

Did you feed the FF classics this am? Would be interesting to note if he is a kitty that rises higher than generally expected with any low carb food or if it is particular brands or flavors. (I know these questions are a pain, but it is all part of that data gathering. The more you learn about Diablo and how he reacts to food and insulin, the better you can adjust for his unique needs)
 
He had FF this morning as well as last night. He hasn't had issues with raised BG from FF yet, only Friskies. The days we had blue numbers he had FF as well.
 
Can you check at +6? This could be just that "onset" hasn't happened yet....
Carl
 
You could start including what brand and flavor of food he gets in the comments so you can refer back and see if there are any patterns with food and bg's. That was how I realized the Friskies raised Harley.

Also back in 09 or 10 FF changed their formula and sent everyone here scrambling because the new formula was raising bg's for some kitties but not for all of them, Harley got raises on them too so I had to go searching for new foods. But first I ran out and bought every case of the old FF I could find :lol: it bought me a little more time.


He didn't complete an inverse cycle last night because he stayed high, we'll just have to see what today brings.
 
I think friskees might have added rice to some flavors last year too, and some people mentioned it seemed to give them higher numbers.
Carl
 
Hi!

I have been reading your post throughout weekend-- you do have some interesting numbers the last few cycles. I, like Robin, was looking for an inverse curve that never developed. I also, suspected the friskies as the culprit, but who knows!

I went back and looked at my Chewy's SS, as his situation seems very similiar to Diablo's to see if I saw anything in his numbers that might shed some light on Diablo's numbers. First off, I Never Fed Chewy anything but Fancy Feast- so I know there was no food induced readings. But, I found it interesting, that when I initially changed his food form dry to wet, he decreased very nicely on one unit- like Diablo. But, after a few days he started having flat cycles-- just like Diablo is doing. In my comments, on his SS, it is reflected that I didn't know what was causing the cycles to flatten out. But, it appears, that an increase was in order for Chewy. I increased to 1.2 and got little positive results, so after a couple of days- when I knew I would be home to test, I increased to 1.5 units. After a few days, he started coming down very nicely and I had to start back reducing his dose withing days.

Now, was the 1.5 a "BAM" dose, or did it just take him time to clear all of the carbs? I have no idea, but it did appear that he needed more!

I am not sure that any of this is relevant to Diablo- but, I wanted to share it. You might want to glance at Chewy's SS in my signature.

I know that Every Cat is Different (ECID) but, sometimes we are able to gain some thoughts from comparing Spreadsheets!

You are doing Great! Good Luck!
 
Ummmm....that will be interesting. Actually, I hope it is inverse, because that has the "simplest" answer! Inverse normally indicates too much insulin. It will be interesting to see where he is in four hours.

We just need to remember the 20 percent variance and be sure it is not just flat.
 
I would have voted "aye", but it looks like you've already given 1.0? See what the morning looks like, and maybe think about 1.25u then?

Carl
 
I guess you raise the dose. Did you get the U100 syringes? You could go to 1.25U.

It doesn't make sense that he had 2 great days and then 2 bad ones.
 
Yeah, I didn't want to wait too long before giving him his shot. Has anyone ever noticed a difference between FF flavors and BG? I have mostly given him chicken so far, but I did turkey & giblets today.
 
Sorry, overlooked your question. I did get the U100 syringes. They have the right markings (I think).
 
Dr. Lisa's chart lists chicken at 4% and turkey/giblets at 3%, so it shouldn't be the food causing the numbers.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top