Leo-Misty
Member Since 2018
Hello! Firstly, this forum has been a great help every since Leo was diagnosed with Diabetes, so thank you! I could not post for a while, but finally managed and Idjit's mom asked me to post in this main forum (thank you.)
Sorry in advance for the really long post..
Leo is around 13 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes (BG 343) a couple of months ago after a period of weight loss (went from 4.5 kg to 3.2 kg!) and vomiting. The vet started him on Mixtard 1 unit/day and he responded well so he asked us to increase to 2 units/day. Along with this, he put Leo on Diamel syrup 1ml twice a day, which we mix into his food. Leo has been on urinary s/o diet due to his recurring cystitis issue so the vet asked us not to change his diet yet. But we have introduced one meal of wet food (also urinary).
Within a week of increasing the insulin dose from 1 to 2 units/day, his home testing started to show very stable readings of around 90. We decreased to 1 unit and BG still remained low so stopped the insulin but continued the Diamel and his readings have been stable between 80-95 for over a month now!!
He does seem better - his coat has improved a bit but not fully back to normal- he throws up a lot less and in general is in better spirits. But his weight gain has been minimal. He had dropped quite drastically in a short span to 3.2 kg, then stabilized but is still around 3.3-3.4 kg. His coat still does not look like it used to when he was healthy, despite regular brushing...After his weight loss, I can feel his ribs when I stroke him
Still checking BG at home regularly and it remains stable. I wonder if the Diamel is helping stabilize the levels (?)
I have two questions:
1. How long would it typically take for cats in remission to gain back the weight? Should his weight be increasing at a faster pace?
2. I am trying to increase his wet food intake but since he has the urinary condition, I am sticking with Royal canin urinary s/o (which is now thankfully available as wet food).
Has anyone dealt with a diabetic cat who also has cystitis and therefore needs a urinary health diet?
I also have another cat (Misty) who also coincidentally needs to be on urinary diet, and does not like the new wet food much so she still has the royal canin urinary s/o dry. I am also concerned that being on this dry food might make her prone to diabetes. She is now 6.
Having read so much about wet vs dry food, I would like to switch them both to wet food, but am very worried about moving away from the urinary diet as they have both had severe episodes of cystitis in the past.
Thanks for reading, and I look forward to your advice.
Sorry in advance for the really long post..
Leo is around 13 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes (BG 343) a couple of months ago after a period of weight loss (went from 4.5 kg to 3.2 kg!) and vomiting. The vet started him on Mixtard 1 unit/day and he responded well so he asked us to increase to 2 units/day. Along with this, he put Leo on Diamel syrup 1ml twice a day, which we mix into his food. Leo has been on urinary s/o diet due to his recurring cystitis issue so the vet asked us not to change his diet yet. But we have introduced one meal of wet food (also urinary).
Within a week of increasing the insulin dose from 1 to 2 units/day, his home testing started to show very stable readings of around 90. We decreased to 1 unit and BG still remained low so stopped the insulin but continued the Diamel and his readings have been stable between 80-95 for over a month now!!
He does seem better - his coat has improved a bit but not fully back to normal- he throws up a lot less and in general is in better spirits. But his weight gain has been minimal. He had dropped quite drastically in a short span to 3.2 kg, then stabilized but is still around 3.3-3.4 kg. His coat still does not look like it used to when he was healthy, despite regular brushing...After his weight loss, I can feel his ribs when I stroke him
Still checking BG at home regularly and it remains stable. I wonder if the Diamel is helping stabilize the levels (?)
I have two questions:
1. How long would it typically take for cats in remission to gain back the weight? Should his weight be increasing at a faster pace?
2. I am trying to increase his wet food intake but since he has the urinary condition, I am sticking with Royal canin urinary s/o (which is now thankfully available as wet food).
Has anyone dealt with a diabetic cat who also has cystitis and therefore needs a urinary health diet?
I also have another cat (Misty) who also coincidentally needs to be on urinary diet, and does not like the new wet food much so she still has the royal canin urinary s/o dry. I am also concerned that being on this dry food might make her prone to diabetes. She is now 6.
Having read so much about wet vs dry food, I would like to switch them both to wet food, but am very worried about moving away from the urinary diet as they have both had severe episodes of cystitis in the past.
Thanks for reading, and I look forward to your advice.