Diabetic remission but still no weight gain..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leo-Misty

Member Since 2018
Hello! I have been following these forums closely ever since my cat got diagnosed with diabetes, but was not able to post until now. Hoping this one goes through...

Leo is around 13 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes (BG 343) a couple of months ago after a period of weight loss (went from 4.5 kg to 3.2 kg!) and vomiting. The vet started him on Mixtard 1 unit/day and he responded well so he asked us to increase to 2 units/day. Along with this, he put Leo on Diamel syrup 1ml twice a day, which we mix into his food. Leo has been on urinary s/o diet due to his recurring cystitis issue so the vet asked us not to change his diet yet. But we have introduced one meal of wet food (also urinary).

Within a week of increasing the insulin dose from 1 to 2 units/day, his home testing started to show very stable readings of around 90. We stopped the insulin but continued the Diamel and his readings have been stable between 80-95 for over a month now!! He does seem better - his coat has improved a bit, he throws up a lot less and in general is in better spirits. But his weight gain has been minimal. He had dropped quite drastically till he reached 3.2 kg, then stabilized but is still around 3.3-3.4 kg. His coat still does not look like it used to when he was healthy, despite regular brushing...After his weight loss, I can feel his ribs when I stroke him :(

Still checking BG at home regularly and it remains stable. I wonder if the Diamel is helping stabilize the levels.

I was wondering if it really does take this long for cats in remission to gain back the weight. Not sure if we should do something more or maintain status quo and wait. Has anyone else seen their cat gain back the weight after remission? How long did it take? Thanks!
 
Good morning and welcome Misty and Leo. I'm sorry you had trouble posting before, our filters have been tightened up to prevent spamming, and sometimes interfere with brand new users. But, I'm glad you persevered and I'm glad to see you. I suggest you take the questions you asked to the Main Forum, more eyes to see and get you some responses. I am providing a link to that forum here: Main Forum
Research tells us that wet low carb food is the best for diabetic and all cats actually. There is an excellent source called catinfo.org that explains what cat nutrition needs are. In fact, I found this board in a link through that website.
Since Idjit was diagnosed, and went on a completely wet cat food diet, with very short insulin support, he is also in remission. His weight stabilized, his fur is silky and he has so much more energy. Dry food is not good for cats.
 
Welcome! Mia gradually gained her weight back. It took several months before she was back to where she should be, but she was gradually gaining the entire time. The texture of her coat started improving right away, but again, it was somewhat gradual at first. She is on a high-protein, low-carb wet food diet. Mia is not in remission, she is still on insulin.
 
Thank you so much! I will post on the Main forum as well. Am trying to get Leo to eat more of the wet food so that he can be switched over but he does not eat much of it. I also have another cat (Misty) who does not like the wet food at all! Both of them need to be on a urinary diet...
 
Hello again, I had posted about Leo a few months ago (insert link). Leo is about 13-14 years old, was diagnosed with diabetes earlier this year as he lost weight rapidly going from 4.5 kg to 3.2 kg. At the same time, we tested him for thyroid which came out normal.

He was briefly on insulin for a few days but his diabetes went into remission quickly and he's been off insulin for over four months now. The vet prescribed a supplement called Diamel which is mixed into his food. We monitor his BG weekly and his readings are always steady between 85-95. The problem is, he is still not gaining any weight and we are worried. He is eating quite well, though always looking for food, and active although more recently he is having trouble jumping up onto high surfaces.

He's primarily on wet food now. We feed him small frequent meals and give a combination of wet royal canin urinary s/o diet and regular wet food like whiskas as he has been prone to cystitis.

I have no idea why he's not putting on weight. He is around 3 kgs now. Any advice would be highly appreciated.
 
Has your vet checked Leo's thyroid levels? Hyperthyroidism can cause weight loss and an inability to put on weight. If not, that might be something to pursue with your vet. :) It can be treated with medication.
 
Has your vet checked Leo's thyroid levels? Hyperthyroidism can cause weight loss and an inability to put on weight. If not, that might be something to pursue with your vet. :) It can be treated with medication.
Yes... And his thyroid levels are fine.. Which is why we're puzzled.
 
Glad your vet has already checked the thyroid. Nothing else specific comes to mind. If Leo is eating, drinking, peeing, pooping and preening in normal fashion and it's just lack of weight gain that concerns you and he's not still losing weight, then perhaps that's just where his body feels "normal" now.
 
Thank you for your response. Probably so... But was hoping he could have gained back at least some weight... Also I guess he's lost a lot of muscle mass and sometimes has trouble jumping on to high surfaces.
By the way, your cat in the profile picture is so much like Leo ☺️
 
Black cats rule but I love all of them.:D

When Leo was diagnosed was he by any chance having more trouble walking/jumping than currently? Diabetic cats sometimes get neuropathy often in their hind legs. This can show up as walking on the hocks and weakness causing inability to jump. It usually clears with time once BG is regulated. The neuropathy as well as inactivity can cause loss of muscle mass. If that was a problem for Leo, you could try some Zobaline (vit b12 supplement with folic acid) to help speed along his recovery. If it is muscle mass loss, he may regain over time but it will take some time. Fingers crossed Leo recovers fully very soon.
 
Black cats rule but I love all of them.:D

:) Same here.

When Leo was diagnosed was he by any chance having more trouble walking/jumping than currently? Diabetic cats sometimes get neuropathy often in their hind legs. This can show up as walking on the hocks and weakness causing inability to jump. It usually clears with time once BG is regulated. The neuropathy as well as inactivity can cause loss of muscle mass. If that was a problem for Leo, you could try some Zobaline (vit b12 supplement with folic acid) to help speed along his recovery. If it is muscle mass loss, he may regain over time but it will take some time. Fingers crossed Leo recovers fully very soon.

Thank you so much. Will look up Zobaline. Leo is not inactive as such, in the sense that he goes up and down the stairs several time, jumps up on beds and chairs etc. But he does not play with Misty (my other cat, who absolutely adores him) anymore and is having trouble jumping on to higher surfaces like the kitchen counter. The weight loss has been so drastic that I can feel his bones now :( and can certainly see that he's lost muscle.

I do hope he regains his strength over time.

Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top