Diabetic Neuropathy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Giomax

Member Since 2018
Over the past couple of weeks I've noticed Max walking funny on his back legs. At first it was barely noticeable, but now it's very noticeable to me. His back feet slip on the floor, he doesn't walk on them straight, and he often sits or lays after walking several steps.

I can't get his BG below 400 despite him being on 4 units twice daily. I home test with a human meter at least twice a day, usually 2-4 hours post-shot, with a six or an eight hours thrown in at times. Whenever I test right before his injection it's in the 500 range. He's on a diet of canned food and high protein dry food. I've cut the Purina out completely. Nothing seems to be helping.

ANYWAY.

Point is, his BG is always elevated and now the neuropathy has set in. I tried talking to my vet about it yesterday but he wasn't available and they don't open again until tomorrow morning. It's been almost four months since the diagnosis and we've gone up about 1 unit every month using fructosamine testing (and now home testing) as a guide. He just isn't improving and I can't stand here and watch him deteriorate before my eyes. I did the Big Bad and increased his insulin by 1 unit tonight (he got 5 instead of 4). I'm watching him very closely for signs of hypoglycemia. I'm planning on testing him every two hours to check his levels. I don't think he's in any danger, but I'm ready with the corn syrup just in case.

I'm sincerely hoping this neuropathy is reversible.
 
We have a dosing protocol for lantus you can follow. Please read over the yellow stickies at the top. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

Sorry to hear about the neuropathy. Glad you are home testing. That will make the biggest difference. Your cat may have some insulin resistance causing him to need a larger dose until you find his breakthrough dose.

Neuropathy will improve with better bg numbers and b12 methylcobalamin supplements. Many on here use a brand called Zobaline found on Amazon.


Now that you're testing you will want to set up a spreadsheet so we can help you better. Here is info on this.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/
 
Two hours post shot and we're at 310!

I'm super excited. This is the lowest we've been in a long time!
Great! I know 5 is a higher dose than most get, but they need what they need. My cat is currently getting 10 units twice a day. At her most she got 12. It's just what it is. But I'm glad you're testing.
 
He just hasn't been making any progress since diagnosis! And to see him deteriorate right in front of me, something had to give. I'll test again in two hours. Hopefully we'll be even lower! Gonna do the same routine tomorrow. I'm off work the next two days so I'll be monitoring closely.
 
He just hasn't been making any progress since diagnosis! And to see him deteriorate right in front of me, something had to give. I'll test again in two hours. Hopefully we'll be even lower! Gonna do the same routine tomorrow. I'm off work the next two days so I'll be monitoring closely.
Please write on the lantus section. There are many very experienced folks on there more familiar with your insulin that can advise you. :)
 
I don't test at home for ketones, but he's been tested at the vet, and his urine was tested at the animal hospital three nights ago.

I do suggest you get some urine test strips at the pharmacy (human ones work just fine for testing ketones) and test if possible once a day at least while he's running high numbers at home because ketones can develop quite quickly and is better to catch them at the very beginning
 
I do suggest you get some urine test strips at the pharmacy (human ones work just fine for testing ketones) and test if possible once a day at least while he's running high numbers at home because ketones can develop quite quickly and is better to catch them at the very beginning
I will look into this. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top