Giomax
Member Since 2018
Over the past couple of weeks I've noticed Max walking funny on his back legs. At first it was barely noticeable, but now it's very noticeable to me. His back feet slip on the floor, he doesn't walk on them straight, and he often sits or lays after walking several steps.
I can't get his BG below 400 despite him being on 4 units twice daily. I home test with a human meter at least twice a day, usually 2-4 hours post-shot, with a six or an eight hours thrown in at times. Whenever I test right before his injection it's in the 500 range. He's on a diet of canned food and high protein dry food. I've cut the Purina out completely. Nothing seems to be helping.
ANYWAY.
Point is, his BG is always elevated and now the neuropathy has set in. I tried talking to my vet about it yesterday but he wasn't available and they don't open again until tomorrow morning. It's been almost four months since the diagnosis and we've gone up about 1 unit every month using fructosamine testing (and now home testing) as a guide. He just isn't improving and I can't stand here and watch him deteriorate before my eyes. I did the Big Bad and increased his insulin by 1 unit tonight (he got 5 instead of 4). I'm watching him very closely for signs of hypoglycemia. I'm planning on testing him every two hours to check his levels. I don't think he's in any danger, but I'm ready with the corn syrup just in case.
I'm sincerely hoping this neuropathy is reversible.
I can't get his BG below 400 despite him being on 4 units twice daily. I home test with a human meter at least twice a day, usually 2-4 hours post-shot, with a six or an eight hours thrown in at times. Whenever I test right before his injection it's in the 500 range. He's on a diet of canned food and high protein dry food. I've cut the Purina out completely. Nothing seems to be helping.
ANYWAY.
Point is, his BG is always elevated and now the neuropathy has set in. I tried talking to my vet about it yesterday but he wasn't available and they don't open again until tomorrow morning. It's been almost four months since the diagnosis and we've gone up about 1 unit every month using fructosamine testing (and now home testing) as a guide. He just isn't improving and I can't stand here and watch him deteriorate before my eyes. I did the Big Bad and increased his insulin by 1 unit tonight (he got 5 instead of 4). I'm watching him very closely for signs of hypoglycemia. I'm planning on testing him every two hours to check his levels. I don't think he's in any danger, but I'm ready with the corn syrup just in case.
I'm sincerely hoping this neuropathy is reversible.