Ariel and Hermes
Member Since 2023
Hello FDMB experts,
I am a new member of this message board. Our Ariel has recently been diagnosed with diabetes and I am hoping to draw from the enormous wealth of accumulated wisdom in these forums. Thank you all very much in advance!
We have some stressful situations going on because of our upcoming (permanent) relocation from USA to UK, and I'd love to get some advice on how best to prepare our cat for the journey. Unfortunately, due to UK regulations, Ariel will have to travel in the temperature-controlled cargo hold of the airplane. This means she will need to be separated from us for up to 20 hours, which is obviously making us very nervous.
Here is some background info:
Another point that mildly disturbs me is the depot nature of insulin glargine. My current plan puts Ariel's last insulin shot at ~13.5 hours before I drop her off with the airline. Is this OK or too aggressive? Do you think there is a risk from the remnants in the depot somehow driving her BG too low during the flight, especially given that she won't be eating for many hours?
Thank you for reading this very long question and I appreciate your guidance.
I am a new member of this message board. Our Ariel has recently been diagnosed with diabetes and I am hoping to draw from the enormous wealth of accumulated wisdom in these forums. Thank you all very much in advance!
We have some stressful situations going on because of our upcoming (permanent) relocation from USA to UK, and I'd love to get some advice on how best to prepare our cat for the journey. Unfortunately, due to UK regulations, Ariel will have to travel in the temperature-controlled cargo hold of the airplane. This means she will need to be separated from us for up to 20 hours, which is obviously making us very nervous.
Here is some background info:
- Name: Ariel, Sex: Female spayed, Age: 7 years, Weight: 15.5 lbs
- Recently diagnosed with diabetes (about a month), BG was 440 when initially diagnosed (animal calibrated number from the vet). She is currently given 2U of insulin glargine (Semglee) twice a day. She stays between BG of 100 and 250 for the most part (human meter) at the current dose. No history of ketone.
- We intend to hold the current dose until we arrive in the UK, to avoid introducing more variables to this already stressful journey. Also, I note that Ariel still eats some dry food (Dr Elsey's) -- I'd say half/half wet and dry at the moment. We hope to transition her completely to wet food eventually, but at the moment I'm trying not to push her too much before the flight.
- Ariel is otherwise healthy and playful. The only clinical sign we observe is mildly increased urination.
- 2:30AM PT, Nov 28th -- Last insulin shot, 2U
- 1PM PT, Nov 28th -- Last feeding, per airline regulations ("2 hours before kenneling")
- 1PM-4PM PT, Nov 28th -- Test BG frequently and make sure that it's trending up (i.e. previous dose is wearing out)
- 4PM PT, Nov 28th -- Drop off the kitties at the airline facility. Put lots of ice cubes in the bowl so the kitties have access to water throughout the flight.
- 8:45PM PT, Nov 28th -- Takeoff
- 7:15AM PT, Nov 29th -- Landing (I'm converting to pacific time for convenience). The kitties will be transported to the Animal Reception Centre and will be given food when they get there.
- 10AM-12PM PT, Nov 29th -- Pick up kitties when they clear customs, feed, test BG and administer insulin as necessary
Another point that mildly disturbs me is the depot nature of insulin glargine. My current plan puts Ariel's last insulin shot at ~13.5 hours before I drop her off with the airline. Is this OK or too aggressive? Do you think there is a risk from the remnants in the depot somehow driving her BG too low during the flight, especially given that she won't be eating for many hours?
Thank you for reading this very long question and I appreciate your guidance.