Diabetic Kitty on Prednisolone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
Hello - I used to be part of the Lantus board and now I can't remember anything! Hopefully I'm doing this right. I just wanted to find out if any other diabetic kitties out there are on prednisolone? Bob has been diabetic for almost 3 1/2 years. He is extraordinarily picky and only eats dry food. I've managed to keep his BG below 200 for the last couple of years and we are happy with that - because I'm single and not always home, I just decided that it was too dangerous to try to get him in remission (I tried and it was hell for both of us - between the food pickiness and me not being home to watch him). However, we now believe he has IBD. My vet is not willing to treat him without a definitive diagnosis. She wants an endoscopy and I have spent so much on so many tests already that I can't afford it. I don't know that I want Bob to go under anesthesia anyway. I could scrape together the money, but if he needed expensive treatment, I would have to sell my body and I'm pretty sure I wouldn't make much money at that. Additionally, there's a chance she won't find anything on the endoscopy if they can't get far enough down. So, I found a WONDERFUL doctor in Tampa (The Cat Doctors) - they only see cats. It's a great place - unfortunately, it's almost an hour away. She has reviewed Bob's entire history and all tests and she is willing to treat Bob for what she believes is IBD, but still has not ruled out pancreatitis or cancer. We have taken the pancreatitis test and it came out negative but she says it's not 100%. She said if the steroids help him, he should start feeling way better, but if he still has these painful "episodes", then we might be looking at pancreatitis. If he continues to go downhill, we may be looking at cancer. We knew his BG would increase but he's felt so bad, I really don't feel that I have a choice. He started the prednisolone on Saturday and by Sunday his BG was higher. The vet didn't think it would happen so quickly, so I wanted to chat with someone who may have experience with this. Thanks for any input.
 
Budesonide is frequently used for IBD and although a steroid, usually has litter effect on BG/insulin needs. The standard dose is 1 mg once daily.
I have used budesonide on I think three of my diabetic cats and one non-diabetic cat.
Thriving Pets has it priced reasonable. I purchased the 3-mg capsules and divided it up in thirds and placed them in capsules.
 
Budesonide is frequently used for IBD and although a steroid, usually has litter effect on BG/insulin needs. The standard dose is 1 mg once daily.
I have used budesonide on I think three of my diabetic cats and one non-diabetic cat.
Thriving Pets has it priced reasonable. I purchased the 3-mg capsules and divided it up in thirds and placed them in capsules.
Thanks Larry - she did mention that, but for some reason, she wanted to start him on the prednisolone first. I think she had to order the other or something and it could take a couple weeks. I think we are also a little concerned about putting something on his food. If he decides it tastes funny, he'll never eat.

So, the Budesonide worked well for your kitties? Was it for IBD? Just wondering how well it worked.
 
Yes, the budesonide did seem to work. It was for IDB or similar. No confirmed diagnosis. The symptoms for the last cat, MurrFee was an ultrasound showing thickened small intestines and loose stools.
I put it in a gelcap with their other med and administered the gelcap via a pill gun. I too am hesitant about sprinkling stuff on food with fear they will not eat it.
Thriving Pets can get you budesonide with your vet's prescription in a few days.
 
Dara
My kitty Fritz has asthma and was on Prednisolone when we first started insulin. While he is not yet regulated when on the oral steroid I had to increase his insulin.
I know Melissa with her kitty Tarragon is on Prednisolone should be able to give advice.
I think thats her name.
Good luck hope kitty gets to feeling better.
 
Bandit has been on prednisolone for a time due to his auto-immune condition. In my experience, it will definitely raise BG, and this effect is pretty immediate. Insulin need will change as you raise and lower the dose of pred, so it's important to keep a close eye and adjust the insulin dose as change the pred dose. Bandit had to go back on Lantus when he started the pred, and went back into remission once I was able to wean him off it. Every time we reduced the pred dose, his Lantus dose took a reduction as well.

However, as Larry mentioned there are better steroids then pred out there for IBD diabetics. I would talk to your vet about getting him on the budesonide instead of the pred.

Typically, diet is a huge contributor to IBD, and a raw diet can help a great deal. Is that something that he might eat that would be in your power to do? If not, maybe a limited ingredient food might help out? I think there are a couple dry versions out there, and you can try and find the one with the least number of ingredients that will raise his BG, if he'll eat it (I'm thinking maybe Orijen?). If he'll eat some canned, Instinct has a lot of LI options.
 
Yes, the budesonide did seem to work. It was for IDB or similar. No confirmed diagnosis. The symptoms for the last cat, MurrFee was an ultrasound showing thickened small intestines and loose stools.
I put it in a gelcap with their other med and administered the gelcap via a pill gun. I too am hesitant about sprinkling stuff on food with fear they will not eat it.
Thriving Pets can get you budesonide with your vet's prescription in a few days.
Thanks for the info! I will definitely ask about the budesonide. Bob had several ultrasounds and nothing. Finally had an xray that showed the thickened small intestine, but he's never had any vomiting or diarrhea. The vet says it is very different with every cat. Hopefully, we are the right track! Thank you so much for your responses.
 
My kitty Fritz has asthma and was on Prednisolone when we first started insulin. While he is not yet regulated when on the oral steroid I had to increase his insulin.
I know Melissa with her kitty Tarragon is on Prednisolone should be able to give advice.
I think thats her name.
Good luck hope kitty gets to feeling better.
Thanks Melissa - I will keep a close eye on him and hopefully hear from Melissa. I think I've communicated with her way back in the day. :)
 
Bandit has been on prednisolone for a time due to his auto-immune condition. In my experience, it will definitely raise BG, and this effect is pretty immediate. Insulin need will change as you raise and lower the dose of pred, so it's important to keep a close eye and adjust the insulin dose as change the pred dose. Bandit had to go back on Lantus when he started the pred, and went back into remission once I was able to wean him off it. Every time we reduced the pred dose, his Lantus dose took a reduction as well.

However, as Larry mentioned there are better steroids then pred out there for IBD diabetics. I would talk to your vet about getting him on the budesonide instead of the pred.

Typically, diet is a huge contributor to IBD, and a raw diet can help a great deal. Is that something that he might eat that would be in your power to do? If not, maybe a limited ingredient food might help out? I think there are a couple dry versions out there, and you can try and find the one with the least number of ingredients that will raise his BG, if he'll eat it (I'm thinking maybe Orijen?). If he'll eat some canned, Instinct has a lot of LI options.

Hi Julia - I will definitely keep an eye on his BG and ask the vet about the other steroid. Unfortunately, Bob is the pickiest cat in the universe. I went through hell trying to get him to eat canned food or a low carb dry. Eventually I just had to give up and accept that his life may be shorter, but at least he will eat! I had him on Royal Canin Venison & Pea which is grain free and a novel protein and he ate it for a while but then just stopped. I may try to get him back on that one and then try some of the other options. He's just so difficult. I tried explaining how important it was, but he didn't seem to care. LOL!

Thanks you so much for the response!
 
Hi Julia - I will definitely keep an eye on his BG and ask the vet about the other steroid. Unfortunately, Bob is the pickiest cat in the universe. I went through hell trying to get him to eat canned food or a low carb dry. Eventually I just had to give up and accept that his life may be shorter, but at least he will eat! I had him on Royal Canin Venison & Pea which is grain free and a novel protein and he ate it for a while but then just stopped. I may try to get him back on that one and then try some of the other options. He's just so difficult. I tried explaining how important it was, but he didn't seem to care. LOL!

Thanks you so much for the response!

Have you tried any raw with him yet? My picky cat (although she doesn't sound as picky as your Bob!) did enjoy raw quite a bit and would choose it over both canned and dry food. Towards the end of her life when she was extremely picky because of her stomach tumor, it was one of the few things she would eat (that and BFF canned food). I know they sell pre-packaged raw at my local pet food store--is there one near you that might sell it so you can at least try it out with him before making a commitment to buy online or make yourself?
 
Hi Dara - long time no see. Scritches to sweet Bob. Sorry you might be adding IBD to the list of complications. I'm tagging @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey because her Harvey has IBD/lymphoma and is on prednisilone. Neko was recently admited to that club too, but we are going the budesonide route because her heart has some issues that make prednisilone a non starter. For that same reason, she did not get a endoscopy (cannot do anesthesia) - we are making do with the results from an ultrasound. As it turns out, my civie also has IBD/lymphoma (when it rains it pours), and he is on prednisilone. It made an amazing difference to his symptoms. I hope the same is true for Bob. I just pop the pill in some rehydrated freeze dried rabbit, but you can get pred compounded into a treat that may make it easier to give.
 
Hi Dara.

I've been out all evening and just saw that Wendy tagged me. I'm so sorry that Bob is having these issues. Harvey became diabetic because he was on a high dose of Pred (5 mg bid), treating his intestinal lymphoma. His insulin doses were going up and up, so his oncologist suggested tapering down the Pred and seeing how low we could go in dose before his symptoms would start coming back. He is currently on 2.5mg once a day, and he's doing really well. He has some inappetance, but that is easily controlled with Ondansetron and Cypro. He just earned a reduction to .5 units of Lantus! :)

My understanding is that Budesonide is helpful for IBD kitties, but not so much for those with cancer (but it's better than nothing, which is why Wendy's Neko is on it). So if Bob has IBD, the Budesonide should work for him. If he has cancer, it may not help his symptoms. Another good side effect of the Pred is it acts like an appetite stimulant, so maybe Bob will be less picky about eating! When Harvey was on the higher dose, he ate everything in sight.

I agree about trying novel proteins and/or limited ingredient diets.

If there's any way I can help, please let me know!
 
Last edited:
Hello Dara! Tarragon has asthma and IBD and has been on prednisolone daily for 4 years and takes 10-20 mg daily depending on allergy season. While it has raised his BGs somewhat, we just adjusted his insulin to compensate. I agree with Tricia that Ondandsetron is very helpful with appetite.

Please let me know if you need anything!
 
Hi Dara - long time no see. Scritches to sweet Bob. Sorry you might be adding IBD to the list of complications. I'm tagging @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey because her Harvey has IBD/lymphoma and is on prednisilone. Neko was recently admited to that club too, but we are going the budesonide route because her heart has some issues that make prednisilone a non starter. For that same reason, she did not get a endoscopy (cannot do anesthesia) - we are making do with the results from an ultrasound. As it turns out, my civie also has IBD/lymphoma (when it rains it pours), and he is on prednisilone. It made an amazing difference to his symptoms. I hope the same is true for Bob. I just pop the pill in some rehydrated freeze dried rabbit, but you can get pred compounded into a treat that may make it easier to give.
Hi Wendy & Neko - oh boy, you do have a lot going on over there, don't you! Well, we're not 100% sure on the IBD, but I think it would a better alternative. I think the vet wanted to start on prednisolone first to see how he did. He had a really good week (about 6-7 days) and then is having an "episode" where I can tell his belly hurts. She said if the sterioids do not help 100% he may have pancreatitis or Lymphoma. Sigh. How long did it take for your kitties to do better on the steroids? She is going to have me switch to the budesonide in the next couple of days. Keeping my fingers crossed - she says the budesonide is a large capsule. I know he won't eat anything sprinkled on his food, so wish me luck on getting that thing down in his mouth. :)
 
Hi Dara.

I've been out all evening and just saw that Wendy tagged me. I'm so sorry that Bob is having these issues. Harvey became diabetic because he was on a high dose of Pred (5 mg bid), treating his intestinal lymphoma. His insulin doses were going up and up, so his oncologist suggested tapering down the Pred and seeing how low we could go in dose before his symptoms would start coming back. He is currently on .25mg once a day, and he's doing really well. He has some inappetance, but that is easily controlled with Ondansetron and Cypro. He just earned a reduction to .5 units of Lantus! :)

My understanding is that Budesonide is helpful for IBD kitties, but not so much for those with cancer (but it's better than nothing, which is why Wendy's Neko is on it). So if Bob has IBD, the Budesonide should work for him. If he has cancer, it may not help his symptoms. Another good side effect of the Pred is it acts like an appetite stimulant, so maybe Bob will be less picky about eating! When Harvey was on the higher dose, he ate everything in sight.

I agree about trying novel proteins and/or limited ingredient diets.

If there's any way I can help, please let me know!
Hi Tricia - thank you so much for the reply - I'm glad Harvey is doing so well!! Congratulations on the reduction! How did he do when you first put him on the pred? Bob is on the 5 mg of Pred and obviously, we didn't worry about the diabetes because he already has it, but I wasn't too happy to hear about possible heart failure with that medication. I believe I mentioned earlier he has done great for a week and then he started to have another one of his "flare-ups" or episodes as I call them.. Not sure if it's because we've only been on it a week or if it's because it may not be IBD. Been treating him with Cerenia and Buprenex during his flare-ups. But his appetite definitely increased with the pred! Switching to the budesonide in the next couple of days and a little worried about it because she said it takes 30 days to take effect. But I hear it's a safer steroid, doesn't increase the BG as much and works better on the intestines.

Thanks again for the information. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for Bob and Harvey. I'll have to take a look at Harvey's story.
 
Hello Dara! Tarragon has asthma and IBD and has been on prednisolone daily for 4 years and takes 10-20 mg daily depending on allergy season. While it has raised his BGs somewhat, we just adjusted his insulin to compensate. I agree with Tricia that Ondandsetron is very helpful with appetite.

Please let me know if you need anything!

Hi Melissa! Good to hear from you! Thanks for chiming in. The pred (5 mg) is definitely raising his insulin, but I've adjusted accordingly. Poor little guy - he's drinking lots of water. I hope Terragon is doing well with his asthma, poor guy. How was his IBD diagnosed?
 
she says the budesonide is a large capsule. I know he won't eat anything sprinkled on his food, so wish me luck on getting that thing down in his mouth.
I have purchased the 3 mg capsules of budesonide from Thriving Pets. Then I divide it into 3 i mg portions and place it in a #3 gel cap with other meds. The 1 mg of only budesonide should fit in a # 5 gel cap which are very small
 
How did he do when you first put him on the pred?
It seems to me that his symptoms decreased (throwing up, inappetance) once he's been on the Pred a few days. He definitely felt better. When we dropped the dose (to 2.5 once a day - typo above that I fixed :oops:), he didn't have any recurrence of those issues. Then his appy seemed to get a bit worse, and he was diagnosed with Pancreatitis. That has calmed down(anti-jinx), and now his appetite fluctuates - some day she needs tummy meds, and some days not. The vet has not suggested taking the Pred dose back up, thank goodness.
she says the budesonide is a large capsule.
You should be able to get it compounded to a smaller capsule in the dose you need. Try diamondbackdrugs.com. Their prices are pretty good.
 
Last edited:
Civie Theo was practically better overnight on Pred, but I also kept him on metronazodile for the first week. Hard to tell with Neko as she also had her heart issues which could have been the cause off the off appy. But she hasn't had any vomit (anti jinx) since starting budesonide. She gets a pill which is quite tiny, smaller than the pred by a lot. You can also get budesonide compounded to liquid if that's easier to give.

If you start steroids, any biopsy or endoscopy will be questionable results. You'll have to stop the steroids for two weeks first before the surgery or endoscopy. We didn't go that way as they require Nesthesia which Neko can no longer have.mIt's not uncommon for these kitties to get pancreatitis too.
 
Hi Melissa! Good to hear from you! Thanks for chiming in. The pred (5 mg) is definitely raising his insulin, but I've adjusted accordingly. Poor little guy - he's drinking lots of water. I hope Terragon is doing well with his asthma, poor guy. How was his IBD diagnosed?

Tarragon is doing well. He was diagnosed with IBD when he had a long bout of diarrhea. They used metronidazole on him and it worked immediately and the diarrhea stayed away as long as he was on it. They could have done the gastric biopsy but we opted not to because of all of his other issues and the vet was sure it was IBD. He is on metronidazole long term and that, along with the prednisolone for his asthma, keeps the tummy issues away.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top