djacks1128
Member Since 2010
Ashley was diagnosed in October 2010. She was on PZI between 3 & 4 units until last week and still unregulated. She had one UTI a year ago that was treated and went away. One week ago (Wednesday Jan 25) she showed signs of another UTI (bloody urine, straining, urinating around the house). I took her to a new vet and he prescribed Clavamox 2x a day and changed her insulin to 2 Units Lantus. We also changed food from Fancy Feast classics to Hills Science Diet M/D.
Woke up at 4:30am on Thursday and she was bleeding pretty heavily and had thrown up a little bit of blood. I rushed her to the emergency animal hospital and they did X-Rays and an Ultrasound. The X-Rays were clean, but the U/S showed a mass in her bladder. The prognosis was a cancerous tumor and suggested a $5,000 surgery to remove the mass and biopsy it. Ashley is 13 and not in good health so i decided not to go ahead with the surgery. They said that there is a small chance it could be a large blood clot caused by a UTI. I took her home and treated her for that by continuing with the Clavamox. She showed some signs of improvement. On Saturday morning, her BG was dramatically low (no reading or in the 20s on a Relion Confirm meter). We could not get it up all day and she was showing signs of hypo. We were pumping Karo syrup into her by syringe and nothing worked. I went and got her some high carb, Friskies w/Gravy and gave her sugar water and it finally went up, but WAY up and has stayed up ever since. On Sunday morning she seemed to be feeling much better and she hadn't had much bloody urine since probably Friday night. By noon on Sunday she was bleeding again and passed a small blood clot, so i brought her to my parent's vet. He told me that bladder tumors in cats are extremely rare and that blood clots are more common. I felt a weight lift off of me and was much more optimistic. He also told me to lower the Lantus dose to 1 unit. He did more bloodwork and gave her the Convenia antibiotic shot. She showed a nice improvement on Monday, however her BG is still way up (400s & 500s). Yesterday, again the bloody urine was still minimal. This morning I woke up to blood all over the house (this was the first night i left her out of the bathroom). Today her BG is: 7:30am 418, shot 1.5U, 11:20am 532, 2pm 548. She hasn't had bled anymore since this morning (or at least not since 7:30am). Her bloodwork came back today with significantly decreased Hematocrit (HCT), which went from 35 a week ago to 22 on Sunday, so now she's anemic. Vet told me that if she continues to loose blood she will die. We are still hoping that we are fighting a UTI and blood clot and that this will get better. This has been going on for a whole week now and there have been so many ups and downs. Ashley is a fighter, but i don't know what to do for her.
Woke up at 4:30am on Thursday and she was bleeding pretty heavily and had thrown up a little bit of blood. I rushed her to the emergency animal hospital and they did X-Rays and an Ultrasound. The X-Rays were clean, but the U/S showed a mass in her bladder. The prognosis was a cancerous tumor and suggested a $5,000 surgery to remove the mass and biopsy it. Ashley is 13 and not in good health so i decided not to go ahead with the surgery. They said that there is a small chance it could be a large blood clot caused by a UTI. I took her home and treated her for that by continuing with the Clavamox. She showed some signs of improvement. On Saturday morning, her BG was dramatically low (no reading or in the 20s on a Relion Confirm meter). We could not get it up all day and she was showing signs of hypo. We were pumping Karo syrup into her by syringe and nothing worked. I went and got her some high carb, Friskies w/Gravy and gave her sugar water and it finally went up, but WAY up and has stayed up ever since. On Sunday morning she seemed to be feeling much better and she hadn't had much bloody urine since probably Friday night. By noon on Sunday she was bleeding again and passed a small blood clot, so i brought her to my parent's vet. He told me that bladder tumors in cats are extremely rare and that blood clots are more common. I felt a weight lift off of me and was much more optimistic. He also told me to lower the Lantus dose to 1 unit. He did more bloodwork and gave her the Convenia antibiotic shot. She showed a nice improvement on Monday, however her BG is still way up (400s & 500s). Yesterday, again the bloody urine was still minimal. This morning I woke up to blood all over the house (this was the first night i left her out of the bathroom). Today her BG is: 7:30am 418, shot 1.5U, 11:20am 532, 2pm 548. She hasn't had bled anymore since this morning (or at least not since 7:30am). Her bloodwork came back today with significantly decreased Hematocrit (HCT), which went from 35 a week ago to 22 on Sunday, so now she's anemic. Vet told me that if she continues to loose blood she will die. We are still hoping that we are fighting a UTI and blood clot and that this will get better. This has been going on for a whole week now and there have been so many ups and downs. Ashley is a fighter, but i don't know what to do for her.